Nissan, what are you doing?

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 13:20
ThreadID: 32305 Views:2627 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
My mum and step father are looking at buying a brand new navara 2.5TD. Now I think that this vehicle has been on the market since before Christmas hasn't it?? If so WHY DO THEY STILL HAVE THE OLD MODEL ON THEIR WEBSITE!?

We can't seem to find any information on the 2.5TD.

Anyway, I'd like to know a couple of things if anyone cares to answer:

(FOR THE DUAL CAB ONLY)

1. Does it have a payload of over 1 tonne? (the hilux does not).
2. Do they do the 2.5TD with an auto?

They need the payload over 1 tonne for tax purposes and they really want an auto turbo diesel. The lux would be an option but the dual cab's payload is 20kg under one tonne!? Why would toyota do such a stupid thing??

Reply By: DaveNQ1 - Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 13:30

Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 13:30
Jeff,
Look harder mate. The new Navara is selling along with the old model. Apparantly there is a market for both. It is shown under 2006 Navara.

AnswerID: 163636

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 13:33

Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 13:33
Sorry to say, Dave, but the 2006 Navara on their website still states that it is using the 3.0L TD ZD30....
FollowupID: 418373

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 13:35

Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 13:35
Oooopsies!! Sorry, you are right, but it's bloody dumb! You click on 2006 navara, then it brings up the specs of the 2005 and you have to click the small print on the right hand side for "new 2006 model".
FollowupID: 418375

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 13:44

Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 13:44
Well that's why they are still selling the old one:

2005 Carrying capactiy: 1070Kg
2006 Carrying capacity: 875Kg

So people will be buying the old ones for tax reasons...

That's crap, because the old one doesn't come with an Auto, it's got a "questionable" motor (ZD30) and has WAAAAAAYYYY less power than the new 2.5TD.

Oh well, I guess they are not getting a Navara then....
FollowupID: 418379

Follow Up By: scottp - Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 17:54

Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 17:54
I think the reason that they are still selling the old model is because the plant that produces the new model can not keep up with the global demand!
FollowupID: 418457

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 15:27

Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 15:27
Site Link
AnswerID: 163660

Reply By: warnsey - Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 16:24

Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 16:24
Jeff,

Speak to Nissan whilst the Navara carries less than 1 tonnehave seen a Nissan Dealer Bulletin which sets out ability for ST-X to comply with FBT exemption based on passenger load carrying capacity being less than 50% of ctotal carrying capacity.

Sorry don't have a copy otherwise would send it to you
AnswerID: 163669

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 16:35

Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 16:35
warnsey you are spot on mate, I just got an email from my step father and he had just spoken to his accountant and confirmed that! So it looks like the navara 2.5TD auto is on the cards again. Good on'em, I reckon it'll be a ripper little ute.
FollowupID: 418429

Reply By: warnsey - Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 16:44

Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 16:44
Jeff,

Interesting to see how it goes am looking to get one later in the year.

If they are in Perth tell them to try Steve Rose at Midland Nissan have bought two nissan's from him got a good deal and good service
AnswerID: 163673

Reply By: camship - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 09:56

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 09:56
are you sure the hilux isn't 1 tonne?
The dealers tell me they are.
AnswerID: 163836

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 11:04

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 11:04
depends on whether you look at the tare or kerb mass in relation to the GVM...

Tare: 1760kg
Kerb: 1815kg
GVM: 2780kg

Based on Tare, they can carry 1020kg... Based on Kerb, they can carry 965kg
FollowupID: 418631

Reply By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 10:03

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 10:03
I gotta say I think their strategy to keep selling the older model is a silly one. Newer model should be better all round , I can't get my head around their logic. Surely the new model will replace the older model completely sooner or later..!
AnswerID: 163839