Well!! i trudged the Rosehill Show today......

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 17:47
ThreadID: 33173 Views:2753 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
There was not a lot new there this year as expected. What i did look at more of was camper trailers. As im closer to 50yo than 49, I thought I might start looking around at a bit more comfort that tenting. Having said that, i have had a Jayco Dove and a smaller Finch in past years which i found really fantastic. What really took me back was some of the prices, most were around $25,000 to $30,000 and well kitted out, but i still could not see the value. I noticed there are more basic units now, I guess filling in the gap, these were just the tent and the trailer and not much else for around $5500. The add ons like basic kitchen and jerry holders, i guess water tank and pump and... and.. gets the price to the 25 to 30 grand mark. So there is more competition than ever before now and an infinite range to choose from. So from what i saw today, and the interest in them, the camper trailer is still and more than ever,a very sought after part of camping.. Michael

Reply By: hl - Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 17:57

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 17:57
Hi...
It is called synergy.
Box Trailer $1000
Tent $1000
Stove $200

Total: 25,000.00
AnswerID: 168610

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 18:05

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 18:05
Yeah!! I guess labour is expensive in this country, most things are fabricated in small quantities for their particular trailers but i really cant see the value.. mind you i looked hard!! Michael

FollowupID: 423957

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 23:52

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 23:52
>> I guess labour is expensive in this country

Some of them are now importing ready built chassis... :(

Im with HL 100%
FollowupID: 424026

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 18:09

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 18:09
So they are just a tent on another 2 bothersome wheels ? Not having the spare $25 grand.........I thought so! LOL
AnswerID: 168615

Reply By: cokeaddict - Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 18:29

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 18:29
Michael,
I went on Saturday arvo, agree there was nothing new but enjoyed the time there. I went there to look at a camper trailer too, intending to buy one but came home empty handed. Prices are over the top for what you get.
So i have decided to keep my offraod box trailer and modify it to suit my needs. My main concern is the sink/ stove combo setup. I want a stainless steel setup with 3 burners, all top quality of course as i believe its the most used part. So i will look around for manufacturers and sheet metal workers to build me one to suit my needs. I have time though.
Ange
AnswerID: 168620

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 18:40

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 18:40
Ange! I have a home made 7 leaf, electric brake with 16's and Treg and it can go anywhere. One great thing about just having a box trailer and have used it for this purpose many times is, you can empty it of gear and go out and get a load of wood. Handy when you are a National Park and not allowed to pick up firewood. AHH, maybe time to buy a good double stretcher to get of the ground..Michael

FollowupID: 423963

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 18:53

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 18:53
Ange, Regarding the kitchen you mentioned, i made a fold out table that folds out towards the back of the trailer and cut a hole in the plywood on one end to fit a plastic container to wash up in, the rest is bench and i just use a 3 burner stove. From what i saw today, the kitchen in most trailers were fairly average and cramped. Michael.

FollowupID: 423968

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Monday, Apr 24, 2006 at 10:16

Monday, Apr 24, 2006 at 10:16
Ange if you are interested, I had my unit built for me out of alloy in Penrith. Give me a Member Mrsg if you want the contact details.
It's now 2 years old and works a dream.
vince
FollowupID: 424063

Reply By: ro-dah-o (WA) - Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 18:59

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 18:59
Hmmm, delemmas!!

One of the Lads in our club saved himself $1200+ on the kitchen on his new camper. Using the tailgate, he slapped together a wood cabinet, got a mate to make up some heavy duty L brackets, a coat of varnish on the cabinet, stuck 3 of those plastic clip close draws from bunnings and screwed a primus stove to the top then proceded to mount it to the inside of the swing out tailgate. If memory serves me right it came in under $300!!! Doesnt have the same level of bush class as a stainless steel job, but $1200 savings???
AnswerID: 168623

Reply By: rooscoota - Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 20:12

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 20:12
hey hey g'day

often thought of a camper trailer my self but at them prices a new caravan even looks good... but...
1... 7x4 heavy duty off road trailer $700 (from mate)
1... nomad nevada 4 person tent $120 ( for short quick o'niters)
1... sportiva headland dome tent $400 ( for extended stop overs)
misc. camp items... $500 inc gas stove

total... just over $2000..... leaves a sh@t load of dollars for alcomohol and diesel product..... not a dilema at all, and get better fuel consumption when motoring.

lifes a garden......... dig it

AnswerID: 168632

Reply By: OLDMAGPIE - Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 23:36

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 23:36
home made swag for two $50, cast iron -hit for fire $35 , gerry cans etc for water & diesel $100 ,canvas lean -to $25 , rifle for food $250, dog $0 , billy can $5, fridge $800 , batteries $300 , tonneau cover $200 ,other -hit$235 = $2,000 , did i miss anything? cheers
AnswerID: 168667

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 23:53

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 23:53
love ya style...

No mobile ritz carlton for me.
FollowupID: 424027

Follow Up By: wheeleybin - Monday, Apr 24, 2006 at 07:21

Monday, Apr 24, 2006 at 07:21
Old Magpie
The style stopped when you mentioned fridge and batteries what happened to the Coolgardie.
Modern camper Eh.
Wheeley
FollowupID: 424045

Follow Up By: OLDMAGPIE - Monday, Apr 24, 2006 at 09:37

Monday, Apr 24, 2006 at 09:37
i know , but the coolgardie used too much water, & she didnt like eating green meat which ive eaten plenty of times, but you know women. cheers
FollowupID: 424057

Reply By: Patrol22 - Monday, Apr 24, 2006 at 08:55

Monday, Apr 24, 2006 at 08:55
I guess it's horses for courses guys....I have a tent that I use for overnighters and the more extreme to access places but when I want to set up for a week or so I use the Kanga and I've gotta say from my perspective it is well worth the $17K I paid for it.
Pete
AnswerID: 168686

Follow Up By: Robbo3 - Monday, Apr 24, 2006 at 15:50

Monday, Apr 24, 2006 at 15:50
Agree Pete

What these guys are missing is the quick camp set-up and the FACT THAT the other half would NEVER camp unless she had queen size bed etc etc.

The other thing is I recon I will be only out of pocket perhaps $1,500 when I sell her after I guess around a dozen trips totally over 100 nights - not bad.

Robbo
FollowupID: 424108