Role Reversal

Submitted: Friday, Apr 07, 2006 at 17:14
ThreadID: 32647 Views:1711 Replies:3 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
Hi Everyone,

Well I took what I thought was an early retirement today and finished with the ambulance service after 25 years. I was in a very senior position and after a lot of thinking, my wife and I decided that it was time to get out. I was pretty tired of all of the politics in the job and I was also physically tired as well. I was working 60 to 70 hours a week plus being on call for emergent situations 24x7, so after a lot of years of this I have had enough. Always will love the job though.

I have been fortunate enough to be in a position to get out at 46 and our plan was to do some serious travel both in Australia and abroad, but you know what they say about the best plans.

So along comes our two sons who are electricians by trade and have a very good business operating which is going through some expansion at present, and they have asked me to do some work for them. I can't say no as I am really keen to help them out but I must admit it is going to seem funny after Easter when I start working for them both.

I reckon they will get their revenge for all of those things that happen when kids are growing up.

I know bugger all about electrical so you never know they may get rid of me under the new Industrial Relations laws. Which reminds me maybe I will have to negotiate a workplace agreement with them. That should be good??? Apparently I will be doing most of their office based work and helping out with ordering gear etc.

To be honest even though we were really looking forward to some travel etc immediately which is now on hold for a bit, I am pretty excited about doing this with the boys. It just shows you though, you never know what is around the corner.

If we are lucky I think we will grab a week on Moreton Island before I start with them.

Have a good weekend.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator