Nissan Dealer - HOPELESS!!

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 14:26
ThreadID: 32827 Views:3038 Replies:16 FollowUps:18
Gday Folks,
Have a story about a Sydney metro Nissan dealer. Went to buy a new 4.2TD STL at the start of the year. Spoke to the SALES MANAGER who told me I can't take a test drive because there were none in stock however would get in touch with Nissan and organise for one to be sent around to the dealer for a drive. Waited a week and no call. Rang the sales manager who told me Nissan had none in stock and if I wait a few weeks he could get one in. Still waiting 3 months down the track for a call from the sales manager. HOPELESS!!
In the meantime bought a STL 4.2TD second hand with 50K on the clock. Less than two years old with heaps of accessories and immaculate condition (the only thing missing is diff locks but I will fix that soon) anyway it wouldnt start on the weekend. It would crank over but not fire up. I had the car towed to the same dealer as mentioned about because they are 5 minutes from home. So from Saturday to Wednedsay I have not had a car. They still havent found the fault because they are busy with booked in cars and won't look at mine until those cars are finished for the day so they look at it for about 1 hour each day trying to find the fault.(I would have booked it in if I new it was going to breakdown!)

I ask about a loan car. Yes I can have one, but I have to pay for it!! So tomorrow the bleep is going to hit the fan if they haven't fixed the beast and/or if they won't provide a replacement for the long weekend free of charge. Wait and see if I get away over the long weekend.

Can anyone guess or want to know what Sydney Nissan dealer it is? should we shame those who give crap customer service

Reply By: DavidT - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 14:33

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 14:33
Who might that BE?????????????????????
AnswerID: 166673

Reply By: AdlelaideGeorge - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 14:41

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 14:41
In most states the truth and (I believe) public interest is a complete defence - is what you are going to publish the truth and is it in the public interest to publish it?
If you judge it is then - publish and be damned!
AnswerID: 166678

Reply By: Scubaroo - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 14:47

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 14:47
Lack of new Patrols in stock at Nissan dealers seems to be a recurring theme lately...
AnswerID: 166679

Reply By: Fusion - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 14:56

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 14:56
I can't stand any Nissan dealer I've ever dealt with either. But I don't know that they owe you a loaner or temp replacement vehicle because yours broke down. They didn't sell it to you, (not that they'd do anything for you if they did) so I'm not sure what you expect?

Should they drop everything to work on your car & not finish the booked in vehicles? Then we'd have someone complaining their booked in vehicle wasn't ready, and I've had that happen at Nissan.

So while I agree that Nissan dealers (in my experience) are hopeless, I don't see this as a fair example of that.

Aaron.
AnswerID: 166683

Follow Up By: KSV - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 17:18

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 17:18
I recon you are wrong. He (original poster) said that the car has 50k and less then 2 y.o. So it still on the warranty. In this circumstances I would expect them to give me a car for free it they can not fix it in 1-2 days.
FollowupID: 421641

Follow Up By: Fusion - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 17:32

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 17:32
Good point about still under warranty, I should have realised it was under warranty, but didn't.

That changes the equation quite a bit. And although I would like a loan car when I take my car in for warranty work, I know it's probably never going to happen, so there is no use being mad about it :)

Aaron.
FollowupID: 421648

Follow Up By: KSV - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 17:53

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 17:53
I been given one by Holden dealer (frankly worst dealership what I was dealing with) in replacement of my almost brand new Commodore SS (frankly my worst car ever; no Commodores in my driveway anymore :-) ) after making **MUCH** noise. I was planning long drive holiday and drove this rental car from Melbourne to Townswille and back (about 9.5k) and paid only for petrol (well, actually my company did :-) )
FollowupID: 421653

Reply By: CHRIS UREN - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 15:05

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 15:05
Just playing devils advocate, but what would your attitude be if you had booked your car in for a service/repair and it got put on the back burner so the dealer could diagnose and repair a car that had been towed in un-announced?
AnswerID: 166687

Follow Up By: bigmal - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 15:11

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 15:11
Fair point. I know I am being demanding. However the time it takes to get repaired is only half the issue. Being covered by warranty I would have expected a loan car free of charge if they are going to have the car for a few days or what possibly looks like over a week. Its been serviced by Nissan since new and there was every intention of going to that dealer and having that continued. (bought the car in VIC, live in Sydney)

Its those customer service initiatives that keep people smiling and coming back.
FollowupID: 421605

Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 23:45

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 23:45
I don't agree. How many cars do you think each dealership would have if every person that came in for waranty work expected a free loan car?

An impossible expectation.

So your Nissan won't start. BOO HOO

FollowupID: 421760

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 15:34

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 15:34
Yes it seems most big and popular Nissan dealers are very very busy and occassionally short staffed. The one in ferntree gully vic has lost some staff recently I believe and lengthy waiting times or call back next week are common place occurences. What can you do about it..?? Mot much, I would think find yourself a smaller more personal mechanic who is qualified.
AnswerID: 166696

Reply By: Member - Athol (NSW, 2527) - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 15:56

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 15:56
Hi bigmal,
I am currently waiting to hear from the Dept of Fair Trading , about a Nissan dealer in Sydney who refuses to do repairs to paintwork on tub caused by incorrect fitting of tray liner.
I've keep quiet about it so far pending results from D.O.F.T. hearing.

mmm!!!! wonder if they are the same.

without giving names are they towords central Sydney?

Athol
AnswerID: 166701

Reply By: bigmal - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 16:07

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 16:07
I am going to with hold further judgement a little longer. I have taken another tack and going through people I know in the industry and it seems to be working. I am nowhere near as bleep now, and I am actually getting communication as to whats happening.
I have the service manager and foreman and a few techs at the dealer working on the car now and they think its come down to a multiplex system malfunction due to the accessories fitted to the car incorrectly through a superjunction of the multiplex system.
From what I have been told it sounds like they have half the car pulled apart because its right at the junction at the firewall.

We have action... and it might come down to an issue between ARB and Nissan as to who will foot the bill. All accessories fitted have been done by ARB that is if thats the problem. Does anyone know what type of warranty ARB provide. I wonder if it only covers the person who paid the bill because that person sold the car to me.. or is it a flat 2 year etc.. warranty??
AnswerID: 166703

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 17:09

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 17:09
I am sure you will be paying the bill, you can't expect the servicing dealer to fight it out with ARB.
FollowupID: 421635

Follow Up By: cabbageoz - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 20:04

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 20:04
G'Day Bigmal, when you get your jigger back could you please let me know what a superjunction of the multiplex system is. I have been in, under & around cars and trucks all my life and this sounds like the biggest pile of bullsh1t I have ever heard.
Why would they have to pull half the car apart when all they have to do is pull a plug apart. The whole thing is probably just a crook earth connection at the ecu.
FollowupID: 421690

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 07:20

Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 07:20
It's where the flux capacitor plugs in
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 421776

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 16:13

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 16:13
Drove into the Mildura Nissan dealer at 4:30PM on Friday whilst on a trip, fully loaded, covered in mud with what transpired to be a leaking fuel filter lift pump. Fixed under warranty and on the road again in less than an hour. I was impressed.
AnswerID: 166706

Follow Up By: brian - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 17:13

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 17:13
To be fair both nissan dealers i purchased a patrol from in 2000 and 2002 both provided loan car every service but i requested this at time of purchase,you cant expect a dealer to have a large number of loan cars sitting around,but it would be nice..
FollowupID: 421637

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 18:51

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 18:51
I won't comment on the "service" aspect. However, in 1988 when i went into a Nissan Dealer to drive a Patrol, there were several in the yard, but none to drive. They were going to ring back - still waiting for the call.

:-)
AnswerID: 166743

Reply By: macca172 - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 18:55

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 18:55
Guys,
Im currently doing the rounds of most Nissan dealers in the Sydney metro area, as I'm in the process of buying a new Nivara ST-X 2.5ltr diesel.

I would be more than interested to know of any Sydney metro Nissan dealer who is not doing the right thing.

Please feel free to email me at: bronte172@yahoo.com

Last thing I need is to be "stung" or have bad after sales service, after spending the bucks Im about to.

Macca

AnswerID: 166744

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 19:49

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 19:49
Macca,
If you but any new car from any yard in this country (or another) you can rest assured you won't walk out of that yard without being STUNG. They will get you one way or another, 5 newies in a row now so I'm beginning to understand their language.

Happy hunting.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 421685

Follow Up By: macca172 - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 20:54

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 20:54
Trev,

Agree 100%, however its the degree you get stung that hurts!

Macca
FollowupID: 421701

Reply By: FZJ 80 - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 19:55

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 19:55
Bigmal,

These are the facts.
1 Easter is nearly here, dealers are busy as hell and EVERYONE wants there car now.
2.Your car was not booked in
3. Dealers do not have hundreds of cars lying around to loan and what is availiable needs some rental charge to try and cover some costs of holding a loan fleet.
4. You will be paying the bill. If it is caused by poor workmanship from another party you will have to take it up with them. If this is the case I reccomend that you have the Nissan dealer detail exactly what caused the problem on the invoice.

Good Luck

AnswerID: 166756

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:13

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:13
>>> if they won't provide a replacement for the long weekend free of charge.

Why would they? You didnt buy the car from them, it in your own words was used.
AnswerID: 166785

Reply By: Geoff M (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 22:43

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 22:43
"I have the service manager and foreman and a few techs at the dealer working on the car now and they think its come down to a multiplex system malfunction due to the accessories fitted to the car incorrectly through a superjunction of the multiplex system."

What is that in English, even Babble Fish is snookered on that one!! If and that is a big if Nissan used a CAN Bus the CAN Bus protocol doesn't posses anything resembling a "superjunction" then there is the bit about "multiplex system" What is that?

Get the Nissan dealer to explain this to you in English. That should be seriously entertaining.

Best of luck getting someone else to pay for it!

Geoff.

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

AnswerID: 166803

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 09:23

Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 09:23
Super junction.....a point at which you have to spend all of your superannuation money to get the vehicle fixed.
Multiplex system.....lots of little computer chips all speaking different languages to each other, useful buzz words include traction control, limping home mode and warrenty ? What warrenty ?
FollowupID: 421806

Follow Up By: Nebster - Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 10:03

Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 10:03
"I have the service manager and foreman and a few techs at the dealer working on the car now and they think its come down to a multiplex system malfunction due to the accessories fitted to the car incorrectly through a superjunction of the multiplex system." means "We are not sure what the problem is either, but you will be paying dearly before you get your car back- thats our Guarantee"
;D
FollowupID: 421821

Follow Up By: OLDMAGPIE - Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 17:27

Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 17:27
didnt multiplex build wembley stadium?cheers
FollowupID: 421897

Reply By: Leroy - Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 12:04

Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 12:04
Bigmal,

Interested to know how you went?

Leroy
AnswerID: 167775

Reply By: bigmal - Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 12:20

Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 12:20
Follow up. Nissan had the car on the road Thurdsay afternoon just in time for the long weekend which was great. Basically when all the accessories and associated wiring were fitted by ARB they believe that someone has put a drill through one of the wiring junctions near the firewall. (I will dig up the actualy terminology tonight.) Anyway, it took them a while to find the problem which was related to wiring to the immobiliser and fuel pump hence the car not starting. Anyway, Service Manager really took care of me and charged accordingly.
AnswerID: 167781

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 12:27

Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 12:27
It's great to hear the problem got resolved. You can understand why it took a while to diagnose.

Leroy
FollowupID: 422990

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 13:51

Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 13:51
>>associated wiring were fitted by ARB they believe that someone has put a drill through one of the wiring junctions

>> Manager really took care of me and charged accordingly.

So head back to arb with the bill
FollowupID: 423000

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 14:01

Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 14:01
not being the original purchaser and prob not having a receipt you may as well forget it with ARB.

Leroy
FollowupID: 423007

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 14:14

Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 14:14
worth a try though... still their phukup
FollowupID: 423010