quickest way to Arkaroola

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 20:32
ThreadID: 32804 Views:1761 Replies:15 FollowUps:15
Hi guys, just enquiring about the quickest/shortest way ro Arkaroola ....
Thanks!

Luca

Reply By: Member - Dedalus (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 20:33

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 20:33
.. to arkaroola .... sorry :-))
AnswerID: 166526

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 20:40

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 20:40
From Where, if I may be so bold as to ask?
FollowupID: 421420

Reply By: Member - Dedalus (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 20:41

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 20:41
Ops .... from Adelaide ...
AnswerID: 166529

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 23:29

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 23:29
Just used my GPS and shortest way 587klm is to Yunta and straight up from there. I toowed a caravan on that road back in 1971 in a 6cyl Torana

FollowupID: 421487

Reply By: Member - Prickle (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 20:48

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 20:48
Luca,
If it were me and in a hurry to get there, straight up the black top, I think it is Stirling North, then up to Copley, across the Gorge along the bottom of the Gammons then up to Arkaroola.

Far bit of bitumen, so you can maintain your speed.

Off the top of my head, so if you have a map you will be able to work out what I am saying.

enjoy
Russ

Life-often hell but never boring.

AnswerID: 166532

Follow Up By: Member - Dedalus (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 21:08

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 21:08
Thanks!
FollowupID: 421432

Reply By: Leroy - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 20:52

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 20:52
plane would be quickest......

Leroy....could resist!
AnswerID: 166534

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY VIC) - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 13:04

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 13:04
Gday Leroy
Rental vehicles are much faster than planes

FollowupID: 421570

Reply By: Blackie - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 20:57

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 20:57
Via Clare, Burra or Crystal Brook the differences are minimal. I'd go one way come home another. The Burra or Clare options could be less busy.
AnswerID: 166536

Follow Up By: Member - Dedalus (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 21:11

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 21:11
Thanks! What about go to Yunta on the Barried HYW and then up to north ...
FollowupID: 421433

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 22:37

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 22:37
Yep thats ok too, but certainly not the quickest.
As said , up to Copley and across is your quickest

Cheers pesty
FollowupID: 421467

Reply By: GREENDOG - Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 22:24

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 22:24
If it was me i'd go straight up the guts,that being Adel,Jamestown,Orroroo,Hawker,Copely then straight across to Arkaroola,have fun,cheer's GREENDOG
AnswerID: 166556

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 05:25

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 05:25
Please remember that.....
When driving quickly to a place beyond your comfort zone.....
To be alert and to take good care.......
So that you don't come out on the other side......
AnswerID: 166584

Follow Up By: Member - Dedalus (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 08:01

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 08:01
Thanks for that! I'm a professional tour guide on Kangaroo Island ....
FollowupID: 421514

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 12:09

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 12:09
Now that you mention that....did you buy a Troopy Arkana from Alice Springs a year or so ago? My mate sold his to someone on KI
FollowupID: 421554

Follow Up By: Member - Dedalus (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:05

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:05
No, but I know whete it is .... I think "Sun & Surf Tours" bought it .... I see it every days driving like a crazy whit a dozzen of german/canadian/danish girls on board ....
FollowupID: 421709

Follow Up By: Steve - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:28

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:28
really? What's the colour and rego of the car?
FollowupID: 421730

Follow Up By: Member - Dedalus (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 22:06

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 22:06
white car .... just follow the oil mark left on the black top .....
FollowupID: 421743

Reply By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 08:06

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 08:06
Clare, Spalding, Jamestown, Orroroo, Carrieton, Cradock, Hawker, Wilpena (all bitumen to here), then dirt to Oraparina, Wirrealpa, Wertaloona, Balcanoona, Akaroola.....is definetly fastest way if dry

if very wet east side of ranges get to hawker then take west side of ranges on up to leigh creek- copley and then dirt across to balcanoona is probably better drive (but not neccessarily quickest)
AnswerID: 166595

Reply By: Russel & Mary - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 08:26

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 08:26
I was in Dublin and I asked a local, "what's the quickest way to County Cork?"
He said "are you driving or walking?" I said "driving" he said "then driving is the quickest". Rus.
AnswerID: 166601

Reply By: Taize - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 11:46

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 11:46
When I was at Arkaroola last year I asked one of the "locals" which way they went back to Adelaide. Apparently the Yunta route is longer but about an hour quicker. The dirt road between Arkaroola and Yunta was in great condition Oct last year - we were easily able to sit on 110 towing a trailer.
AnswerID: 166632

Reply By: Dean (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 11:57

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 11:57
Gday Dedalus,
Have been both ways as already mentioned, I reckon thru Wilpena was possibly a bit quicker.
I read earlier that you are planning only 3 days total for this trip, absolutely no question that your'e a professional tour guide.
Dean
AnswerID: 166636

Follow Up By: Member - Dedalus (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:08

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:08
yep ... I'm not going there on tour .... I have to go for an interwiew .... 1 day to go there, 1 day to look around and 1 day to go back .... no whife ... no kids ....
FollowupID: 421713

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 15:07

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 15:07
via Yunta is usually quicker - fewer towns/ stops/ curves etc. A bit depends on how fast you travel on the gravel north of Yunta - its a well graded gravel road.
AnswerID: 166688

Reply By: foxtel - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 19:42

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 19:42
Chopper
AnswerID: 166752

Reply By: Member - Dedalus (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:09

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:09
Thanks all for the handy suggestions!!

Luca
AnswerID: 166781

Reply By: Dave198 - Friday, Apr 14, 2006 at 01:14

Friday, Apr 14, 2006 at 01:14
G'day Luca, I am also a tour guide, and reckon about 4 hours from Adelaide to Yunta, then about another 4 to Arkaroola. Generally the road to Arkaroola is pretty good and for the most part is straight so pretty easy driving. No fuel after Yunta though. Thats the way I would go. Done it many times.
AnswerID: 166958

Follow Up By: Member - Dedalus (SA) - Friday, Apr 14, 2006 at 09:33

Friday, Apr 14, 2006 at 09:33
Thanks! Where are you working if I can ask ....

Luca
FollowupID: 421994

Follow Up By: Dave198 - Friday, Apr 14, 2006 at 09:42

Friday, Apr 14, 2006 at 09:42
Broken Hill Luca, and I go to the Flinders quite regularly. Mostly Wilpena, Hawker Blinman etc and occasionally to Arkaroola.
Usually go up the Arkaroola rd to the Martins Wells turnoff then into Wilpena from there.
FollowupID: 421996

Follow Up By: Member - Dedalus (SA) - Friday, Apr 14, 2006 at 19:35

Friday, Apr 14, 2006 at 19:35
Hi Dave,
what about pression on your tyres t between Yunta to Arkaroola? I'm running new ATR Cooper 265/75 R 16 on landcruiser GXL 80 series ... I was thinking around 30 - 32 psi ???
For witch company you are working if I can ask???
I'm working for APT/KIOdysseys

Luca
FollowupID: 422061