Simpson Desert Virgin

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 09:47
ThreadID: 32247 Views:1947 Replies:4 FollowUps:10
Aiming to cross the Simpson in July and was wondering what is the easiest direction to cross.

Obviously differing wind directions have a bearing on this at various times.

But I have heard a couple of differing opinions and would like a bit more input from seasoned travellers of The Simpson and also what things are likely to be like during July.

It will be a convoy of at least two vehicles.

I have been reading the trek notes too.

cheers,
Sam.

Reply By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 10:03

Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 10:03
Hi Sam, by July the dune crests will have been knocked down considerably and the track sorted out a bit. I suggest you travel west to east - at least at the end of the trip you have Birdsville and all its delights to look forward to - cold beer, good food, great coffee, hot showers, art gallery, best museum in the west, great information centre (oh yes, and good laundry facilities).
You don't mention which tracks you are intending to take - I'd be taking as many as I could in the time available. I can spend a week out there - you mightn't have that much time tho. July is the most marvellous time to travel - clear cold and sunny usually - makes the night camps great with plenty of stars, satellites and aeroplanes to watch.
Are you the same kind Sam who sorted my computer problem? I am eternally grateful, thank you.
Hope that's been some help to you.
AnswerID: 163393

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 10:42

Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 10:42
Hi Ruth!

There is a pretty good chance that I am the very same Sam that sorted out your computer problem.

My inital plan was to travel East to West taking in Alice and looping back around to Birdsville on our way to Innamincka. But the actual direction isn't critical and I can go in reverse if crossing west to east is the better option.

as for tracks (heading west to east) was to head out on the QAA line, hook left onto K1 to Poeppel's, Right onto the French Line, hang a left to head towards Poolawanna Oil Well, Right onto WAA line right onto the Colson Track and then left back onto the French Line and on to Dalhousie

Whats a realistic time to spend. I've allowed about 3 nights 4 days, but have some buffer in my itinerary to add a day here and there.

cheers,
Sam.
FollowupID: 418146

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 12:39

Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 12:39
either way we go. we will certainly make a point of calling in to say g'day!
FollowupID: 418166

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 17:50

Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 17:50
Sam

The WAA track is a bit bumpy and slow going. I would take the Rig Road instead.

The rest of Simspon is easy going. Just make sure you run your tyre pressures at 18 or below or whatever suits your vehicle.

FollowupID: 418198

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 19:48

Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 19:48
Sam, thought it must be you. Good trip you've planned there - regardless of which way you go. Timing isn't too bad either. At this stage we still don't know how the various tracks are (including the WAA) because no-one has been out there yet. National Parks are going out tomorrow and will be back Friday so that will give us some indication.
Weather is nice - 19 to 30 today (about 1 person:1,000flies) slight SE breeze and no rain. Will put up a Post after talking to the National Parks boys on their return. Keep checking and we'll see you when you get here.
FollowupID: 418220

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 08:57

Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 08:57
Thanks Willem and Ruth.

What is a reasonable time in which to cross the desert? 3 or 4 days or longer?

cheers,
Sam.
FollowupID: 418315

Reply By: scoof - Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 10:13

Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 10:13
Did it last July great trip.Don't rush it take it easy.We (three vehicles) went over no one had any problem's.
V6 petrol used approx 140 litres and both Deisels used around 75 litres we towed CT as well.Did mostly the Rig road. Enjoy. Have a great time I'm sure you will..

Cheers Scoof
AnswerID: 163397

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 10:56

Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 10:56
thanks Scoof

so far its a 4.2TD Patrol (mine) and a mates N/A 4.2 Landcruiser that are crossing.

I am as keen as mustard.
FollowupID: 418149

Reply By: PK Eildon (VIC) - Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 10:32

Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 10:32
Have travelled both ways and in July. Both directions much of a muchness really, I'm sure there may be a difference if you worked it out scientifically, but not so you would notice.
AnswerID: 163403

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 10:58

Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 10:58
Thanks PK.

Having never done it before, even though there are heaps of reports and opinions and advice out there.

Its still somewhat daunting and I just want to make sure I know what I am up against so that I am well prepared.

cheers,
Sam.
FollowupID: 418150

Reply By: Ando79 - Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 11:14

Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 11:14
Mate, I hope you're not planning on losing your virginity while you're out in the simpson!
AnswerID: 163412

Follow Up By: old mate - Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 11:40

Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 11:40
Why not ?, something different, would make a good yarn. Better than just talking tyre pressures.
FollowupID: 418154

Follow Up By: Ando79 - Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 11:43

Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 11:43
Bcoz he's going across with me old mate

;)

Ando
FollowupID: 418157

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 13:09

Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 13:09
Very funny.

FollowupID: 418171