Valve clearances Patrol GU 2.8 l TD

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 18, 2006 at 17:52
ThreadID: 33001 Views:9670 Replies:3 FollowUps:6
I have a problem with compression test on the 2.8 l TD engine, the mechanic indicates some cylinders have no compression at all, he removed tappet shim from poorest cylinder, recomends adjusting tappets and cleaning carbon from valve seats would fix engine performance. Now im no rocket scientist (though im an engineer) the 2.8 l engine has hydraulic lifters hence no adjustment of valve clearances by shimming, Question - how does one restore correct valve clearances? im assuming either new lifters or cam and lifter set. getting tired of bad mechanics telling stories!!!

many thanks

Steve....

Reply By: BIG G - Tuesday, Apr 18, 2006 at 18:08

Tuesday, Apr 18, 2006 at 18:08
Mate, you'll find that the RD28TDI motor in the GU has shims to adjust the valves. The old GQ motor used hydraulic lifters. Clearance as follows-Intake 0.28-0.38/ Exhaust 0.32-0.42 all measured HOT. Hope this helps.
AnswerID: 167614

Follow Up By: ACDC - Tuesday, Apr 18, 2006 at 21:03

Tuesday, Apr 18, 2006 at 21:03
I think you will find the 2.8t/d are not adjustable being hydraulic,and the 4.2 petrol and diesel gq's are adjustable.
FollowupID: 422862

Reply By: BIG G - Tuesday, Apr 18, 2006 at 21:14

Tuesday, Apr 18, 2006 at 21:14
Yes thats right. But he has a GU Patrol, not a GQ Patrol. satellite_boy, PM me your email address and i'll send you the page from the workshop manual. G
AnswerID: 167665

Follow Up By: satellite_boy - Tuesday, Apr 18, 2006 at 21:59

Tuesday, Apr 18, 2006 at 21:59
Thanks for the follow up, though im getting confused, i have a haynes manual which indicates GU series 2.8 TD are Hydraulic and not adjustable. Email is steveowen@gmx.net

As i have also blown the stem from the radiator in the last week i believe exhaust gas is getting in the cooling system which is leading me towards a head gasket issue.

Im sure this is a justification to buy some new tools for the workshop.
FollowupID: 422883

Reply By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Apr 18, 2006 at 22:12

Tuesday, Apr 18, 2006 at 22:12
Sat Boy,

I'd forget the valve clearance solution and have a look at the head gasket. That sounds more likely.

If the valve clearance has become so reduced as to cause a lack of compression AND it's been running that way for some time, then in all likeliehood, it's burnt out the valve seats by now. So the heads gotta come off anyway.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 167684

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Apr 18, 2006 at 22:53

Tuesday, Apr 18, 2006 at 22:53
Bilbo, what sort of advice is that! Now Sat Boy, you need a new engine as the one you have is rooted! Yep. A nice Chev 6.5l V8 diesel engine transplant is the only way to go in getting your truck back on the road. Now if I only new someone that does them....

Leroy
FollowupID: 422900

Follow Up By: quicksilver103 - Tuesday, Apr 18, 2006 at 23:06

Tuesday, Apr 18, 2006 at 23:06
have 2,8td nissan with simaler problem ended being a cracked head between the last two pistons , Check water for brown/orange scum under the radatior cap and pressures on last two pistons. Then go to bank for big loan to fix it . :-)
FollowupID: 422905

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Apr 18, 2006 at 23:31

Tuesday, Apr 18, 2006 at 23:31
Yer right Leroy,

That advice was from an old diesel mechanic from years ago. Now, the advice from Nissan patrol owner with 6.5 litre Chevy in it is,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Rip the motor, gearbox and diffs out of it and bin 'em,,,,,,,and put a Chev in it. ;)

Bilbo
FollowupID: 422907

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 00:00

Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 00:00
Quicksilver,

I can vouch for the "big bank loan" to fix it. I got a real shock when I priced the parts that I wanted to sell from my 2.8 before I had the Chev put in it. These parts were repaired/fitted last November by the guy that sold the car to me. I had all the receipts for a recon head - $2,800.00, an injector pump overhaul - $1450.00, recon injectors - $80.00 each and there's 6 of 'em, a new radiator - $730.00.

Secondhand, non-recon from a wreckers, a head was asking price of $2,000.00 - with no guarantees. Then you can put labour on that at about $80.00 an hour!

2.8 gearbox from a wreckers (non-recon) was $2,300.00 'cos they sell heaps of 'em. A GQ box was $1,700.00 - 'cos they dont sell any of 'em.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 422916