EL Questro/Emma Gorge/GRR

Submitted: Monday, Apr 17, 2006 at 12:04
ThreadID: 32948 Views:2318 Replies:2 FollowUps:1
Just back from a couple of nights in at Emma Gorge Resort which has only just opened up again after the cyclone last year.Still plenty of work to do in there but place looks good,60 odd tented cabins to stay in plus the resturant,pool and usual things.Never thought I spend $240/night(1/2 price for locals) to sleep in a tent but there not your normal tents.
Went into Zebadee springs for the morning yesterday(closed after 1200 noon),very nice.These are small pools of thermal water flowing over the rocks into mostly man made/dammed pools.I was expecting a big pool like Mataranka so got a shock when it was only small pools,the biggest to fit about 6 adults in.Still very nice,the kids had great fun trying to catch small fish.
In at Elq village we had lunch at the restarant then swimming at the pool below it.The water flows fast through this pool but it is full of fish(need goggles) and again we had fun chasing them.Went round to Chamberlin Gorge for a look but didnt go on the cruise(waiting for friends to come up later in year).All the 4wd tracks in the park are still closed, they are just repairing the road in now.Heaps of people about already.
Drove out to the Penticost river crossing on the GRR for a look just on dark and there was plenty of storm activity about,looked magic with the lightening flashing about the Cockburn ranges on sunset.The road from the turn off into ELQ out to the crossing was pretty washed out and slow going and the GRR is closed from the crossing on.
Didnt do any walks into gorges as it is still fairly warm and kids didnt want to.Most walks are about 1hr or more each way.We have a season pass so will head back in once the weather cools off a bit more.Looks very nice in and around there,not a bad thing to have on your back door step.
And we have now officially drove the length of the GRR as last time we turned off at the Penticost crossing and went round the river into Wyndham.I reacon the last section around the Cockburn ranges is the prettiest drive on the GRR.

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Apr 17, 2006 at 12:20

Monday, Apr 17, 2006 at 12:20
Hi Nick. We'll be up your way in 5 or 6 weeks, but don't think we'll be doing the $240 a night thing at Emma Gorge.
What is the road into El Questro like at the moment? We have a friend travelling with us for part of the trip and they hope to get their 5th Wheeler into El Questro.
AnswerID: 167344

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Monday, Apr 17, 2006 at 12:29

Monday, Apr 17, 2006 at 12:29
Gday Norm,the GRR into the turn off is smooth as,going into ELQ is quite rough in patches but they had the grader and roller on the road all weekend so they should have it back in shape soon.I think even as rough as it was on the weekend you would still get in with a 5th wheeler going easy no worries.
No,we certinaly wont be spending that on a tented cabin again,luckily we're classed as locals.
FollowupID: 422477

Reply By: samsgoneagain - Monday, Apr 17, 2006 at 18:43

Monday, Apr 17, 2006 at 18:43
no advertisements please
AnswerID: 167394