Fraser - 4 WD hire

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 22:15
ThreadID: 31883 Views:1885 Replies:3 FollowUps:2
Heading up to Fraser next week for a few days - but for a number of reasons i have to fly to Brissie and have hired a Cruiser (yes its covered for Fraser!). Question is do i really need to take snatch strap, tree protector, shackles , compressor etc - cos if i do there won't be much left for clothes on the flight!!
If I stick an EO sticker in the hire car do you reckon someone would help if I get stucK? - or are the stories of take your own recovery gear true??

Reply By: MartyB - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 23:06

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 23:06
I would just take the snatch strap & shackles. Let the tyres down on the barge, when you get back just drive slowly to the nearest servo & pump the tyres up (not your tyres).
Yes there is a attitude on the Island of no snatch strap, no help.

have fun
from Marty.
AnswerID: 161428

Follow Up By: rocketsalad - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 23:21

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 23:21
yeah.....what he said.
FollowupID: 416166

Follow Up By: rocketsalad - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 23:30

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 23:30
except.......let your tyres down before the barge. There is a 300m sand drive to get on the Manta Ray Barge. This is warn and dug up most the time. In fact for this reason it can be the hardest 4x4ing you will do on your trip..!!!
Remember

Green and Gold for the barge (Manta Ray's colours)
Green and Gold for your last servo in Rainbow Beach (independently owned PB....thats.......NOT owned by Kingfisher Bay)

rs
FollowupID: 416168

Reply By: Member - Ross H (QLD) - Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 01:40

Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 01:40
Hi andrew
I will be there next week too. I just take snatch strap and shackles usually some one around to help out if you get stuck. We are staying at kingfisher 24/27th might catch up for a drink or two. Have fun and safe trip.
regards ross
AnswerID: 161436

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 09:54

Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 09:54
Snatch stap and shackles..... servo for air up 10k's from Inskip, take it easy and you'll be ok....... Low range in the soft sand, hi range in the hard sand and you will be fine....
If you have to use the snatch strap, DON'T forget the dampener!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 161468