member - Crazy Dog

Submitted: Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 21:08
ThreadID: 31957 Views:1639 Replies:8 FollowUps:5
any one heard if all is OK

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 21:13

Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 21:13
Nothing since last night. He may be experiencing power/phone line problems though.

Keep our fingers crossed etc
AnswerID: 161767

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 21:16

Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 21:16
No major casualties reported so that has to one positive.

Property damage is another matter.

Fingers crossed hey guy's.

AnswerID: 161768

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 21:23

Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 21:23
Yep, I reckon he kicking back in his kennel slamming into that cold slab he found there last night, probably got comms problems though.

FollowupID: 416436

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 21:17

Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 21:17
No but a friend rang me from Cairns saying "we're alive". I didn't even know he was in Cairns :)) Rekkoned the wind under the door was almost as loud as the wind outside.
AnswerID: 161769

Reply By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 21:38

Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 21:38
There's been a lot of power outages - and some landlines went out this afternoon, after it was all over. Maybe he's gone to find that creep Bluesky (see earlier Post) and give him a lesson in communication! LOL. If he can find some dry wood he's probably cooking up big camp oven feed to help out. Hope so.
AnswerID: 161778

Follow Up By: David from Engine Saver Low Water Alarms - Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 23:03

Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 23:03
Hi Ruth.

Just got of the phone with my mate Darby Munro in Cairns.
The power has been off at Mooroobul till about an hour ago.
He has spent the whole day cleaning up.

Guess we will hear from Ray soon.
He is probably busy for now.

We were lucky in Ingham.
Only a few busted trees & no water supply this morning.

All shops closed. today except for the convenience stores.

Cairns did it a lot tougher.

FollowupID: 416467

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 21:30

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 21:30
David, thanks for the report on Ingham, sorry for not replying sooner - I couldn't remember where I saw you. Noticed on the news tonight that Babinda copped it also. Glad that things in your neck of the woods not too bad. Is the water back on yet? You didn't lose power I take it.
FollowupID: 416714

Follow Up By: David from Engine Saver Low Water Alarms - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 22:44

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 22:44
Ruth,

Thanks for the reply.
We got our water back around midday monday.
Only lost power for a few hours.

Yes Babinda copped a bit too. The sugar Mill is a bit of a mess as well.
The highway north over the Cardwell range was blocked for a short time
this afternoon with a landslide but is open now.
The Highway is cut at Euramo I believe though.
Still plenty of rain around the place.

My thoughts are with the people in Innisfail, we have family there too.

FollowupID: 416758

Reply By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 07:59

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 07:59
got me fingers and toes crossed for them all up there...
AnswerID: 161833

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 09:09

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 09:09
Been major problems getting through with trees down and flooding.
Just heard that they are sending the big trailer mounted gennies up that I worked on last year, 55 tonnes without fuel and quad axles. That's to get the water pumps working in Innisfail for fresh water. At least the meat works I worked at there are up on the hill behind the town should be OK if they havn't blown away.
AnswerID: 161858

Reply By: Member - Dexter - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 09:44

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 09:44
My sister in Townsville told me that there was a bit of wind and rain but otherwise OK. Brother-in-law at Trinity Beach north of Cairns reported that the rain wasn't as bad as expected. Cut off from town for a while and no power but otherwise OK. Thankfully no storm surge at Trinity Beach either, probably because the cyclonic winds rotate clockwise and, because it hit south of Cairns, the worst of the blow was towards the sea.
Not so lucky further south.
AnswerID: 161868

Reply By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 11:39

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 11:39
Nudie (Member No 1),
Just got off the dog & bone with a mate in Tully. He and his came through it ok apart from a downed large tree. He says power out for a week or more and pretty soon the mobile system may drop out. No sewerage in Mission Beach. I will probably go up for the next weekend and take whatever he needs if he says that he needs anything. The only worry at the moment to doing this is Cyclone "Wati" which is hovering in the wings.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 161890

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 12:32

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 12:32
lets hope that Wati stays out to sea
FollowupID: 416546