80 series GXL Rims on a 60 series

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 13:04
ThreadID: 32074 Views:6108 Replies:4 FollowUps:5
Does anyone know if the 80 Series GXL rims (steel 16 x 8) fit a 60 Series Cruiser??
Drew

Reply By: Joe King - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 15:12

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 15:12
Drew,
I have been told they will fit, the 60 has the same offset as the 75 series. the 80 series rim is slightly more inset than 75 or 60 but stud pattern is the same...
I may be corrected, please some one do so if I am wrong...
JK
AnswerID: 162491

Reply By: muzzimbidgie - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 16:53

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 16:53
I asked the same question when I wanted to fit bigger wheels to my FJ62 and no-one could give an answer better than "put some on and see what happens"

The issue is whether the front tyres will hit the chassis or front guard at full lock and full axle articulation because of the different offset of the rims!

At the time I didn't know anyone with an 80 series well enough to ask if i could borrow their rims and tyres for a day to do this experiment, and I ended up buying a set of 33x10.5R15 tyres to go on my 15" steel wheels which gave a good lift under the axles and made sand driving heaps easier.

Of course the speedo is out of whack when you put bigger tyres on, and you loose a little torque, but who cares?
AnswerID: 162505

Reply By: Drew - Karratha - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 17:23

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 17:23
Thanks guys - I am selling a set of the GXL rims and had a guy ring up and ask if they fitted a 60 series. Was hoping for an easy answer....
Drew
AnswerID: 162510

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 19:38

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 19:38
Drew
Definately wont fit on the front of the 60, as they steering arm hits the inner rim...will only fit IFS hilux/runners, and prado.
Sent a guy your details...he is in your town, and looking for gxl rims. Is his a gxl 60 series...
FollowupID: 417265

Follow Up By: Joe King - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 21:07

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 21:07
Dozer, at the risk of sounding like a d!ck, will the 80 series GXL rims fit a 75? or are they what I was told & are the same offset as the 60
thanks,
JK
FollowupID: 417295

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 09:35

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 09:35
Hi JK
The 60,75 and hilux share thesame offset.....and are interchangeable. The 80, prado, 4 runner/surf/ifs lux share the same offset aswell.....These rims wont fit the 60/75....but.....the 60/75 offset rim will fit on an early 80.....(which came with 15 inch rims) but hit the rear brakes on later 80s....so now your confused......the simple answer is NO...80 gxl rims wont fit on a 75 or a 60....they hit the tie rod end joint on the front, but fit the rear ok.
Did you know.....if you have a 1990 or later disc rear ended 75...that the 80 series hubs bolt straight on and the wheels are spaced 40mm further outwards on each hub......trivial information, but you can also run the larger rear brakes from the 93 or later 80 series for better brakes....and with 40 extra mm, you can run larger tyres without thm hittingthe tray.
FollowupID: 417365

Follow Up By: Drew - Karratha - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:39

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:39
Thanks Dozer - I think.....
FollowupID: 417379

Follow Up By: Joe King - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:50

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:50
Andrew/Dozer, very handy info mate thanks, I have an 92 model 80 & a 92 model 75, so this clears up a lot for me without a lot of tyre changing
FollowupID: 417383

Reply By: techo2oz - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 21:40

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 21:40
G'day,
from my experience, no they won't. Tried to swap wheels over when I traded up from a 60 to an 80. I wanted to keep the alloys and put the steel rims onto the old 60.

The offset is wrong for the front wheels. They bind on the calipers. Everything else is good and if you used a spacer or something on the front they won't bind. However I wouldn't recommend it and hence ended up buying a set of sunraysiers for the 60.

AnswerID: 162565