DIY Camper Trailer Tent Kit

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 01:01
ThreadID: 31886 Views:27154 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
G'day,

We had a trailer (7x4 with 18" sides) built and are now looking for a canvas tent kit to put on it. Any suggestions for reasonably priced kits we can do ourselves would be appreciated.
Thanks...

Tracy

Reply By: froomey - Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 02:48

Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 02:48
hi , tracy

a mate of mine just had a tent kit sent over from china and it is a ripper, he has since built a trailer to suit, will get some info on it if you like

froomey
AnswerID: 161441

Follow Up By: outbackmob - Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 11:17

Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 11:17
That would be great! Thanks!!
-Tracy
FollowupID: 416207

Reply By: disco driver - Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 02:48

Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 02:48
Hi Tracy
If you are in WA Albany Campers/ Crumps Canvas make a very good tent and base unit that goes onto trailers,
Try Googling either name for details etc.
Good Luck
Disco
AnswerID: 161442

Reply By: roofscooter2 - Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 06:23

Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 06:23
Tracy they are selling c/trailer tent's on ebay if you wan't to have a look go to their site type in camper trailer's & presto scroll down till you find them not sure who the manufacturer is could be Coleman, cheer's Bob.
AnswerID: 161447

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 09:00

Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 09:00
just be careful with anything made by coleman....their warranty really suxs. Personally i just dont touch anything with their name on it...Not trying to stop you from buying one, but best you know what you could be up for if a problem crops up.

Ange
FollowupID: 416190

Reply By: Big Woody - Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 08:17

Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 08:17
Hi Tracey,

Have a look in the archives as there have been a couple of threads on this topic.

I was initially after feedback from anyone with personal experience with the Primus Red Desert do it yourself camper trailer tents.

I have had a quote of $1280 plus GST. The feedback I got from 3 on this forum that had them was all positive. I am going to purchase the 12 ft version in about 6 or 8 weeks.

See here - Red Desert Camper Trailer Tents - and click on "tents" and then "camper trailer tents"

Brett
AnswerID: 161450

Follow Up By: Leroy - Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 08:31

Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 08:31
They spec a trailer that is 7x5 not 7x4. This is my dilema also. Not sure if you can overhang the extra 6" each side.

Leroy
FollowupID: 416187

Follow Up By: Big Woody - Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 08:46

Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 08:46
Hi Leroy,

Yes I did notice the trailer size difference but I cant imagine it being too difficult to modify or manufacture some sort of support frame if necessary to have it work on a 7 x 4 trailer.

Brett
FollowupID: 416188

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 09:02

Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 09:02
Hi Brett, Do you know if the kit can be set up to run struts so as to lift one side to get into the trailer? Price sounds ok.will check out the link now.
Ange
FollowupID: 416191

Follow Up By: Big Woody - Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 09:18

Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 09:18
Hi Ange,

I can't see a problem with setting it up with struts to lift for access. The one I looked at certainly seemed strong enough to do that.

I just had a look at the ones on ebay. There are 3 sellers selling the Primus camper trailer tents. By the look of it if you are within reach of one of the capital cities, there is every chance you could pick one up for $1475.00 and not have to pay for any transport costs.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/primus-camper-trailer-tent-12ft_W0QQitemZ8781694357QQcategoryZ36119QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Have a look at the link.

Brett
FollowupID: 416194

Reply By: Member - Karl - Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 11:25

Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 11:25
Hi Tracey,

I am in the same process - converting my 7 x 4 off road trailer to a camper trailer. I have found here in WA most of the camper trailer manufacturers also make the tents to suit your own trailer. The average price here is around $4000 for the kit and it goes up from there i.e. type of awnings etc.

I know Cavalier Campers from the East Coast will do a kit for your trailer and I would assume that most of the other manufacturers would to. At least with Aussie made kits you know what you are getting.

AnswerID: 161483

Reply By: Russel & Mary - Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 08:09

Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 08:09
Hi Guys, We've got one of the Primus tent tops and have used it 4 or 5 times so far.Quite happy with it particularly as we paid $1600 for it as opposed to an aussie made version for 4-5grand. I know the overall quality is obviously lower but at least we got into the CT game. Our tent came with it's own plywood base and a steel tube framework under that so you could fit it to a 7x4 trailer quite well; the extra overhang should not be a problem . It also has 2 lift up panels about 1000x450mm under the matress(that also came with it) to access the trailer contents. Rus.
AnswerID: 161613

Reply By: Robbo3 - Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 09:58

Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 09:58
I recon you could pick up a camper top made in Australia on a decent plywood flooring material, with decent canvas and quality sewing from $3-3,500 including mattress awning etc. Try ringing some of the manufacturers.

I looked at the Primus tops at a show in Melbourne last year and it was only 10 metres from Outback and Southern Cross. It was easy to compare the materials and I now know I would never touch these imported ones. If I remember correctly, Southern Cross wanted $3,200 of a top.

Campers hold their value so well, you have to wonder if after 3-4 years of use in the imported campers, whether they will be worth much.

Robbo
Never forget the quality remains well after the price is forgotten.

AnswerID: 161632