Geehi or Tom Groggin

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 05, 2006 at 21:24
ThreadID: 32563 Views:2520 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
My wife and I will hopefully be camping a night or two at either geehi or tom groggin at some stage just after easter. From what I have learnt through the forum search function Geehi sounds like a pretty good place to set up camp. Of course, the further away from the crowds we are the better. Can anybody suggest a camp site in these areas that might be suitable, and away from the most popular spots.
Mick

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Apr 05, 2006 at 21:57

Wednesday, Apr 05, 2006 at 21:57
If it's not holiday periods either should be fine. They are large areas and both are good. Geehi probably offers a little more to explore in the immediate surround with the huts.

The other alternative is to cross the Murray at Tom Groggin and turn either right and go to the Doggers Hut or left up the Davies Plain Track for a short distance to the Buckwong Ck Camping area. Both are more secluded than either of the others you mention.

The Murray crossing at Tom Groggin didn't even wet the side steps a few weeks ago.

I'll be there ANZAC Day weekend. Might see you round.

AnswerID: 165101

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 14:15

Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 14:15
"Davies Plain Track for a short distance to the Buckwong Ck Camping area"

Yup - one of our favourite spots to camp. Two areas - an upper and lower divided by the road. Plenty of room and water close by.

Luverly :)
FollowupID: 420108

Follow Up By: Member - Des - Sunday, Apr 09, 2006 at 11:18

Sunday, Apr 09, 2006 at 11:18
Buckwong Ck is pleasant, but no toilet there.

Camping on the Vic side of Tom Groggin is nowhere near as good as the NSW side.

Geehi valley is lovely. If the area by the Alpine way is too crowded, go past the Geehi hut, ford the Swampy Plains river, and try further along. Some beaut campsites there near some of the other huts (some with facilities).
FollowupID: 420843

Reply By: Darian (SA) - Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 08:51

Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 08:51
You might see a white Jackaroo towing a Campomatic in that region around then - say g'day.
AnswerID: 165174

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 14:35

Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 14:35
A new sched planned? What time slot?
"VKS737 Davies Plain Base this is Victor 632, Victor 632 over...."

21-25 April Darian, you should be able to get me on Ch 5. I dare say I'll be on Selcal Scan most of the time, and if not I'll be sitting on Ch 2.

White dual cab courier with a 9350 on the bullbar.

FollowupID: 420122

Reply By: signman - Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 14:12

Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 14:12
Don't forget your Winter Woolies!!
AnswerID: 165277

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 15:59

Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 15:59
that may be an understatement if today is anything to go by! It's bloody freezing today and snowing up the hill!!

Leroy
FollowupID: 420148

Reply By: Rod E B - Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 14:34

Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 14:34
I stayed at Geehi last year , for two days , and thoroughly enjoyed the place .

Need to take some firewood , plenty of water onsite , toilets are clean .
AnswerID: 165281

Reply By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Friday, Apr 07, 2006 at 10:00

Friday, Apr 07, 2006 at 10:00
Geehi is one of our favourite spots to camp. Lots to explore, a great view of the mountain range from your tent door. Lots of kangas and trout in the stream. Take your fishing rod. A good place to camp during the week before the hoons arrive there for the week end!
Sparky.
AnswerID: 165516

Reply By: newlux - Sunday, Apr 09, 2006 at 16:28

Sunday, Apr 09, 2006 at 16:28
Thanks for the info.

I like the sound of Buckwong Ck Camping area but i think i'll just see how this cold weather goes.

AnswerID: 165964