Another 3.0l Nissan expires.

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 20:21
ThreadID: 32839 Views:3995 Replies:12 FollowUps:37
Learnt today that a friends 3.0l. Nissan had expired a month ago. This is not second hand, his words, that they were travelling at about 90kph near Grafton, towing their boat behind when suddenly no power, heaps of smoke and no more go. Called NRMA, truck on the flat bed and boat trailer behind.

The rig was taken to a Nissan dealer where after one month a decision is still being awaited from Nissan what action will be taken.

The vehicle is the 3.0l Nissan Patrol, late 2002 build with 70,000km. The prognosis is engine blown, but indications are that no replacement will be made under warranty. (he told me tonight that Nissan claim warranty is expired) They also told him that the replacement engine will be around $20000. He told me that if this is the case and he is up for it, a used engine or other replacement will go in and then goodbye Nissan.

I asked his permission to post this and he is willing to talk about it. I think his wife is devastated, whenever I saw it in the street as she did her shopping it gleamed as if straight off the showroom floor.

No wonder I drive a Discovery!
kesh

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 20:48

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 20:48
V8 Chev Diesel from Brunswick to replace the grenade....
AnswerID: 166771

Follow Up By: kesh - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:02

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:02
Good on you Truckster, first cab off the rank.
But I do feel sorry for this friend of mine, a good bloke (shearer) salt of the earth and like so many of that ilk has trust in what he was sold. Was expecting to go up to the gulf at the end of the month for the annual fishing trip. Now stuffed.
What an end for a $50000 purchase of something you hope lasts for years.
Glad I have a toyo as well as a disco!
kesh
FollowupID: 421705

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:03

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:03
If he had a 4.2 he would still be going fishing.
FollowupID: 421708

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:05

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:05
If not going for the Chev V8 diesel conversion , Brunswick would still be worth a call as they may have a few used ZD30's in the workshop taking up valuable space.

The 3.0 have smaller gearboxes too, so that'll need to be swapped out for a 6.5 from memory.

$25K drive in / drive out is my guess. Ouchhhhhh!
FollowupID: 421710

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:12

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:12
I've just put a Brunswick Chev V8 in a 1999 Patrol. Been driving it for 5 days now and thus far I'm well pleased.

A full review will follow in a different thread along with a comparison with much loved but well stolen 100 Series GXL TD Landcruiser.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 421720

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:14

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:14
how much drive in drive out Bilbo?
what model is yours
FollowupID: 421721

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:15

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:15
Time for a class action I think.

It would be a definite winner according to a lwyer I spoke to. Plenty of precedent.

Dave O
FollowupID: 421722

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 22:27

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 22:27
3.0 is ok as it's the same as 4.2. the 2.8 is the bleep y one.

Leroy
FollowupID: 421746

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 23:30

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 23:30
Leroy said............"3.0 is ok as it's the same as 4.2."..........

Sorry mate.....not quite sure I follow your drift here????? Last time I looked there was a few differences between the 3L and the 4.2......

Please explain......

FollowupID: 421756

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 23:57

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 23:57
Roachie,
He (Leroy) wuz torkin' about the gearbox... (in response to an earlier follow-up)..

3.0 L & 4.2 have the same (manual) g'box...

Catch ya later.. Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 421765

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 00:19

Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 00:19
Truckster 'n Roachie,

I've written a long report on the Chev Nissan in a seperate thread.

Since driving the Chev,,,,,,,,,,,my sex life has improved!

Bilbo
FollowupID: 421767

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 10:37

Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 10:37
Bilbo, any chance of a breakdown on the quote for just the engine swap - without all the extras? Driev in drive out
FollowupID: 421824

Follow Up By: wheeleybin - Monday, Apr 17, 2006 at 17:12

Monday, Apr 17, 2006 at 17:12
Dont be misled with the Nissan 3LT as there is a series of them with a faulty engine and you should check out the engine number and no warranty expires with this unit and should be replaced free of charge irrespective of when it blows.
No bull there was about 150 units sold in Aus with this motor so Im told.
I ope this is one for your benefit.
Wheeley
FollowupID: 422506

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 23:51

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 23:51
Heres a better option!

CHEV 6.6LT DURAMAX DIESEL- New Motor

Chev 6.6LT 2004 model Duramax 300HP Turbo Diesel comes with alloy heads, computer, direct injection, air alternator,air cond, starter, turbo, engine displacement 402CID (6599CC) Cost $12000
12 months guarantee.

Wonder if this would fit my GU instead of the chev - Duramax 300HP V 170HP 6.5 Chev
FollowupID: 424025

Follow Up By: wheeleybin - Monday, Apr 24, 2006 at 06:29

Monday, Apr 24, 2006 at 06:29
Hi Truckster
How come its a new motor as a 2004 model.
The price is right I was looking at the 6.5 Chev new and it was $15000 at 4x4 Off Road at Archerfield Qld.
Would you say where that one is at it might be worth a look to replace my 5.8L Hino.
Wheeley
FollowupID: 424041

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Apr 24, 2006 at 08:05

Monday, Apr 24, 2006 at 08:05
Good mate of mine runs a Duramax over in Colorado. Reckons it fairly hoots. I believe there's a new 6.0l out that'll outdo it again. Where's do you get the Duramaxes from? Cheaper than a Toyota TD and commensurate with a RECON 6.5.

Here's a couple of links to check out Truckster....

Diesel Doctor

thedieselstop

The Chev 6.2 / 6.5 page appears to be cactus rootus unfortunately.

FollowupID: 424049

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Apr 24, 2006 at 13:08

Monday, Apr 24, 2006 at 13:08
Wheely.
It would be superseeded motor. You can buy 1HZs from toyota new in crate that are old stock.

Another of interest but small and high stressed compared.

The C320 CDI comes with a brand-new 3-litre V6 motor with intercooler and variable nozzle turbines to replace the outgoing 2.7-litre 5-cylinder, and it proves to be quite a revelation.

Torque, as expected, is absolutely seamless, with 400 Nm - approximately 80% of the maximum - on call from as low as 1 200 to 1 400 r/min.

Maximum power is 165 kW, while max. torque is 510 Nm from 1 600 to 2 800 r/min.

V8Diesel
www.suburbanimports.com.au/motors.htm

CHEV 6.6LT DURAMAX DIESEL- Good used Motor.
Chev 6.6LT 2003 model Duramax 300HP Turbo Diesel comes with alloy heads, computer, power steer, direct injection, air conditioning, alternator, starter, turbo, engine displacement 402CID (6599CC) Cost $8000 #190. 6 months guarantee.

Another that would be nice is

CHEV 4.3 LT- 262 V6 New Fuel Injected Motor.
Comes with Vortec injection, electronic distributor, drive plate, exhaust manifolds, balancer Cost $4950 #A134. 12 months guarantee. 100% new

or

CHEV ZZ 502CI- New Motor. 100% new
Chevrolet ZZ 502CI Motor. Comes with Holley Carberettor, HEI Distributor, leads, Performance Alloy intake, alloy heads, water pump, harmonic balancer, flex plate, 4 Bolt, steel crank, forged pistons, forged rods, drive plate. Cost $14050 #512C.Horsepower 502 @ 5200rpm, Torque 567ft lbs @ 4200rpm, compression 9.6:1. 12 months guarantee.
FollowupID: 424083

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Apr 24, 2006 at 13:09

Monday, Apr 24, 2006 at 13:09
PS..
got this from OL today from Jason.

Narre Warren
3805 (03) 8790 3262

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 20:47

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 20:47
Truckster,
You'll find the duramax won't fit into the GU without and absolute bleep e load of problems if at all, already been through that excersize with a near new one sitting on a shelf and us with a tape measure.
6.5 rear mount turbo sitting beside it was enough trouble with the turbo not clearing the firewall, the 6.6ltr max with all the extra crap hanging of it had no chance.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 425061

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 23:17

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 23:17
Apparently you CAN fit the rear moutn turbo model in the Patrol... but it causes temp issues... :(

the duramax, shows what can be done with a diesel - COME ON NISSAN! 5ltr V8 with 200kw, and 800Nm...
then in 10 yrs time I could afford one :(
FollowupID: 425087

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 00:11

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 00:11
A while back the Brunswick boys were experimenting with some specific type of underbonnet supercharger as the turbo has historically had a few issues. I was led to believe these blower units had proven themselves in marine applications and showed some promise. Haven't heard anything since, so maybe that idea got canned. A supercharger would seem to be a natural choice for 4x4 applications, as they produce torque at idle and the V configuration of the Chev bent 8 would contribute to a compact, neat and mechanically simple powerplant.

The top line rebuilt N/A 6.5 V8 motor you get from Brunswick these days is built to 'turbo spec' with the big valves and all, so you can go the N/A for starters and then upgrade later.

I'd be tempted to go stock standard N/A 6.5, then when the bank balance recovers consider adding LPG. Sounds like a win / win scenario. I'd end up with the 4x4 that someone should have built then.
FollowupID: 425091

Follow Up By: wheeleybin - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 08:04

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 08:04
Its an expensive trip overall and looking specifically at the diesel gas my 3.1T Isuzu would cost $4800 to install it and then buy gas at around 60c/L without taxes for now is good but when they tax it the benefit will substantially reduce.

I opted for a Boost Cooler which I fitted and dyno tested for under $1000 and lifted the HP from 74.3 to 95.1 at the back wheels with a manifold temp drop of 40oC.

Economy is out to 12Km per Litre running the towing power jet at 90PSI and Im yet to use the Small economy jet and 50PSI to test if better.

It runs water/methanol mix and the increase in economy costs $4 for methanol and the same extra Kls in gas would be about $8 with diesel about $18.

It will work out around 5L of methanol per 1000Kms and the only problem I see is the availability of methanol whereas gas is widespread.

With the advent of the Smart Fuel Cell which runs on methanol and produces 100A of 12V in 24 hours it just may mean a combination of Boost Cooler and Fuel cell will mean a fuel tank on board and assist economy and camping power in one go.
Might as well blow the budget completely and throw $5500 at the fuel cell.

Wheeley
FollowupID: 425106

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 17:53

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 17:53
I said only the duramax won't fit without a lot of problems, yes the rear mount turbo will fit with
A: a 1" body lift, hard to do legally with airbags in some states, esp. QLD
B: different eng mounts to the n/a that move the motor forward a little. Marks were working on these 12 months ago, not sure if demand was good enough to make them viable.
I agree with you Truckster that the max is an example of what can be done, the japs should be able to give us a 300hp 5 ltr V8 diesel without any trouble, Unfortunately I won't hold my breath waiting.
As for the blower, the same guy that had the two abovementioned engines on the shelf fitted one (not sure of size, somewhere round a 4:71 roots type ) to a 6.5 that he put into a chev 2500 pickup. The thing went really well, pulled like a absolute train off idle and just kept pulling, far better than turbo version I drove in a suburban and made the n/a version he had in a GQ feel like a slug. Only problem he reckons is no-one makes a mounting manifold and other assosciated hardware,ie. pully's, air intakes etc. so he had to hand make one which was in his words " an absolute bloody nightmare, and I'll never do another one!"

Avagoodn
Pezza

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 425211

Follow Up By: wheeleybin - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 18:05

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 18:05
When will the Japs build a V8 Diesel???????

Im under the impression that the 6.6 Duramax is built by Isuzu to replace the ageing Chev diesels.
Wheeley
FollowupID: 425216

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 21:44

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 21:44
Pezza, sit urprises me that it would be such a big task. Building it all by hand would be nightmare alright, but a bit of time doing the rounds of the performance car folks would surely reap rewards.

The Detroit GM blowers are standard fare on drag cars (4:71, 6:71) and there are countless manifolds available manuafctured by Edlebrock, Weiand, B&M etc to suit. If one is not a straight bolt up eg: 396, 427, 454 Chev BB, surely the V8 diesel's single plane intake manifold would be a good candidate for a visit to the milling machine. Do the same to the blower one and hit the Tig bench.

There are also a vast variety of belt options too. An extended snout with a direct to crank mounted Gilmer belt to drive the supercharger, then a serpentine belt for the rest. As for intake, a big mumma Donaldson would be the go or something from a comparable displacement truck.I would have thought head gaskets would have been more of the problem.

As for the Japs, Australians for some reason seems to accept the most anaemic and slovenly diesels in the world. They are slow, underpowered for the job and have poor fuel economy. Go for drive in a current US built V8 oiler. Be amazed. Fuel it up at the end of a day and be even more amazed (in a GOOD way!)
FollowupID: 425290

Reply By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:05

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:05
Starting to rebuild them now.
Around the $6000.00 mark.
Everything available and not a bad job. Just a pain to remove the damn thing.
Where are you from?
Might be cheaper to freight the thing back to your home town and get a reputable mechanic to rebuild it.
Sorry to hear about your woes but unfortunately it is well known and Nissan had to draw the line somewhere.
AnswerID: 166779

Reply By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:22

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 21:22
May be completely off track, I don't recall any of the engines that I know of that failed being fitted with a DTronic or other aftermarket management system. Is it possible that something about these after market devices is preventing the failures.

Does anyone know if any of the failed engines they know of is fitted with such a device?
AnswerID: 166786

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 22:04

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 22:04
At least 2 that I know of that have blown had such a device....one was a d-tronic...the other a tunit.
FollowupID: 421742

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 22:22

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 22:22
Another theory bites the dust :-)

FollowupID: 421745

Follow Up By: sajiie - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 22:29

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 22:29
Thers's a 2002 3l gone on the Nissan Patrol forum site , had 98000 K's and fitted with a d-tronic.
FollowupID: 421748

Reply By: Member - Pud & Barb R (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 23:19

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 23:19
Hi Kesh,
All sounds too familiar. Very sorry for your friends, we know what they are going through only too well.
They were not going to pay for ours either as it has 165,000km's on it. I rang Val Davis at head office on 039797 4111 In the end we had to pay for labour - $2,704.00 Nissan paid for the rebuild. Tell them not to take any crap from the dealer.
Barb
AnswerID: 166808

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 23:33

Wednesday, Apr 12, 2006 at 23:33
Barb,

Maybe you could sell these good people the new 3L motor out of your vehicle and use the funds towards the 6.5 Chev donk????

FollowupID: 421757

Follow Up By: kesh - Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 07:44

Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 07:44
Thanks Pud & Barb.
I did read somewhere about that contact name and number but could not locate it.
Will be letting the folks know.
From what he told me last night is that Nissan are in denial that there is a problem with these engines. It also has had all services carried out by the Nissan dealer they bought it from, where it has been for the last month since destructing.
What a joke.
cheers kesh

FollowupID: 421784

Follow Up By: Member - Pud & Barb R (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 07:56

Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 07:56
Hi Kesh,
Hubby is awake now and just read your thread, if your mate is interested he can buy ours for $6,000 This price includes from the radiator to the fly wheel. Has about 1,000km's on it since rebuild. He'd have plenty of spare parts to make money on.Radiator$$$$$$$, injector pump$$$$$, intercooler$$$$$$, head$$$$$$$$ and for your block it's just a throw away.
Pud and Barb.
PS Test drive today
Pud
FollowupID: 421785

Follow Up By: kesh - Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 08:39

Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 08:39
Thanks for that Barb.
He is a shearer and at work today I will see him this evening and pass on your offer.
thanks kesh
FollowupID: 421795

Follow Up By: flappa - Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 09:46

Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 09:46
Quote: From what he told me last night is that Nissan are in denial that there is a problem with these engines. It also has had all services carried out by the Nissan dealer they bought it from, where it has been for the last month since destructing.
What a joke.
END

Thats complete and utter rubbish. Nissan knows ALL about the problems. As usual at first they deny , deny . . . standard practice.

Ring Head Office Directly (your friends I mean) . . . and dont take NO , for an answer.

Nissan are no longer replacing motors, but rebuilding them.
FollowupID: 421814

Follow Up By: kesh - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 08:14

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 08:14
Thanks Barb. I passed the info along to my friend. First off he is going to ring Melb. on Tue. and see if that will move things along
He mainly wants it going the cheapest way out then get rid of it. As it happens, he told me about another one in town which blew up last week
These things arn't grenades Truckster, they are bl@@dy time bombs.

What I didnt know until I went around to see him is that he was to be part of a local fishing trip to the Gulf leaving next week. Exploding somewhere in that area would have been a nightmare and then some.
kesh
FollowupID: 422122

Reply By: Member - Pud & Barb R (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 00:29

Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 00:29
Good idea Bill,
It's late and I'm a bit slow on it.
Barb
AnswerID: 166817

Reply By: Old Johno [NSW] - Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 16:25

Thursday, Apr 13, 2006 at 16:25
Kesh,

Tell your friend to ring Fair Trading, vehicle section. I had similar problems a while ago & they know all about it. Don't let Nissan talk them out of it.
Good Luck
AnswerID: 166905

Reply By: AJB - Friday, Apr 14, 2006 at 17:12

Friday, Apr 14, 2006 at 17:12
Kesh,
Iwent through the same thing with my GU last november. It is back on the road now with a rebuild kit. Unfortunately I had to pay the lot which was about $10,000.
What was done was a rebuild kit which is basically a short motor in parts, a new head, new clutch and fuel pump & injectors serviced. Don't know what servicing was done on those but requested it anyway. I also then had to get the AC repaired which was another $510. The labour was about $2400 so parts were expensive.
Tried to get a bit of assisstance from Nissan but given the "There is no problem with these vehicles" line from Andrew at Nissan HQ.

The GU was ff the road for about 3 months so I needed another vehicle for work. I bought a BA ford as the Nissan dealer was fairly unhelpful I my plight. Actually there service department were OK and they have done a good job on it although I have only done about 1300ks in it since.

What do you do with a busted arse nissan? Sell it as a wreck or repair it. I chose to repair it and now it is used as a 3rd car. I have the choice of driving a Patrol or a BA or a VZ so I am very lucky and the last two especially the BA are twice the car.
AnswerID: 167025

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Apr 24, 2006 at 13:10

Monday, Apr 24, 2006 at 13:10
Sell it as a wreck if its an auto to me :D for my Chev V8 Project car.

Why anyone would bother going with another handgrenade is beyond me.
FollowupID: 424085

Reply By: macca172 - Friday, Apr 14, 2006 at 20:36

Friday, Apr 14, 2006 at 20:36
Guys,

A number of years ago a guy who worked with me had a similiar problem with Toyota. Basically same old story, not under warranty, run around bla bla bla!
Anyway to keep it short, over a lunch room chat one of the guys said "why not write to Toyota HQ in Japan and tell them that Toyota Australia is shafting you"!
About 10 days later, all hell hit the fan and his car was in the local Toyota dealers workshops in a flash. new donk etc....cost...Zilch!

Macca
AnswerID: 167060

Reply By: Leroy - Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 11:57

Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 11:57
Kesh,

So did this get fixed and what was the result? ie Nissa HQ to the rescue, had to cough up for new donk etc.

Leroy
AnswerID: 167774

Follow Up By: kesh - Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 14:11

Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 14:11
Leroy, at this stage no. Mal. was going to ring the Melb. head office no. yesterday, I wont be seeing him now till the weekend for an update. The vehicle has been at the dealership from where he bought for over a month now, with no result except for Nissan to claim it was out of warranty therefore he is up for whatever cost is involved.
The dealer seemed to think that Nissan may not be coming to the party, but who knows how hard they try in representing the vehicle owner?
I think the owner believes he wont get very far, will put some sort of rebuild in it and flog it best he can. Great ad. for Nissan, eh?
I suppose I made this posting to simply make people aware that its not just the early ones vulnerable, they all are. And my gut feeling is its not the engines fault but the electronics controlling it. No diesel made will survive a combination of over fuelling/over boost, its a proven recipe for destruction and all by the doings of some electronic chip.
kesh
FollowupID: 423009

Reply By: Member - Pud & Barb R (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 23:37

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 23:37
Hi Kesh,
how did your mate go with head office? OK I hope, no way should they have to pay for a thing.
Barb
AnswerID: 168668

Follow Up By: kesh - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 14:51

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 14:51
Sorry this reply has been so long coming.
Spoke to Mal last night and Nissan are coming to the party after all. They will replace with a new engine and he pay the install cost. He has accepted this, feels that the representations by local dealer and his call to Melb. made a difference but its replacement wont be a Nissan. His previous one (also looked like new when traded) did 320000km. without drama and it was a Pajero. Expect that will be the replacement.
Still happy with my '76, s111 L/R, tdi Disco and 75series L/C !
kesh
FollowupID: 425002

Reply By: awill4x4 - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 08:46

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 08:46
V8Diesel posted this followup
A while back the Brunswick boys were experimenting with some specific type of underbonnet supercharger as the turbo has historically had a few issues. I was led to believe these blower units had proven themselves in marine applications and showed some promise. Haven't heard anything since, so maybe that idea got canned. A supercharger would seem to be a natural choice for 4x4 applications, as they produce torque at idle and the V configuration of the Chev bent 8 would contribute to a compact, neat and mechanically simple powerplant.
The top line rebuilt N/A 6.5 V8 motor you get from Brunswick these days is built to 'turbo spec' with the big valves and all, so you can go the N/A for starters and then upgrade later.
I'd be tempted to go stock standard N/A 6.5, then when the bank balance recovers consider adding LPG. Sounds like a win / win scenario. I'd end up with the 4x4 that someone should have built then.

Here's a link to a supercharged 6.5 diesel on Ebay.
supercharged 6.5
It looks very very nice but it's a marinised version and just have a look at the price they're asking. I'm sure it could be modified to suit a vehicle install but you'd really have to ask the question "is it worth it?"
Regards Andrew.

AnswerID: 169772

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 22:31

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 22:31
I wanna slap u..
FollowupID: 425298

Reply By: Bilbo - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 09:43

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 09:43
Truckster, Awill and all,

I had to go to Brunswicks yesterday to collect my truck after getting a few "adjustments" done. While I was there, there was a 100 series Toyota 'Cruiser that HAD BEEN a V8 petrol and is now a supercharged Chev V8. It looked a very neat job. It was as if it had been factory fitted. It'd also been "chopped" at the back to make VERY BIG dual cab ute. It was lifted and with all that put together it looked a MONSTER!

On behalf of Truckster, I asked Greg Jones about the prices of his 2 brand new TD42T engines that he's ripped out of HIS OWN vehicles and replaced with Chev V8s. He's asking $13,000.00 for each, These are brand spanking new with about 500kms on the clock (block?).

Mind you he did tell me that it's more difficult, messy and fiddly to fit a TD42 in 3.0 litre car than it is to put in a Chev V8. It's even worse if you want to put in a TD42 into a 2.8 car.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 169786