Brand of Tyres

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 26, 2006 at 22:04
ThreadID: 33282 Views:2394 Replies:8 FollowUps:11
Hi All,Has any body heard of these brand of tyres before and if so are they any good?? 'TERRA TRAC by HERCULES' - 4WD TOUGH TYRES
MUD TERRAIN MT's

Reply By: Nick R - Wednesday, Apr 26, 2006 at 22:30

Wednesday, Apr 26, 2006 at 22:30
Haven't seen the MTs except on the net, have ATs on the ute, hopeless once it gets sticky, I think JohnR has holed one or 2 ATs on stones. Not sure if the MTs are ant tougher........
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 169212

Reply By: rolande- Wednesday, Apr 26, 2006 at 23:01

Wednesday, Apr 26, 2006 at 23:01
Apparently they are now only importing the 6ply, not the 8 ot 10 ply. Good for wear on the black stuff. Think JohnR holed his when the tread was getting below 30%, which is still good considering they cost $100 per tyre less than Coopers, etc.

May need to look elsewhere noe if lookng for 8 or 10 ply

Rolande
AnswerID: 169222

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 26, 2006 at 23:23

Wednesday, Apr 26, 2006 at 23:23
Try searching the site, they have been mentioned before by JohnR who runs them.
AnswerID: 169226

Reply By: pmacks - Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 09:03

Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 09:03
Hi Stephan,

I run the TERRA TRAC A/W and have had no problems with them. I am on my second set now and at the price cant fault them. It is true that they are now only importing the 6 ply and not the eight but i have found them to be no worse than other tyres i have used and the last set i changed after 90K but they still had about 10k left i recon but we are going to the cape in 1 week so i wanted new tyres. I got mine from tyrepower blacktown.
The only complaint i have is they can be a bit slippery in the wet but they are a good allround tyre for beach or dirt in my experience.
as always dont work there, have no financial interest just a happy userer :)
pmacks
AnswerID: 169272

Reply By: Dereck - Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 11:44

Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 11:44
Hi Stephen

i am also running these also, not been off road yet,. next week if all well.
they seem great on road, nice and quiet. paid $150 each!!

AnswerID: 169303

Reply By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 13:01

Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 13:01
I have put them on customer's cars and for the money haven't had a problem.
I like them and would put them on the prado if they imported them in 17 inch variety.
120scruiser
P.S- You wouldn't happen to have spoken to CC Tyres in Penrith did you?
AnswerID: 169318

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 17:54

Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 17:54
Hi there scruiser, nah have seen them adverting the tyres on ebay (not cc) and were very cheap, am after a set of muddies for when we are going away now and then and will leave the a/t bfg's on for around town, in otherwords one set for around town and general driving the other for when we go bush or tag along trips like the high country in december, have been told muddies would be better for down there. Use to run to sets before but when they wore out never bothered replacing them and have been using the bf's a/t for every thing. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 424668

Follow Up By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 21:12

Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 21:12
Great idea.
I run a set of MTR's for off road and then just stick the grandtragics back on for around town. I left the grandtreks on for Fraser last week though.
I would look at the MTR's as I did the Flinders, The rock, Alice, Gunbarrel, Ghan and Simpson and with very good results on mine. Hardly a mark on them.
I would definetley buy them again.
120scruiser
FollowupID: 424699

Follow Up By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 21:14

Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 21:14
I forgot to add that my next choice was Dunlop MT2's.
10 ply and good looking muddies that stacked up well.
FollowupID: 424700

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 21:59

Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 21:59
Hey there scruiser, where are you located at, Im at Glenmore Park ( Penrith) just for curiosity ? regards Steve M
FollowupID: 424708

Follow Up By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 07:55

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 07:55
I am pretty sure we have met before.
You can get my details here
Contact
I have had a few EO members call in and say gday.
I just have trouble with real names and screen names.
120scruiser
FollowupID: 424743

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 20:39

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 20:39
Hi there Scruiser Yeah Just remembered You just got the new Prado and were taking off for a week or so with the kids. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 424894

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 13:31

Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 13:31
I still have two of the four still on having holed two with SA blacktop stones of the very sharp type, amazing how they pushed through. They ones still running have done 45k Kms and are well down now. People have noted the lack of stickiness in the wet and they don't clean as well as some. They look best when newer but mine were not the Muddies.

They have held together pretty well. I guess my big concern was the way they have out competed the good Kelly 4by tyres when I have one on the back right now 99% tread and nothing for it to go with.
AnswerID: 169320

Follow Up By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 15:09

Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 15:09
Hi John,

What is the size of the tyre you got on your rig 265/65/R16?

Stan
FollowupID: 424635

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 15:37

Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 15:37
G'day Stan, use 265/75/R16 on Moses. They still seem to grip though if I let the pressures down a bit for rocky, sandy and steep conditions. They don't have heaps left but will run them down for non track conditions I think.
FollowupID: 424639

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 15:40

Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 15:40
Should have added that the gas vehicles round here are using them, the A/W types, and from what I hear get about 80k kms from a set which isn't bad from tyres under $180
FollowupID: 424641

Follow Up By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 22:21

Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 22:21
Got the size wrong 265/75/R16 is what i meant. Got one terra track A/W in
Oodnadatta when I wholed my almost brand new MTR... Now not sure
what to do with it - either buy another one to go on to the camper trailer
or to sell the one I got...
FollowupID: 424712

Follow Up By: rolande- Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 19:49

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 19:49
G'Day John,

Just wondering what weight you are carrying to only get 45K out of them? My two spares have about that much and still have 50% tread. Would expect around 70K they way they have been going.

Rolande
FollowupID: 424880

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 19:01

Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 19:01
Running a set of A/Ws on our Isuzu Wizard, brought them from my local Tyre Power dealer (Nanango Qld) 245/70 x16s $150 each. Feel ok but my aim was to change them over with the Cooper S/Ts on our Isuzu MU (265/75 x16s) when we use her in off road conditions so this thread is of great interest for me, may be have to go and give them a bit of a test in the rough stuff, seeeing now the Coopers are around $300 a peice.
Cheers Bruce
AnswerID: 169363