Rodeo fuel economy results

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 27, 2006 at 20:34
ThreadID: 33309 Views:23600 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
Vehicle - 2004 Holden Rodeo dual cab 3l diesel
Load - 2 adults / 2 teenagers / approx 250kg luggage, fuel & water
Tyres - Bridgestone AT at 36psi

General route - Mackay / Rockhampton / Goondiwindi / Melbourne / Adelaide / Coolgardie / Perth / Esperance / Port Augusta / Broken Hill / Katoomba / Singleton / Brisbane / Gladstone / Mackay.

Approx 250 km of dirt/4wd work in WA, all highway work at limits (+5km/h)

13151 km
1579.66 lt

Best 10.12 km/lt
Average 8.33 km/lt
Worst 7.37 km/lt

Best 9.88 lt/100km
Average 12.01 lt/100km
Worst 13.56 lt/100km

Reply By: MP - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 11:09

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 11:09
I have kept an eye on my figures over past 12 months. Around town with a trailer generally 10l/100km give or take. Once on open road over 100km/h consumption tends to creep up a little. Last tank as good as 9.2l/100km.
AnswerID: 169451

Reply By: Wiskers - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 20:14

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 20:14
Hi djm67

We have a single cab -2004 Holden Rodeo T/D Single Cab.
2 Adults - vehicle overweight with too much stuff, including (9 jerry cans) 180 litres of diesel and (2 jerry cans) 60 litres of water- tow Tvan C/T...900 kgs
Tyres Bridgestone AT front 30 psi rear 40 psi

Cruise on 100 kph...5th gear all day. change down to 4th below 85 kph..never labour motor.
Have been up around the Centre (7,000 kms) and average overall 8.74 kms to litre or 11.44 litres/100 kms. Average travelling speed 71 kph (using engine hour meter)
Head wind can substancially effect performance.

Vehicle good value for money. No problems todate.

Regards W.

One life. Live it while you can.

AnswerID: 169559

Reply By: djm67 - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 20:59

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 20:59
Only problems we had on the trip were:

- broken springs (2) in the drivers seat back rest with 2600km to go (annoying but bearable)

- engine 'used' 4lt of oil, not sure where, no leaks or smoke etc, Holden want to let it run down again to the add mark then do samples

Will post if the oil usage is something serious.

Dennis
AnswerID: 169575

Follow Up By: Wiskers - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 19:01

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 19:01
djm67
We run Polyair Bags under the Ute. From memory they were under$300 fitted and well worth the money when carrying any sort of load.
-The Rodeo will use a bit of oil when towing over long distance...this is not a bad thing. Better than using no oil at all. We always ensure the oil (Penrite Diesel HPR 15) is changed regularly...4/5,000 km whether working hard or not. Oil Filter every 10,000 kms.
-The only critisim with the Rodeo is the small fuel tank..76 litres. I reckon 120 litres would be ideal but not worth $1,000 for an aftermarket unit. I can live with this by carrying Jerry Cans when needed.

Wiskers
One life. Live it while you can.

FollowupID: 425041

Reply By: arthurking83 - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 23:22

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 23:22
Interesting figure for the diesels!!

I've got a fuel consumption spreadsheet that spans back to '02 which is "very detailed" that'd bore you to tears!! :)

'98 V6 DualCab @ 385000klms, on LPG, which does 99.9% highway work on cheapie chinese 31x10.5/15 AT type tyres.
Old style alloy bullbar fitted, and vehicle weight 1960kgs (with my 105kgs on board)
used as my my everyday courier vehicle, and averages about 75-80K klms/year...explains the 99.9% highway use!!)

fuel consumption on
Gas:

Av: about 5.5-6 km/l
.... generally 6km/l on a hwy run at the limit, 5.5 when stuck in the 'burbs! :( (always using cruise control...beause of my crook knee)

Worst: 4.9km/l
running very hard....and normally would be doing this, only when there are 10 urgent deliveries that needed to be delivered yesterday!!

Best: 7.55km/l
gentle run to Swan Hill, all hwy @ 90km/h (cruise)

Petrol:

Av: 6.75-7.5km/l
....this varies a lot because the car starts on petrol and turns back to gas........run out of petrol and you can't start the car!!! :(
some months I don't use petrol, other months I use 2 tanks.

Worst: 5.5km/l
...driven harder than when on gas in 'fury mode'!! :)

Best: 9.5km/l
I've lost the actual figures, 300klm round trip (Melb-Bendigo) which is quite steep in some places....speed limit on the freeway.... 90km/h on the non-freeway sections.

these are the actual speedo figures, so I have to add 3% to the klm figures because of the oversized tyres!

seems to me I need to stick to petrol/gas, and forget about the idea of a tdi!!

ps.
average fuel cost/klm
2002 Gas: @ 29c/l cost 5c/klm......PETROL: @ 82.9c/l cost 12c/klm
2006 Gas: @ 50c/l cost 8c/klm......PETROL: @ 135c/l cost 18c/klm

I'm tending to try to get more klms from a tank, rather than less minutes to get there nowadays!!

the only side benefit of the doubling of fuel prices, it's totally eliminated my yearly speeding fines expenses!!
AnswerID: 169606

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 01:21

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 01:21
What! A post with the word "fuel economy" in it and no Bill.S. What's going on ?

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 169614

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 01:40

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 01:40
Sssshhhhhh Pezza. The walls have ears ...... :)))) He'll be along early tomorrow I guess.

FollowupID: 424961