How many hours has your 4WD done

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 00:22
ThreadID: 31968 Views:2312 Replies:7 FollowUps:14
I was at Rottnest on the weekend in my floating caravan - looking at the hours on the Cummins Diesel motors (550hours) Started to wonder why 4wds dont have an engine clock - it could be a better indication of when we need to service the vehicle. Does anyone use an engine clock and how many hours would you estimate you would clock up per 100,000 kms (ie how fast do you think you drive on average?)

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 00:43

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 00:43
Now thats an interesting question.

Hows my house doing? still upright?

Was that your 90 foot yacht I saw on TV parked at Rotty?

AnswerID: 161809

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew(WA) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 00:59

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 00:59
Your 'Troopy at home' hey John?

must be the holiday hut in Perth hey!

Your secret is safe with me!
FollowupID: 416478

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 01:09

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 01:09
Yeah my home, Actually I'm currently on holidays in Victoria.

Trekkie said awhile ago that some bugga was intending to crash a bulldozer into my place as retaliation for having such a standout home.

Just making sure no one has committed a terrorist attack in Perth with a bulldozer.

Thanks for keeping the secret safe, I appreciate that.

FollowupID: 416482

Follow Up By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 01:17

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 01:17
John - I wish (90 foot yacht) and The photo I saw of your house some local yobbos had attacked your home with grafitti - its going to cost you a fortune to repaint it
FollowupID: 416483

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 01:28

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 01:28
Awww!!! Bloody hell, you can't get good help these days.

I told the gardener to keep the front gate closed and locked as we had had trouble before with those yobbo's from the Mossman Park Golf Club over the road walking home pi$$ed and cutting through my garden and damaging my roses.
Now you say they have painted graffiti on the joint.

I'll take the repair cost's out of the gardeners pay packet when I get back.

Trekkie I'm sure it was your boat I saw on telly, it was called the Enterprise, must be yours.

FollowupID: 416484

Follow Up By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 01:33

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 01:33
Hey John & Rose

h John & Roses House

FollowupID: 416485

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew(WA) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 01:38

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 01:38
Thats the trouble owning those water side squatter's huts...sooner or later the authorities catch up with you and make you pull them down!

Oh well, good while it lasted hey John?
FollowupID: 416486

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 01:43

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 01:43
OK, I've done it

Changed the Rig Pic description.

FollowupID: 416487

Follow Up By: Exploder - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 19:50

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 19:50
Yes being bulldozed, a mate was doing some work at your place removing all the nice stuff before they crush it. P.S he overcharged you by $1000.

The Guys who removed the chandeliers, the word is they were there for 4 day’s and charged, now hold onto your hat’s $75,000, we are all clearly in the wrong job.
FollowupID: 416666

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 08:25

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 08:25
I have never recognised a clock as being true value, ever.

It should have a counter, for TOTAL revolutions that the crankshaft has done, as that would be the most fairest way of telling how much work a motor has really done. In an hour, the motor may have only 800 rpm, which is... 48000 revolutions. If we were driving a generator, at say... 1800 rpm, then we have... 108000. The hour all of a sudden looks insignificant...

Wolfie
AnswerID: 161841

Follow Up By: Longreach - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 10:12

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 10:12
And on the other hand, the engine hours of a 100,000km country car might be half that of a 100,000km city car.
Might also be interesting to count engine starts ?
FollowupID: 416522

Reply By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 11:29

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 11:29
Trekkie,
How many hours does 352,500 K's equate to , if there is such a conversion.
Just something up your alley Wolfie.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 161886

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 12:17

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 12:17
Lets say it averages out at 50km/h over the lifetime of your vcheicle usage. Then my GQ's 308,000 should be around 6160 hours.

I then change the oil every 100 hours. Not bad compared to powerplants etc. Engine should last forever providing I dont run it too hot....lol

FollowupID: 416542

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 12:38

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 12:38
vcheicle = vehicle

I should do a course in editing...lol
FollowupID: 416548

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 13:03

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 13:03
G'day Trekkie,

Fair question but for a more complete answer we would also need to know the service life of the vehicle to put into some context. Someone once mentioned that my Nissan has a 300,000 service life so with 50,000 on the clock I should reasonably expect another 250,000. Sure there are plenty of vehicles taken past their service life - my old 2A landrover was still going 20 years after its creation and no way it was designed to last that long.

AnswerID: 161909

Reply By: new boy - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 19:41

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 19:41
spoke once to a GM Manager he likened a Crayboat doing 10000 hrs (avg 1500 pa )to a truck doing 1,000,000 klm
AnswerID: 162009

Reply By: Exploder - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 19:57

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 19:57
Just thought about it and can’t think of a good answer, so I will say this, it’s just the way it is.
AnswerID: 162021

Reply By: Sarg - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 22:04

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 22:04
Actually, I have since the vehicle was new.
274960 Km @ 4433 Hr = 62.02 kph average
AnswerID: 162053

Follow Up By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 00:04

Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 00:04
Sarg - Interesting - Why did you put it on in the first place?
FollowupID: 416781

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 01:25

Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 01:25
So he didn't have to ask the question?
FollowupID: 416790

Follow Up By: Sarg - Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 23:53

Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 23:53
As I am a Heavy Duty Diesel Fitter, engine hours on equipment play a big role in service intervals, component changeout times etc, I thought it was a good idea at the time. The SMU cost me nothing, as it was a lefttover from a retro fit to a machine, so I thought "why not" ,just to see what hours a vehicle engine does compared to a machine.
FollowupID: 417097