High lift jack advice sought

Submitted: Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 08:39
ThreadID: 32101 Views:5957 Replies:9 FollowUps:8
In the excellent thread on winches (32036) Captain describes a technique for winching using a high lift jack and four lengths of chain. As I usually travel alone I’m always concerned about getting bogged and really should have a winch so I’ve decided to go the high lift and four chains route because the high lift will serve the dual purpose of winch and jack.

Which high lift jack and/or supplier would people recommend – are the Black Rat ones any good or just Chinese copies?

I imagine lifting equipment suppliers would be the best people to buy chain from, any particular type of chain I should buy or avoid?

Thanks in advance,

mike_harding@fastmail.fm

Reply By: hound - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 08:48

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 08:48
I wouldn't go down this path, firstly your using a high lift jack for something its not realy designed for, you will have heaps a chain to store, a for the cost you would be better off getting a proper hand winch either new or from ebay.
AnswerID: 162609

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 09:19

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 09:19
Mike,

I have a lot of recovery gear on the Troopie. The one thing that I don't carry is a high lift jack.

The jack has to be secured some how and because of the size and shape it is carried on the outside of the vehicle. On the outside of the vehicle the workings get full of dust and the it stops working.

The jack is heavy and it will only give you a pull of less than a metre before it has to be set up again. You will still need a tree trunk protector, chains bow shackles, cable and snatch block.

I think that a hand winch, and after all that is what you want is a winch, would be a far better purchase.

4WD shops are the best place to get all the recovery gear that you need.

AnswerID: 162613

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 15:51

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 15:51
Crikeys it is the first thing I put in for recovery - I have used them a few times for boggings and hangups. I made the mistake of leaving it behind once and ended up walking for 40k for what would have been an easy recovery. I have a winch as well but if I hd to choose I would take the hi lift every time over the winch
FollowupID: 417421

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 18:22

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 18:22
All depends on the individual.

My high lift jack doubles as my second jack; its my bead breaker; its necessary for those odd occasions where someone has suspension problems and need to jack up the chassis. I've fitted jacking points all round on the 79series.

Never bothered with the winch thing.

phil
FollowupID: 417442

Follow Up By: garrycol - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 19:08

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 19:08
And that one metre of pull is used to take out the slack in the chains etc - it is not worth the hassle.

Garry
FollowupID: 417448

Reply By: glenno(qld) - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 09:58

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 09:58
check this
AnswerID: 162617

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:20

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:20
So reading through to the cost = about 1000 rand ?? = how many $au ?? methinks would be cheaper and safer and easier in operation to buy a dedicated hand winch such as a Tirfor.
FollowupID: 417374

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 11:21

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 11:21
I did those sums too :)
About A$300

FollowupID: 417391

Follow Up By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Saturday, Mar 25, 2006 at 08:56

Saturday, Mar 25, 2006 at 08:56
Borrow one Mike and try it out, I guarantee you won't buy one. Cheers Rob
FollowupID: 417527

Reply By: Ken - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:14

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:14
Mike, tend to agree with above posts on the high lift. They are messy to set up and use as a winch but they do work though if you can stand the messing about. I would only go with Jackall {Canadian I think} or genuine HiLift. The Chinese stuff worries me but perhaps this is only a personal view.
I reckon a Tirfor is the way to go, very flexible, proven and used in industry all over the world. Anchor make a good one also and you sometimes see them on Ebay. Don't reckon any copies are worth the risk, again a personal view. Recent posts on the size of hooks, dodgy rating claims etc. on different models tells me to stay with the proven product. This isn't like the Engel/Waeco or BFG/Cooper debates, winching is serious stuff with the potential to cause serious damage to people and vehicles. The only thing holding my valuable truck and all its accessories on a steep hill will never be any of the cheapo hand winches were are seeing pop up from accessory places.
Ken
AnswerID: 162619

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 11:57

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 11:57
I agree that I would not 'plan' on using a Hi Lift as a winch. More an emergency measure. The weight of the chain you would need to carry would be more than the weight of a Trifor, I would think.

I carry a genuine Hi Lift (fully cast, not the pressed one). Although it's rated lift capacity is the same as the pressed one, they are supposed to last longer, which makes me think it is probbly stronger anyway. At the 4WD shows, you can pick them up for around $140, which is not a lot more than the chinese ones.

As for carrying, it can be a pain, but they come in a variety of lengths. The shorter ones are easier to carry, but have less lift /pull. Mine is about 1.3m long and I have a spot for it in my custom storage _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx. But I have a dual cab ute, so a bit more space.

Mike, only you can decide your needs, but I'd go the Trifor route. I don't have one, but am borrowing one from a 4WD Club member for an upcoming 16 week trip. I now feel much more comfortable travelling alone with it on board.

AnswerID: 162631

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 13:56

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 13:56
Gooday,
My experience would be not to buy toosmall a capacity in a Yirfor as they DID have a set of three hear pins sin the fixed winching handle for overload purposes & even though they USED to have a spare set of shear pins locsted inssidt that handle it is not going to gara untee that will get you out if stuck I admit this may have changed. Think for hand operation I would look at the MUD MAULER as aspoused on here by many.
Cheers boroma604.
PS look good on website.
AnswerID: 162645

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 14:09

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 14:09
Gooday,
My experience would be not to buy toosmall a capacity in a tirfor, as they DID have a set of three shear pins in the fixed winching handle for overload purposes & even though they USED to have a spare set of shear pins located inside that handle it is not going to guarantee that will get you out if stuck. I admit this may have changed. Think for hand operation I would look at the MUD MAULER as aspoused on here by many.
Cheers boroma604.
PS look good on website.
AnswerID: 162648

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 16:38

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 16:38
Mike,
Hi lifts can be a wonderful tool, and then again the smallest lapse in concentration can leave you unconscious, (this happened to a friend, he still "owns" the hi-lift but won't use it, sell it or even give it away. His theory is that this way, it is out of circulation!!)

For the extra (?) I would say go the Tirfor, lots of effort required, but it will do the job!

As far as chinese stuff, again I would always go for properly rated "known" gear... you may not get a satisfactory warranty out of anything cheap..... and don't forget the bitterness of poor quality remains long after the joy of a cheap bargain!

Just my opinion

AnswerID: 162667

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 19:44

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 19:44
I used to own a Hi Lift and found that when I used it, twas dangerous. I'm overly cautious but still alive. I'd have to agree with your mate and also the post about carrying and maintainance.
I know some people swear by them but I swear at them.
FollowupID: 417455

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Mar 25, 2006 at 08:48

Saturday, Mar 25, 2006 at 08:48
"I know some people swear by them but I swear at them. "

LOL... I can hear it from here footloose!!!!!

LOL....
FollowupID: 417525

Reply By: russ36 - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 17:32

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 17:32
a while ago i think it was a stump or something i was trying to remove, cant remember exactly but i bent the shaft on my chinese hi lift.... can only blame myself for not spending the extra bucks in the first place. should it get stolen, finally i can get myself a decent one
AnswerID: 162673