DIY Roller drawers

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 16:38
ThreadID: 31990 Views:12389 Replies:14 FollowUps:13
Guys,
I am wanting to have a crack at building my own roller drawer storage system for the back of my LC80 and perhaps also with view to doing same to build a custom camper trailer. I figure there must be people who sell all the rails, bearings, guides etc and wondered if anyone can offer advice and suggestions for DIY kits??

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 16:45

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 16:45
Grayson,

Use the search system above the Forum Index. You'll find heaps on this subject including distributors etc.

AnswerID: 161953

Follow Up By: grayson - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 16:52

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 16:52
Thanks Al, much appreciated.
FollowupID: 416593

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 17:07

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 17:07
Grayson,

Sorry if my answer was a little terse, it was'nt meant that way.

I see Notso and Truckster have provided good links. There is a mountain of info on this subject (amongst others) so use the Search system whenever you can. As long as you have enough time to read and digest it, that is :)))))))
FollowupID: 416599

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 21:49

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 21:49
gramps! your signature?
what who or are we going to give our re-writing of the constitution to, if we ever become a republic...Who Can WE Trust to write it so that its the same as today without taking away anymore rights/privaleges etc etc
FollowupID: 416727

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 22:38

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 22:38
MN1,

It's just a catchy line from a movie but I can see an idealistic truth in it. It may very well have been originally penned by a seriously deep thinker, I don't know for sure. From the sound and 'feel' of it, I'd hazard a guess of around the time of the French Revolution.

As to the re-writing of the constitution, I can't think of anyone I'd trust at the moment either.

FollowupID: 416756

Follow Up By: grayson - Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 13:49

Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 13:49
Gramps,

no offence taken at all. I am still new to working with forums having never taken the time to check em out before. Your suggestion was helpfull and turned up plenty of info. However even better info was gleaned from the responses which have blown me away. Me thinks forums are a very worthwhile tool and have been hooked now.

Rob G
FollowupID: 416893

Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 16:45

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 16:45
http://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/t3591-series-iv-storage-system.html

There is a discussion going on at the link above
AnswerID: 161954

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 16:47

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 16:47
Simple system been copied by dozens on this board.
AnswerID: 161956

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 17:04

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 17:04
also try www.lcool.org
FollowupID: 416598

Reply By: Drew - Karratha - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 17:03

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 17:03
If you send me your Email address I will send you pictures of the drawers that I made for my 80 series.
Drew
AnswerID: 161964

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 17:17

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 17:17
Hi Drew,
If it's not too much hassle I'd love to see some pics. I've been trying to work out the best way to build some drawers for my 80 and am yet to come up with a good idea. You can email me a rosswright@aapt.net.au

Scoey!
FollowupID: 416603

Follow Up By: grayson - Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 11:18

Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 11:18
Thanks Drew,

That sounds great. Try robert_grayson@fmi.com and if that fails try rob.grayson@orica.com

And thanks to everyone else for the info, its going to be a huge help and should save me enough to keep the slush/beer fund topped up for a while longer.

Rob G
FollowupID: 416860

Reply By: Gerry - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 17:09

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 17:09
Hi Grayson,
I built my own using slide rails from Hafele. They are excellent quality and have an office in every state. Just Google "Hafele" and you'll get their web site.

For the fridge slide, I lashed out and bought an Engel one and built it in. A lot less mucking around and they're a well made unit, although a tad pricey.

Gerry
AnswerID: 161967

Reply By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 17:16

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 17:16
in addition to Hafele runners there is also Hettich but the bearing roller has a nylon sleve which cracks after a while rending it useless....i know i just went and got a pair of Hafele's to replace the hettich

one can also use Accuride heavy duty slides which have superior load carrying capcity than the above two
AnswerID: 161968

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 20:18

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 20:18
How old were they? My fridge slide is made from Hettich rollers. Rated at over 100kgs and at $100 compared to $220 for the Hafele's. I would have gone back to the supplier to get them replaced.
FollowupID: 416686

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 21:44

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 21:44
they were about 4 yrs old...didnt want to know me
cant get replacement sleeves as they are moulded at factory level.

these were special pricing across the phone b4 i arrived and i didnt know anyone there:
the 900mm hafele only cost $127.15
hafele 800mm was just over 100 if i recall correctly
these do not have a nylon slipper..just a standard bearing
FollowupID: 416725

Follow Up By: Wok - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 23:43

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 23:43
Nudie,

Are you referring to the FR series [Hettich] with 2 roller bearings for the base and 2 for the slide? I got the FR1105 series which have a plastic guide/slide clipped to the bearing center......having hells on trouble getting replacements for them [got sheared off when loading the slide :(].

Looks like I will be starting from scratch again if Hettich cannot supply parts.

eng
FollowupID: 416774

Reply By: Scoey (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 17:21

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 17:21
Oh learned mob,
In my research into building my own drawers it seems to be that one of the biggest expenses is the rollers/runners/slides/whatever. I've seen a set of drawers in a Jackaroo that doesn't use slides and, yes, they're not AS easy to pull out but even loaded up with recovery gear (chains, shackles etc etc) they still slide out ok. Just wondering if anyone else has thoughts on doing away with the runners?
Scoey!
AnswerID: 161969

Follow Up By: HJ60-2H - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 20:13

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 20:13
I glued a piece of plastic flashing from the harware shop onto the base of a wooden drwer of a wooden box in my setup. Slides OK. Not a seasy as bearings but still easy enough to pull out.
FollowupID: 416684

Reply By: Member - Darren T (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 17:24

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 17:24
Not too hard to find what your looking for by doing a Google search. All depends on how much money you want to spend and how good you want the finished product to look and perform.
As for drawer slides (the ball bearing telescopic type), you can get them from Hafele (prenounced Haf-e-lay...... www.hafele.com.au ) or somewhere like Concept Lock Latch and Hinge. Most places that supply drawer slides will also supply things locks, handles, gas struts, rubber seals etc. Just ask for a catalogue or price guide.
Do your research first, know what you want to build and what sort of requirments your parts will need so it all performs properly. Such as - how much weight will your drawers hold, do they need to have ball bearings slides? (the longer the slides the heavier the load ratings will be) or will something like a neoprene (a nylon type plastic) friction slide do?
Does it have to be lockable? dustproof or waterproof ? or removable when not in use?
All these things help when asking about parts from a supplier.

Hope this helps, good luck,
Darren.

AnswerID: 161971

Reply By: hoyks - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 18:19

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 18:19
These are for a Jackeroo, but stretching a few measurements should work.

http://forum.australia4wd.com/index.php?showtopic=760&hl=draws

AnswerID: 161989

Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 20:36

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 20:36
I have put some homemade drawers in our 80 and a double deck shelf where the back seat used to be.!MPG:3!!MPG:4!
AnswerID: 162028

Reply By: Member - Paul S (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 21:22

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 21:22
G'day Grayson,

Fitted some basic drawers in my new hilux extracab over Xmas. Took me a couple of days and cost $300 all up.

I used 20mm ply to form a box into which I slide plasic containers on rollers; had a choice of about 10 different sizes (called underbed storage units). The whole thing is bolted into place with slotted angle I bought at that well known hardware store and covered with that grey carpet the commercial units use.

Added a shallow shelf on top to take our fold-up table etc and left space at the side for the Engel. The plastic containers can be carried to & from the lux for convenience.

With the tailgate deadlocked from the inside it is bullet proof and would require power tools to gain entry. May have only cost $300 but looks & works a treat.

Sheps

AnswerID: 162038

Reply By: Laura B - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 22:21

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 22:21
i would love to send you photos but they are on my phone that went through the wash!!if i think of it 2mrw i will take some and send them to ya....we have an 80 too...

we didnt do a diy kit - too expensive!

We used draws tha in laws had that already had runners on them and built a box around them so that it has a high roof over them with handles and all that - didnt need a lock because you need to slightly lift and pull out to open. Cut out a floor for them and on either side of the draws we left room - the width of the wheel bumps so that we could fit in 2 x 22 lt green water jerry cans....
then bolted them onto floor where the back 2 seats went into and i think where the seat belt bolts were too....

because we have 2 girls that are still in seats that need to be bolted into the chassis we have ended the drws before that spot. The floor goes over the top but 2 holes have been left for the straps to go through, these holes also double as handles for a hole in the floor that we put recovery gear into and forst aid kit...heaps of room!!

also have welded some tie down points so that fridge def wont go anywhere and boxes are really secure...

we put a fridge slide on the left too...with a duel outlet thing for fridge and lilghts

we dont have carpet over them at the moment - not in too much of a rush to do it - can just wipe floor clean if its gets dirty! spose we will some day - just not priority

Laura B
AnswerID: 162064

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 22:23

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 22:23
G'day Grayson,
If you go here you will find a write up on mine and here for some photo's that might help you aswell.
Any questions don't hesitate.

Avagoodn
Pezza

!MPG:10!
AnswerID: 162065

Follow Up By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 14:23

Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 14:23
Man, that's one neat job. I'll be fitting out a canopy/camper soon and I weas gonna use ply, but now ya got me thinking all over again. Good job mate!
FollowupID: 416901

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 12:06

Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 12:06
G'day Grayson,

Attached 3 photos, located a good sheet metal place nearby and had them bend the brackets and the verticals that you can see. Had these brackets and an angle piece (in the rear) made from 2mm gal sheet which cost me $80, not worth ginning around trying to make anything yourself I reckon. Whent to a local bolt shop and was able to get countersunk five eight colts and nylox nuts that were just the right length (when countersunk). Bought a heap of these but they are pretty cheap. The ply is 12 mil ply. Then got some marine carpet to finish the job (glued and stapled) ($30/meter at Bunnings). Should not cost more than $300 when you include some tie down points.

What I don't have showing is the drawers, had them bent out of metal including roller runners on the sides. I used some ply for the ends of the drawers and carpeted them on the inside.

Let me know if you need more info.

Theo

AnswerID: 162192