GQ SWB suspension lifts

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 05, 2003 at 01:20
ThreadID: 3234 Views:1794 Replies:2 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
Gday i own a 91 GQ SWB fitted with RS9000's and 5 inch king springs. I also put a 2 inch body lift on and am now running 35 inch BFG muddys and despite alot of critics it runs like a dream. Anyway ive heard alot of people talk about how such a lift is illegal and insurance companies wont cover claims etc and ive also heard about having to get engineers certificates for the work. All the bar work beneath is custom from a mate whose a welder by trade pan arm rods, trailing arms etc etc. I currently have full insurance but im a bit worried what happens if i have an accident *touch wood*. Can anyone clear this up for me and let me know how i can go about making this legal and approx how much $$$ i am looking at? Or is it even worth insuring it and just hoping for the best?

Cheers mark
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Savvas - Wednesday, Feb 05, 2003 at 08:42

Wednesday, Feb 05, 2003 at 08:42
Mark,

Any problems with insurance will usually stem from the car being illegally modified. Check with your state's registration authority to find out what can be done without an engineering certificate in terms of suspension and tyre size changes. The RTA in NSW has a lot of this information on their website, (http://www.rta.nsw.gov.au/registration/vehiclestandards/index.html).

If you find that your modifications are not within their guidelines, then your next step is to get an engineer's certificate. This certifies that your vehicle with the modifications is safe and roadworthy. Once you have this, your vehicle is legal again. You will need to report the modifications to your registry, along with a copy of the certificate.