Re Pick This Place’ Comp

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 14:37
ThreadID: 32584 Views:2050 Replies:9 FollowUps:7
Has the ‘Pick This Place’ Comp lost it’s purpose? If…(quote): “This competition is all about YOU getting together your pics of places you have been and seeing how well the rest of US know our country,” well the photo chosen for the comp should be just that... a view, scene, landscape, ruins, building(s), landmark, a distinguished rock/tree or whatever… places where many people/viewers have actually been. It should NOT be zoomed in to a particular rock, or stone or cropped to an unidentifiable object!
Say, any old sand dune would be silly unless it was distinct in some way such as Waddy Point on Fraser Island; any walk-trail, like “10th Light Horse Memorial WA” could be taken anywhere (even in my own back yard)!
And now the current comp. pic in particular! This is not a ‘place’, it’s an ‘event’ or a ‘happening’, and it could have been anywhere on the Aust. coast in the past month of wild weather. Or it could be just ‘sea-foam’ from any old king-tide… to a remote inland river beginning to flow, which few people would be lucky to experience.
Stuff like this makes the comp very boring & frustrating causing people to enter rubbish!
INMO it is not at all a fair subject and unless I am rudely mistaken, it is nothing to do with how well we know our country. It’s just a wild ‘guess what this is’ guessing game.
Why not stick with fair dinkum pix of our countryside as we ‘think’ we know it and be fair to all, not just the well travelled!
Anyone else of the same opinion? Or am I just having a bad day?

Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 14:51

Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 14:51
Methinks you are risking the wrath of the Gods:))
AnswerID: 165284

Follow Up By: Member - william J (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 14:58

Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 14:58
I totally agree, bring back some pretty places so we can enjoy & arrange trips to visit.
FollowupID: 420132

Reply By: Atropos - Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 15:20

Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 15:20
I must admit that the current comp picture looks like something growing on a long lost hunk of cheese.....

john
AnswerID: 165289

Reply By: Scoey (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 16:10

Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 16:10
Have you submitted some photo's for the comp JJ? It could be that they are just running out of the "easier" ones (or just running out of stubby cooloers! haha!)? Two out of the last five were guessed within 10 guesses! I would say that's more frustrating!

I guess what someone might guess straight away - others might never guess and that is why it's a competition. I'd just chill out and wait for the next pic! ;-)

Just my 2c but!

Scoey!
AnswerID: 165302

Follow Up By: The Bigfella - Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 16:35

Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 16:35
Must agree. If they were being guessed every 5 guesses then they would be BORING. I think the whole concept is great. Keeps you thinking - Do I know where that is? Have I been there?
This one has me. I am sure it is near The Pinnacles in WA as I drove past a mud type pool while I was over there and can't think of the name of it. Then I am probably way off the mark.
Keep up the good work guys and keep us guessing.
The Bigfella
FollowupID: 420153

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 17:19

Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 17:19
Me thinks JJ should put the prizes up out of his pocket then he can make the rules. Otherwise keep guessing like the rest of us and enjoy the hunt.
This one is a bit like playing I spy with my 5yr old sister many years back (she could not pronounce the letter S), we were all trying to guess something that started with T. the answer turned out to be Ticker... meant to be the rego Ticker on the windscreen.... FRUSTRATING but funny when we found out what it was.
Maybe you'll feel the same when someone guesses this current photo.

Regards Trevor.
AnswerID: 165319

Reply By: Wombat - Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 17:34

Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 17:34
I think the current pic' could be the Sea of Tranquility on the Moon.
AnswerID: 165326

Follow Up By: Member - Jay Gee (WA) - Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 19:56

Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 19:56
No - tried to enter that - but "moon" is not an option under the list of states.
FollowupID: 420231

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Apr 07, 2006 at 16:49

Friday, Apr 07, 2006 at 16:49
Geez Chrispy everyone knows that Tranquility is a state.
FollowupID: 420475

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Apr 07, 2006 at 16:52

Friday, Apr 07, 2006 at 16:52
Ooops sorry Jay Gee, I saw the Defender rig pic and instinctively thought it was Mr Omaroo.
FollowupID: 420478

Reply By: Member - Jay Gee (WA) - Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 17:47

Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 17:47
No use making the contest too easy. If a picture get's guessed in an hour it must be too easy. I reckon the life of a picture should be at least one to three days. Maybe one than a week is getting a bit tough. I see nothing wrong - for instance - with zooming into a small part of an otherwise well known landmark.
AnswerID: 165329

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 19:50

Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 19:50
Jay Gee,

Your not trying to give a clue here are you??
I need all the help I can get on this one. There's only been one photo I recognise so far and that's the one I sent in :-)))

Regards Trevor.
FollowupID: 420225

Follow Up By: Member - Jay Gee (WA) - Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 19:55

Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 19:55
No - can't even work out what bigger picture it could be part of.
FollowupID: 420229

Reply By: Member - TPM (SA) - Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 20:21

Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 20:21
I think you are having a bad day, though this is a really difficult photo.

Its a choice you play or you dont , the prizes come from davids pocket , he hands out alot of free stuff on this comp. David has posted other difficult shots and some were from travel notes.

I am enjoying some of the funny attempts !

AnswerID: 165373

Reply By: Happy Little Camper - Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 20:40

Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 20:40
Most of these pics for some reason comes from WA does say something or what....Ill let the more intelligent people work that one out!
AnswerID: 165382

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 23:04

Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 23:04
"a view, scene, landscape, ruins, building(s), landmark, a distinguished rock/tree or whatever…" If the photo is of a general area or landmark as you suggest there would be a new photo to pick ever 15 minutes. The concept is great as it is, an obscure shot to start, a clue to which state followed by a more general photo which seems to always give it away. Gives people time to look in books, check old photo's & ask friends what it may be before a new place comes up. With so many well travelled people on ExOz you've got to make it hard :-)
Cheers Craig...........
AnswerID: 165438