National Gathering June

Submitted: Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 17:58
ThreadID: 32486 Views:1831 Replies:12 FollowUps:26
To allow for early planning who is in for a gathering 1st weekend of June camping on the banks of the Murray River not far from Mildura.

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 18:20

Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 18:20
Put me down as a definite with this one Dan.
AnswerID: 164600

Reply By: rooscoota - Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 19:11

Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 19:11
hey hey g'day

can i bring my kangawallabillibat with me ???

lifes a garden....... dig it

AnswerID: 164604

Follow Up By: Sargent Dan - Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 19:30

Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 19:30
Ok, but If it's scared of the dark leave it at home.
FollowupID: 419516

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 21:07

Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 21:07
you will need dirty harry if that thing is going
FollowupID: 419530

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 17:32

Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 17:32
It looks like a skinned leopard seal ..... yuk!!!
FollowupID: 421119

Reply By: Ole Grizzly - Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 20:29

Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 20:29
Never been to a 'gathering' before.....reckon I might bite the bullet and come along and see how the clan of 4by's enjoy each others company...cheers
AnswerID: 164617

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 21:12

Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 21:12
Could be a maybe , possibly a yes. lol
AnswerID: 164624

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 21:46

Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 21:46
Oh Sarg,

That's real tempting, I should be down around Narrandera about that time for work so how do I keep in touch with you if I can swing a couple of extra work days around Mildura. Would definately just be me and the Nissan, but it's setup for sleeping in anyway, so I feel confident in being able to catchup with more of the MOTLEY CRUE.

Regards Trevor.
AnswerID: 164634

Reply By: Des Lexic - Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 22:02

Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 22:02
How about Lake Culluleraine which is about half way between Mildura and Renmark. The Caravan Park is fairly neat and tidy and not too far from Sunset Nat Park.
Other places are Neds Corner or Lindsay Island. Not sure of camping areas upstream of Mildura. Maybe Lake Hattah. depends on numbers coming might determine site.
AnswerID: 164638

Follow Up By: Sargent Dan - Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 23:20

Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 23:20
Thank you for the suggestions Des. Lake Hattah sounds good. Looking at the map it's a short drive to the river and Murray Sunset Park. I heard the camping ground is quite large also.
FollowupID: 419558

Reply By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 07:51

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 07:51
The first weekend in June is 3rd and 4th.

The second is the QB weekend 10th, 11th and Mon 12th is an holiday. This would allow the extra day for travel.

Just a thought.
AnswerID: 164667

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 08:35

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 08:35
A birthday bash of a friend that weekend Jimbo. Part of the earlier weekend probably best for me though will be in Melbourne on the Friday evening I expect. I need a good excuse to get away somewhere between other committments.
FollowupID: 419580

Follow Up By: Sargent Dan - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 10:36

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 10:36
Thanks Jimbo.

I knew you were busy John so we planned it to fit in with you :) see you there. Just working on the best place to have it.
FollowupID: 419600

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 08:07

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 08:07
Well since I can t make the Simpson trip , this would make a good 3 day'r ro get it out of my system
AnswerID: 164674

Follow Up By: Sargent Dan - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 10:37

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 10:37
Great, looks like we've got a number interested. Take an extra day off work.
FollowupID: 419602

Reply By: Member - Darren T (VIC) - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 18:17

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 18:17
I`m in, me and the better half will be glad to tag along to our first gathering.
AnswerID: 164792

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 18:26

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 18:26
Are you going to make this official Sargent Dan and put it in the trips/gatherings? That way we can all start to make plans if we need to.
AnswerID: 164793

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Apr 07, 2006 at 07:48

Friday, Apr 07, 2006 at 07:48
can a non member do that
FollowupID: 420337

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Apr 07, 2006 at 07:59

Friday, Apr 07, 2006 at 07:59
wasnt there a another post after this one where Sarg asked for some one to post in members trip/gatherings? cant find it now
i'm keeping my eye on it as i hoping....no no no trying to win some brownie points
FollowupID: 420338

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Apr 07, 2006 at 17:50

Friday, Apr 07, 2006 at 17:50
Well it appears that Sargent Dan got moderated on this. Apparently non members are not allowed to use the forum to arrange trips.
FollowupID: 420495

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Apr 08, 2006 at 11:53

Saturday, Apr 08, 2006 at 11:53
well have you posted it?
FollowupID: 420670

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 08, 2006 at 12:02

Saturday, Apr 08, 2006 at 12:02
Ray I don't think its a matter of non members not being allowed to arrange trips on the forum, Its trips in general applicable to all.
Thats why David spent considerable time to set up the Trips section of the site to stop filling the forum up with crap posts.

FollowupID: 420671

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Apr 08, 2006 at 19:36

Saturday, Apr 08, 2006 at 19:36
Thanks John, doesn't bother me one way or the other, I only read what sounds interesting to me or until the thread goes stale.

Nudie, you want me to post it. Where do you want the camp?
FollowupID: 420727

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Apr 08, 2006 at 21:29

Saturday, Apr 08, 2006 at 21:29
yaeh ..you do it
but if I recall from the post that was deleted Lake Hattah is dry....will that be a good spot? might be a good idea to confer with Des lexic
a bit of late evening early morning fishing wouldnt go astray
FollowupID: 420766

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Apr 08, 2006 at 21:38

Saturday, Apr 08, 2006 at 21:38
Hattah was dry as a bone last time I was there two years ago. Ten years ago all I could catch was carp as big as a bus. What about that other Lake mentioned..Collaraine or something was it...never been....wonder if there's any fish there.
FollowupID: 420771

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Apr 08, 2006 at 21:52

Saturday, Apr 08, 2006 at 21:52
also the other post that was deleted mentioned something about try to tie it in with school holidays...worth checking out prior to posting to members trips?

some may prefer the extra day
FollowupID: 420777

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 12:47

Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 12:47
I don't think the other post has been moderated or deleted.

FollowupID: 421070

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 13:02

Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 13:02
Yep, just needs a Member to organise (???) it. As per the info box at top of this screen.

"This is a dedicated Trip System for Members to organise group Trips/Gatherings that are open to all."

FollowupID: 421072

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 13:10

Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 13:10
Paul, there was another thread deleted where Dan posted some details. I think Dan has taken his ball and gone home.
FollowupID: 421074

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 13:27

Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 13:27
You didn't scare him off did you Raymond?

What's with the shorty forty?
FollowupID: 421075

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 13:34

Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 13:34
Who me! no way

I stole the pic because I like dem v hicles
FollowupID: 421077

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 16:15

Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 16:15
yep...there was one definitely after this thread...which aint anymore

be a pity if he did
FollowupID: 421104

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 17:54

Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 17:54
mad dog...have you posted it in trips/gatherings yet?
FollowupID: 421120

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 19:33

Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 19:33
Can't see anything there. How about one of those state forest reserves along the Murrray, can take dogs then.
FollowupID: 421127

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 20:42

Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 20:42
why not refer to des lexics reply above
FollowupID: 421141

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 20:43

Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 20:43
eg
Neds Corner or Lindsay Island...and no doubt others he knows of in that area
FollowupID: 421142

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Apr 07, 2006 at 08:06

Friday, Apr 07, 2006 at 08:06
No good for us Queenslanders.... School hols are'nt till end of June.
Bit too far for a weekend trip :-(
AnswerID: 165483

Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 08:32

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 08:32
See what i mean Sarg.

David anything on YOU orginising a gathering as you hinted just before your Tassie trip, maybe you and Michelle and the rest of the EO gang could do it together :0))))

Just a thought,

AnswerID: 166602