TYRE pressure

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 01, 2003 at 22:26
ThreadID: 3203 Views:1877 Replies:11 FollowUps:7
Hi all, we have a Nissan Patrol GU 4.2 TD, and have 3 questions,
1. we reside in Darwin and will be doing a trip along the top of the Gulf then upto Cape York and was wondering on tyre pressures needed, not towing anything however have an ARB roofrack with not too much gear (only two adults).
2. we have the factory fitted CD player(no stacker) and when on dirt roads it skips like crazy.
3.L/H side wind sheild keeps coming away from the door/window. I have tried industrial double sided tape, sikaflex, and contact cement. It will hold for a week then start to lift. The way it is performing the wind sheild will end up in the bin.

Cheers Mick and Jennie

Reply By: Truckster - Saturday, Feb 01, 2003 at 23:20

Saturday, Feb 01, 2003 at 23:20
1. varies with conditions and temps.
2. Alpine has the best antiskip in the game.. if you have the $ get 1.
3. throw it away!
AnswerID: 12376

Follow Up By: Mick And Jennie - Sunday, Feb 02, 2003 at 10:22

Sunday, Feb 02, 2003 at 10:22
Truckster thankyoun very much. I will persivere with the wind sheild, however will look at the Alpine.
FollowupID: 7173

Reply By: Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Sunday, Feb 02, 2003 at 09:57

Sunday, Feb 02, 2003 at 09:57
What tyre pressures are you running now? What size tyres are you using? It may be your presures are too high if things are skipping and shaking loose. As a rule of thumb I run 35 lb sealed roads 25-28 offroad 15-18 sand. Loaded up and doing long distances on sealed roads I may go as high as 45 lb Cheers Rob
AnswerID: 12388

Follow Up By: Mick And Jennie - Sunday, Feb 02, 2003 at 10:27

Sunday, Feb 02, 2003 at 10:27
We currently have BFG AT 265, have only done 7000kms. We are currently running the tyre pressure that is recommended. We have no winch, so would you recommend the Telegraph track for our trip to the Cape, or stick to the other track?
FollowupID: 7175

Follow Up By: Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Sunday, Feb 02, 2003 at 10:43

Sunday, Feb 02, 2003 at 10:43
what pressure are you running? You haven't really been to the Cape unless you do the OTL. You could go up one way and come back the other When do you intend to do it ? Cheers Rob
FollowupID: 7176

Reply By: Mick and Jennie - Sunday, Feb 02, 2003 at 10:59

Sunday, Feb 02, 2003 at 10:59
we are currently running 38lbs all round. We will be leaving Darwin approx 10 May, going via the Gulf. So we could say that we will be at the Cape qapprox 7-10 days later. We plan on taking two spare tyres with us. Your advice on the option of doing the Telegraph track one way and then the other track sounds good.
Thanks Mick
AnswerID: 12392

Follow Up By: Trev - Sunday, Feb 02, 2003 at 12:36

Sunday, Feb 02, 2003 at 12:36
Mick and Jennie - nothing to do with your tyres. Are you travelling from Normanton to Musgrave via Dunbar? I'm trying to find out what the road is like. Regards,
Trev
FollowupID: 7182

Follow Up By: Mick And Jennie - Sunday, Feb 02, 2003 at 14:58

Sunday, Feb 02, 2003 at 14:58
Trev, no we are coming in thru the back of Cairns (Roper Bar, Booraloola,Lawn Hill NP, Burketown,Normanton, and Karumba) as we are meeting up with Jennies parents. Then heading up either using the OTL or main track, still undecided yet.
Mick
FollowupID: 7188

Reply By: Michael - Sunday, Feb 02, 2003 at 14:26

Sunday, Feb 02, 2003 at 14:26
Hi there, i have the same vehicle and cd unit, if it seemed much better when you first got your vehicle, assuming you got it new . I found that it seemed to get worse as time went on. I have travelled a heap of dirt roads and i think that a build up of fine dust on the laser causes problems. My CD player skips a lot even on mildly bumpy roads and sometimes takes a while to recover to the point it jumped at, takes a while to start and find the tracks when you insert a cd into the unit and sometimes wont start at all, comes up with CD ERROR. Probably needs servicing. As for the real bumpy roads where most of the original equipment cd players skip, tape your CD'S and use the tape player. Sorry i cant be more helpful,,, Michael

Ps,. The casette player is of reasonable sound output.
AnswerID: 12397

Follow Up By: Mick And Jennie - Sunday, Feb 02, 2003 at 15:03

Sunday, Feb 02, 2003 at 15:03
Yes the veh was purchased new and has just finished its new car warranty. I have heard that a cd stacker can be fitted in the rear (r/h side near the jack, in the storage spot under the window) Apparently all the wires are already in place its just a case of getting it wired up correctly.
Mick
FollowupID: 7190

Follow Up By: Michael - Sunday, Feb 02, 2003 at 21:19

Sunday, Feb 02, 2003 at 21:19
Mick & jenny, Yes all the wiring is there but nissan use a different player, it wouldnt have the single slot for the cd in the dash, have a look inside a TI in the same year as yours. If you decide to buy an aftermarket system, there are many double 'din' players available, all the wiring and plugs are the same,if its a standard double 'DIN' it all plugs in. regards Michael
FollowupID: 7213

Reply By: kezza - Sunday, Feb 02, 2003 at 15:29

Sunday, Feb 02, 2003 at 15:29
Also sus out the pioneer cd players - excellent quality and price - no skipping I wont bother with technical details
kes
AnswerID: 12402

Reply By: Kev. - Monday, Feb 03, 2003 at 22:08

Monday, Feb 03, 2003 at 22:08
The wind sheild should have little metal clips that go under the window rubber and tighten with small bolts as well as double sided tape.
Well thats how it was on the landcruiser.

Coberg peninsular was a good trip from Darwin as was the Gove peninsular.(Arnhem land)

I still miss Shady camp and the Daily river. ( barra fishing)

Kev.
AnswerID: 12444

Reply By: Mick and Jennie - Tuesday, Feb 04, 2003 at 00:50

Tuesday, Feb 04, 2003 at 00:50
Kev,
the wind shield has come away where the double sided tape is. As mentioned we've tried everything. We caught some decent size fish at the Daly, my mate owns the Mango Farm so thats where we camp. There are to many mozzies/midges at Shady Camp.
Mick
AnswerID: 12461

Reply By: johnsy - Tuesday, Feb 04, 2003 at 11:19

Tuesday, Feb 04, 2003 at 11:19
mick / jenni run as cairns off road suggests and i use the same got 70k out of the same tyres but at the other end of the nt below the berrimah line .
AnswerID: 12474

Reply By: Troopie - Wednesday, Feb 05, 2003 at 10:13

Wednesday, Feb 05, 2003 at 10:13
Possibly a little late to enter the fray here, but anyway - did the Cape over 7 weeks last year - I reckon drive the OTL in both directions - unless you're in a rush. The Bypass roads rattle the crap out of you - better off to take your time along the OTL and soak up the experience.
AnswerID: 12528

Reply By: Mick and Jennie - Wednesday, Feb 05, 2003 at 10:27

Wednesday, Feb 05, 2003 at 10:27
Troopie thanks, just out of interest how long do you think it would take each way,possibly three days each way as we dont have heaps and heaps of time. We will be travelling by ourself,we have no winch so would this still be alright. What about all the creek crossings?
Cheers Mick.
AnswerID: 12532

Reply By: Mick and Jennie - Wednesday, Feb 05, 2003 at 10:27

Wednesday, Feb 05, 2003 at 10:27
Troopie thanks, just out of interest how long do you think it would take each way,possibly three days each way as we dont have heaps and heaps of time. We will be travelling by ourself,we have no winch so would this still be alright. What about all the creek crossings?
Cheers Mick.
AnswerID: 12533