Patrol 3.0l 3" exhaust

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 09:54
ThreadID: 31976 Views:2211 Replies:7 FollowUps:7
There was a recent post about what the expected increased performance gains from installing a new exhaust could be but no one posted any actual personal experiences. With the impending purchase of a DTronic I am interested as to whether it's worth the $$$
Also I see the catalytic converter comes almost straight off the bottom of the turbo. Is there a restictive dump pipe like the 4.2 diesels before this? Did the new exhuast replace everything including the cat and a dump pipe if it existed?

TIA.....Leroy

Reply By: Sam013 - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 10:17

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 10:17
G'day Leroy,

I have a 1995 Nissan patrol RD28TD 2 weeks ago I had the standard (I think original) muffler replaced with a straight through sports muffler. Now I realise this is not a 3 inch system, but I think would be similar in results.Also I have been told on several occasions that the standard muffler on the turbos is the same one fitted to the petrol engine....... way too big!
Friday night I did a run with a 4wheel drive club in Perth, roughly 85kms in the dirt (4 high). I am still on the same tank, as of today I am a touch in front on my kms (from before the change and no off road). The biggest change is in the power.......wow, truely it is like a new engine, its not possible for me to give you accurate figures, but if I guess, its something like 30%. Noise increase......... a little, not enough to worry, there is a very gentle hum out the back, (turbo removes most). Not enough to draw attention. Only downside........... she's a little harder to start, which is annoying, due to less back pressure? (like a lot less). hope this helps....... once I do a full tank to tank on the road, I will be able to give more accurate fuel consumption.
Lawrence
AnswerID: 161879

Reply By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 11:43

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 11:43
I would think that with Diesel designed headers/exhaust systems etc, the improved design would be complete with header/dump pipe and cat etc. The location of these is critical and I believe with diesel doesn't necessarily tie in with petrol designs. I have only spoken to an exhaust expert socially but it seems there don't seem to be an array of experts in diesel exhaust systems. Good results have been found with turbo diesel engines in testing, but not sure if this applys to more modern designs like the Dtronic. I would think the same questions could be asked about chip upgrades for turbo diesel vehiclles like the Navara and Hilux, there are impressive claimed gains but I don't here about a lot of testimonials in this area. You may be best served by ringing some reputable exhaust systems specialists and asking for opinions..?
AnswerID: 161892

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 12:18

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 12:18
G'day Leroy'
If you go to the top of the 'forum index' page and type in "patrol exhaust" in the 'search' section and set date back one year you will have more testimonials from members than you know what to do with. Try the same thing for "D-tronic" and we'll hear from you in a few days when you have finished reading.
Not trying to be smart or sarcastic, just trying to help as a lot of people don't know how to use the 'search' function, or even know it's there, as Trucky says "search is your friend".

Avagoodn
Perry
AnswerID: 161900

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 12:35

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 12:35
oh please enlighten me more with the search function. Or maybe you could just do the search for me to find the answers to the questions I have asked? Do you know for a fact that the questions have been answered in earlier posts? Maybe I have done a search already and couldn't find the answers. Maybe I don't have as much time as some to troll through old posts. but if you notice the exhaust posts are mostly for the 4.2td.

Leroy
FollowupID: 416547

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 21:42

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 21:42
With an attitude like that it makes me wonder why I even bothered to try and help, no worries, won't bother next time.

Pezza
FollowupID: 416721

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 07:54

Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 07:54
Didn't mean to rub you up the wrong way but you've been around long enough to know I've been around long enough to know where the search button is. If you read my question you would see I am refering to an old post that I must of searched for!
I just get annoyed with people that give replies of 'have you done a search?' especially when it appears from my question I have.

There are heaps of questions that get repeatedly asked but
conditions and situations change, life is not static otherwise we would not need a forum only a big fat FAQ!

Leroy
FollowupID: 416803

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 14:04

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 14:04
There is an exhaust expert that has joined OLimits, with a thread in the Techo forum.

Ask him his advice, he is assisting dozens of queries on all sorts of combos.
AnswerID: 161924

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 09:52

Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 09:52
thanks for that. I posted there and I think I got a reply but he was replying to the wrong post! I will follow up in a couple of weeks.He indicated he was doing one then.

Leroy
FollowupID: 416839

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 21:25

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 21:25
yea he has replied now, I bumped your post so he'd see it.
FollowupID: 417299

Reply By: Dirty Patrol - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 14:47

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 14:47
I have fitted a new 2.5" exhaust to my 03dx 3lt it was made by 4wd systems in S.A good fit easy to do your self,car pulls better from 1000rpm to 4500 no lag now, also much better on hills with camper trailer on, not sure yet about fuel saving's but over all a nicer car to drive more relaxed.
Den
AnswerID: 161928

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 14:57

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 14:57
so turbo starts spinning earlier? the lag off the mark is a little annoying at times!

Leroy
FollowupID: 416570

Reply By: Dirty Patrol - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 15:05

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 15:05
yes it spins up a bit better no lag between gear change now , a reasonable increase in tourqe by my seat of pants testing, hills that i used to change down on before I don't have to now and passing on the hwy a bit better with trailer, and a rocket with out allmost toying with getting a Dtronic.
Dirty Patrol
AnswerID: 161931

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 15:11

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 15:11
i've made the dtronic commitment so deciding if to go the next step with the exhaust. thanks for your feedback.

Leroy
FollowupID: 416573

Reply By: Member - The Crow (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 16:47

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 16:47
I don't have a bigger exaust only the standard one but I have used both the dtronic an steinbauer p-box if you want to speak to someome with personal experience of having used both units. Check out my comments in post 31845.
200 Series V8 Diesel
Thanks for the Rest Flying West and Flying Very Low along the track not coming back. The Crow

AnswerID: 161955