ALDI alert - Portable GPS Navigator $699.00

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 14:45
ThreadID: 32792 Views:2646 Replies:7 FollowUps:10
Looks OK

# Latest Co-Pilot mapping
# Full Pocket PC function including calendar, contacts, file explorer, Internet browser, Pocket Excel, Pocket Word, voice recorder, tasks and notes with desktop synchronisation
# Latest Microsoft Windows Mobile(TM) 5.0 operating software
# Bluetooth
# Powerful 416MHz processor
# Latest SiRF III in-built GPS receiver with a tilt and swivel antenna for speedy connection
# MP3
# 3.5" brilliant transflective screen
# 128MB Flash ROM
# 64MB SDRAM
# 256MB SD card (with pre-loaded maps)
# Desktop trip planning software
# Front mounted speaker for clearer voice directions
# 1300mAh removable/rechargeable Li-ion battery
# Includes: power mounting system with suction cup base, 12V in-car charger, 240V charger, protective carry case

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 16:09

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 16:09
Already got a mypal 636.
Not for $699.00 though.
AnswerID: 166460

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 16:42

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 16:42
Oh well, somebody has to play devil's advocate. Be careful guys

Review

Don't know if it's the same model but I doubt Aldi will have any in x months time if you run into problems.

Damn, I was starting to get interested in it as well.

AnswerID: 166470

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 17:22

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 17:22
That's one thing about Aldi - they don't muck around with failed gear and they are known for it. I have every confidence that they'd treat you right in a warranty situation - with no questions asked.
FollowupID: 421345

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 17:36

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 17:36
Yeah, I was'nt having a go at Aldi by any means. They occasionally sell the same type of gear 12 months or so later depending on the previous uptake. But they don't stock them as regular lines so you are unlikely to get a replacement from them in the short term.

FollowupID: 421346

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 17:47

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 17:47
Yeah - I know where you're coming from Gramps. That's true.

However - I bought a TV tuner card for my PC from them. Cheap as chips at $60. Ran like a beauty ... until it carked it about a month later. I took it back with the reciept and they took it back. They didn't have any in stock so the manager sourced another similar one from a computer store nearby for us. All we had to do was to go back into the store to pick that one up a couple of days later. I don't know whether this is company policy - but it was duty-manager policy at our local store.
FollowupID: 421350

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 00:55

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 00:55
wit
Mate, if all retailers provided service like that the world would stop. We'd have nothing to bitch about :)))))

Good to hear another example of what customer service is supposed to be about.

FollowupID: 421490

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 00:55

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 00:55
Mate, if all retailers provided service like that the world would stop. We'd have nothing to bitch about :)))))

Good to hear another example of what customer service is supposed to be about.

FollowupID: 421491

Reply By: hopscotch - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 17:01

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 17:01
Hi Guys,

Don't know about this unit but I purchased a Medion laptop from Aldi about two years ago. It was almost $1500 cheaper than any comparable unit from say Asus or Compac. I was a little concerned when it failed after two days but I must say that the service I received from Medion was great. They actually sent me a totally new replacement by o/nite transport once they had established that it was the hard drive which failed.
The replacement machine has been across the top and back and works like a dream. The approach by Medion was to establish a foothold in the Australian market and since they are also a German based company what better way. Incidentally they sold 10000 in two days across Australia.
I would be quite happy going again if I understood what was involved with these units

Kevin J
AnswerID: 166476

Follow Up By: macca172 - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 18:32

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 18:32
Guys,

Im going to tour Aussie starting March 07, will be away for about 4 months. My question being, would this ALDI GPS unit be suitable for my needs on the trip?

Macca
FollowupID: 421364

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 19:57

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 19:57
Macca,

The co-pilot maps that this unit uses are also standard on my Acer and they do cover pretty much all towns in Aus. but don't expect forestry tracks or desert tracks ect. For more remote forestry or desert regions you would need to see if the PDA would support ozi-explorer or similar software and run desert maps ect through this program.

Regards Trevor.
FollowupID: 421397

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 19:09

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 19:09
My brother-in-law has bought a few electronic items from Aldi, has had a couple of warranty claims and says the customer service is second to none... Just don't buy their fish... I wont go into why publicly just trust me on this one...
AnswerID: 166508

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 20:34

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 20:34
And their Hot Dogs taste like the cat I ran over last night. Thier Hot Dog Rolls however are excellent, as is their Tasty Cheese.

They've got a good "oven" chip tray as well.

Their LOL (Leg of Lamb) is as good as you'll get.
FollowupID: 421412

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 20:39

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 20:39
The best thing in the store is their German Moser-Roth chocolate bars. They put Lindt to shame - and, dare I say it - Cadbury Milk Chocolate....... :(
FollowupID: 421416

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 20:39

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 20:39
I have bought a few electronic things from Aldi and they all seem up to par with similar stuff from Kmart, BigW etc....The VCR/DVD recorder died after about a year and there was no problems even though it was technically out of warranty they offered me a refund or replacement, I took the replacement & it has worked well... I would be downloading the preloaded maps to my laptop or PC as a backup copy...Sensible price too....
AnswerID: 166528

Follow Up By: djrziggy - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 18:07

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 18:07
there is a bit of debate wether it is a model 632 or a 636, the 636 has wi fi the 632 has an extra mini sd card slot. the maps are stored on an sd disk. To buy this program alone is $400 so it seems a good price for the package.
Also youi can add other programmes such oziexplorer
Darren
FollowupID: 421660

Reply By: mauricem - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 19:14

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 19:14
definitely a 632, after some effort I finally spoke to an aldi rep who confirmed the model. I was curious if it had the same satisfaction guarantee (90 days return full credit no questions asked! ) that the notebooks do but unfortunately not.

If anyone is interested in tech specs I was advised to ring this number 1300278788

AnswerID: 166749

Reply By: BruSav - Monday, Apr 17, 2006 at 15:35

Monday, Apr 17, 2006 at 15:35
Co-Pilot works very well on my Acer N35 PDA with external GPS receiver. Also handy is the Co-Pilot CD installed on PC for trip planning etc and the update downloads work fine. Used the N35 Dec 05 for trip Bris - Tassie return and no complaints about its accuracy.
I paid $770 for the Acer N35, including external GPS receiver, suction mounted PDA cradle, 240/12 v charger etc. I suggest the external GPS receiver is the go for uninterrupted signal and it just needs to sit at the bottom of your windscreen and I found no need to attach to vehicle roof (magnet base). The Aldi unit appears to be minus the external GPS receiver, so be mindful of that if you want to receive full strength satellite signal.
AnswerID: 167362