Shafted by Toyota-what next??

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 21:51
ThreadID: 32330 Views:4178 Replies:13 FollowUps:17
Its a long winded story but here goes.
We bought our 2003 GXL HZJ105 cruiser(62000kms) at christmas with one year factory warrenty left.On the drive home it coughed and splutted and blew heaps of black smoke out then cleared and ran perfect(lasted maybe two seconds) but over next couple of days noticed a surge at light throttle aplications.I contacted toyota and booked it in for the pump to be checked.A week later we got it back,surge was gone but still not happy with amount of smoke it was blowing and when warm it would take 4 to 5 cranks before firing up.Again it went back to toyota who checked it out and said all was fine.We left tassie that week heading for Kununurra and on our way through Alice we called into Toyota to see what they had to say about it.They said definatly something wrong with pump but it would take two weeks to do.As we had to get up here for work we decided to get it done up here.Yesterday I got a call to say the pump had dirty fuel go through it and it and injectors would need full rebuilds at a cost of $4700,no warrenty as they dont cover dirty fuel problems.So I contacted toyota back in tassie who after lengthy discussions decide to pay half.So I ask who is paying other half as I am not.After being fobbed of to about 4 people we hit a stale mate.I say problem was there from the start,they say we got dirty fuel on way up.When pump was done in tassie it was not fully disasembled,only fuel pressures were re set and pump put on test machine and ran.I have contacted Toyota australia who havent got back to me yet,consumer affairs said to take half and be happy,yeah right .
So who else can I contact to get a end to this.Wish I still had our 4 Runner.By the way our vehicle has been off the road for 4 weeks now.

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 22:11

Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 22:11
Hi Nick,
Your post is not quite clear as to where your last diagnoses was done but you being from Kununnurra I would think that the Toyoto dealer thwere would put you on the right track.The manager there is Bill whom I know and I am sure he can tell you which way to go.Sorry to hear your hassles as noone needs that on holiday.
AnswerID: 163754

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 22:29

Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 22:29
Yep it is in at Argyle Toyota with pump being done in Perth.I was talking to Bill the other day on the phone on a different matter and found him very helpful,sounded like a top bloke.The service manager suggested Toyota Australia or consumer affairs.The worst thing is I am going to have to pay the half so we can have our vehicle back and then try and get a refund.
FollowupID: 418536

Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 08:50

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 08:50
Get the servo that gave the bad fuel the other half of the bill, bad fuel from a servo causing damage is the servos fault and can be made to pay.

This happened to a NPWS Prado that was damged by bad fuel and it was paid for by Shell.

FollowupID: 418611

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 16:22

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 16:22
It's a safe bet that travelling from Tassie to Kunnanurra via Alice involved more than one servo. I'm sure each servo would deny it was their fuel that caused the problem. Be very hard to prove which one.
FollowupID: 418692

Reply By: Member - Paul P (Bris) - Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 22:43

Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 22:43
Nick. I wish you the best in your claim. As an aside.

I always keep my fuel receipts (at least 3 fills back). I also change my fuel filters at half the recommended intervals. My other concern is that if dirty fuel has "alledgedly" caused this problem, does this mean that the factory fuel filter system is inadequate!!!

AnswerID: 163762

Reply By: Axle - Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 22:58

Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 22:58
Nick.
If that much contaminated fuel got through the system to destroy the pump AND the injectors, Then toyo have a issue with there filtration system??. Something else you might take up with them. Hope every thing works out.

Regards Axle.
AnswerID: 163766

Follow Up By: Exploder - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 18:16

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 18:16
Just what I was thinking.
FollowupID: 418721

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 19:45

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 19:45
Asked the service manager today bout filter system and he said that no it will not and no filter setup can stop water/poor fuel from damaging pumps(std systems).Poor setups.
FollowupID: 418741

Reply By: jmn24 - Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 23:19

Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 23:19
Gday Nick,
Post your complaint on www.notgoodenough.org its amazing what bad publicity can do.
Good Luck
AnswerID: 163771

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 19:50

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 19:50
Cheers,will give them a go.
FollowupID: 418746

Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 23:56

Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 23:56
Nic, really sorry to hear of your problem - Does the factory warranty actually say that they dont cover damage caused by dirty fuel. As asked above - Is the Toyota fuel filter adequate. (I have fitted pre filters on each tank and have them changed at each service - I was advised to have them fitted when I added a Long Range Tank)
AnswerID: 163775

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 19:49

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 19:49
Was told today that no std system cannot cope with dirty fuel/water.
FollowupID: 418745

Reply By: Member - Bouncer (WA) - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 00:48

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 00:48
ohh what a feeling Toyota cough splutter, what you say dirty fuel?
AnswerID: 163782

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 05:23

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 05:23
$ 4700 for injectors i got mine done for 1200 and Dyna tuned etc.
Can you find a diesel specialist and get another opinion of them just a thought.

AnswerID: 163789

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 19:47

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 19:47
Gday Eric,yeah carnt believe it could cost that much.Pump and injectors are in Perth being done,not many options up here.
FollowupID: 418743

Follow Up By: Niffty - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 22:13

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 22:13
Buy yourself a ultrasonic cleaner and the right dissolving fluid and your away.We use them in the dental industry to dissolve calcium deposits off dentures.I have seen this done by injector service people before!. A cheap ultrasonic will cost About $4-5 hundred and the right fluid is any thing which will disolve the gunk! Acetone will probable work but not sure.Injector services are like needing a TV licience in the old days, just another rip off!
FollowupID: 418803

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 07:56

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 07:56
Had a similar problem with a ford falcon years ago, so long ago it was a carby.
New car that just didn't want to run every now and then.
Found something foriegn in the carby.
Took a long time for Ford to own up to an assembly fault.

Don't give in too easily. They are trying to wear you down.
AnswerID: 163804

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 08:01

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 08:01
PS

Forgot to add. Not sure if it would be useful to try and get a written report from the people who pull the fuel pump down. Try and talk to them directly if you can.

FollowupID: 418590

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 19:52

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 19:52
Will be chasing them up for full list of reciets for all work done.I reacon I have now sent about 10 letters off,made 20 or more phone calls but I aint giving in yet.
FollowupID: 418747

Reply By: Gu_Patrol - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 08:19

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 08:19
If you know what servo had the dirty fuel you could get them to pay for it. i'd also go to another fuel injector service centre. Your filters should have been changed by the first dealer. Consumer affairs should also give you some advice.
AnswerID: 163813

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 19:54

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 19:54
Mate the pump was stuffed before we bought the vehicle.Consumer affairs have already said to take the half and forget about it.Not Likely
FollowupID: 418748

Reply By: Ando79 - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 12:31

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 12:31
Mate is your truck a 1HZ or a turbo?
AnswerID: 163864

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 19:56

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 19:56
1HZ
FollowupID: 418749

Reply By: robak (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 12:35

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 12:35
Nick,

If you (or someone else) is going to pay for half then you should ask to have a choice of where this work is going to be done. Sounds like the cost of doing this work is probably half of what they've quoted you so they're not going to be out of pocket.

R.
AnswerID: 163867

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 19:59

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 19:59
I will endevor to contact the deisel joint in Perth and talk direct to them.Will also be asking for a full break down of work with reciets.
FollowupID: 418750

Reply By: Old Scalyback & denny - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 16:18

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 16:18
goodday nick
you didnt happen to fill up at 3 waays on the stuart on the way up did you i got some real shty stuff last year fortunately had enough good stuff in the 2nd tank to mix and break it up

AnswerID: 163898

Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 21:26

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 21:26
I don't think you mentioned who you bought the vehicle from.
AnswerID: 163979

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 21:32

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 21:32
The vehicle was purchased from BRUCE STEVENSONS TOYOTA in Launceston Tasmania.They are one of the big Toyota dealers in Tassie,with me thinking I couldnt go wrong with a major dealer.
FollowupID: 418787

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 21:37

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 21:37
So, with only 62,000kms, is there no used vehicle warranty applicable, not withstanding the balance of new car warranty?
FollowupID: 418789

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 21:48

Thursday, Mar 30, 2006 at 21:48
No.They claim that the vehicle was in perfect mechanical cond. when it left there even though I complained about the excess smoke/starting issues.I ran out of time in Tassie to go back a third time to demand something done due to us moving.
FollowupID: 418794