Just got some pictures of the road damage between

Submitted: Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 21:44
ThreadID: 33337 Views:4724 Replies:35 FollowUps:57
Coen and musgrave It is fairly bad the 25 ks of tar is a mess most where the road was biult up over creeks well it ain't no more.
Pity I dont know how to up load the pictures.

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 21:58

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 21:58
email them to me and i will upload them for you...
gqpatrol@bigpond.net.au
AnswerID: 169587

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:10

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:10
Voxson they should be there now

FollowupID: 424929

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:25

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:25
Thanks Eric... cant believe i ballsed it up lol....
But the link seems to work..
FollowupID: 424939

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:38

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:38
Grant you have a message.
FollowupID: 424943

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:15

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:15
AnswerID: 169591

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:16

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:16
i can't see a thing lol
FollowupID: 424931

Follow Up By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:17

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:17
Hi Brew

They're there........look harder......... :)

Cya
FollowupID: 424932

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:19

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:19
Looks like a white out.

FollowupID: 424934

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:16

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:16
AnswerID: 169592

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:18

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:18
FollowupID: 424933

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:20

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:20
that's the way brew......show him how it's done lol

Leory
FollowupID: 424935

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 21:16

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 21:16
How in hell are those Pi##y little pipes suspose to convey tropical floods ????. Got me beat

FollowupID: 425067

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:17

http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c296/voxson/Yarraden.jpg
AnswerID: 169593

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:17

AnswerID: 169594

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:20

Site Link

For some reason i cant get em up.. Can you help Stu?
AnswerID: 169596

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:21

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:21
The link works.. That will do hehehhee
FollowupID: 424936

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:23

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:23
http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c296/voxson/April2006WetDamage013.jpg
FollowupID: 424937

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:24

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:24
FollowupID: 424938

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:25

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:25
I think the link is the way to go with so many pics. Great shots.
FollowupID: 424940

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:29

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:29
What a great pic
FollowupID: 424941

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 17:25

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 17:25
Voxson i think you better buy a yacht if you want to get to the top cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 425025

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 22:18

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 22:18
Funny guy... Mean-dawg.....
I rekon you should leave early and come up with us...
You will get every bit of experience you ever wanted in one trip...
I have a friends tape on loan at the moment,,, of the time he drove up the OTL in 1974 in his Landrover,,, shows them making a pontoon outta corro iron to float their cars across certain rivers....etc etc....
Might make a good movie night...
FollowupID: 425080

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 22:40

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 22:40
Yeah reckon it would be fantastic,but i'll do it when every thing is a bit dryer up there,Grant take note on how they make that pontoon cause you just might need it and yes it would make for a good movie night.cheer's GREENOG
FollowupID: 425084

Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:20

Very clear photo's arent they
AnswerID: 169597

Reply By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:32

Friday, Apr 28, 2006 at 22:32
Hi Eric

Great shots...you take them?
How's Gunshot looking, which drop off will they be looking to taking this year?

Cya
AnswerID: 169598

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 07:41

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 07:41
No I didn't take them some one sent them to me.
And the hole of the cape should be interesting this year.

FollowupID: 424968

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, May 09, 2006 at 19:16

Tuesday, May 09, 2006 at 19:16
"And the hole of the cape should be interesting this year. "

HOLE being the correct spelling in the circumstances judging by the photos Eric!

FollowupID: 427250

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 06:24

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 06:24
Is this what happen's when Gov't Engineer's interfere with Nature.
AnswerID: 169621

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 21:14

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 21:14
City Gov't Engineer's at that

FollowupID: 425066

Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 07:17

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 07:17
Gooday,
Typed in the 65 characters suggested, got aching fingers, no more pictures, will voxson kindly lend me $20-00 for the effort?
Cheers boroma604.
AnswerID: 169624

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 16:22

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 16:22
hehheee... Just click on the link in one of my posts...
And the $20 is for losers only....
So do you really want it.?? lol
FollowupID: 425016

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 07:28

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 07:28
Wow I havent seen it that bad in a while didnt relize the road was that damaged down coen musgrave way.
AnswerID: 169627

Follow Up By: Member - David B (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 08:05

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 08:05
Hey Sam, what are the roads like around Weipa, after the cyclone.

Dave.
FollowupID: 424970

Follow Up By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 10:44

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 10:44
They are good around weipa no damage like those photos up our way.
FollowupID: 425138

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 09:28

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 09:28
The roads up my way arent that bad theres lots of mud around and as I said in another post I went to lockhart river last night and the road was pretty good.
AnswerID: 169640

Reply By: Robbg - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 10:20

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 10:20
Wow - looks like I might need muddies instead of all terrains. I'm towing a trailer on the Cape from 8th June. Any thoughts on whether the roads will be dry and more importantly repaired? Rob.
AnswerID: 169646

Reply By: Pterosaur - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 12:21

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 12:21
When I was there last year, I saw all the work going on, and wondered about just how durable all the bitumen etc., was going to be through the wet - not very, by the look of it !

Wonder how many $$$ were pi$$ed against that particular wall ?

Terry
AnswerID: 169656

Reply By: Shawn - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 13:24

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 13:24
Damn, I am going up there for 6 weeks, Cairns to Cairns at the end of June. Looks like it will take all that time now.
Shawn
AnswerID: 169664

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 15:33

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 15:33
My mailman and his sons are going that way in a couple of months. Perhaps I should tell him to expect "delays" LOL
AnswerID: 169676

Reply By: park - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 18:03

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 18:03
Is it completely unrealistic to think that the roads will be passable in the next month or so? The damage is quite amazing - but as we all know the first thing that generally springs up is a side track to get you around the trouble spot. I can only imagine the sheer number of people who have plans for Cape York and intend to depart in late May or early June [myself included] and would be desperate for advice. Media reports vs RACQ road reports are sometimes in agreeance and sometimes contrary....any advice??????????
AnswerID: 169693

Reply By: Scorcher - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 19:03

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 19:03
Hey Sam or Eric,

With your vast number of contacts throughout The Cape, please try to keep our appetites wet with any "scoops" on road conditions.

With the damage to the Coen to Musgrave section, I'm now looking at bypassing the area by either taking the Lakefield NP track, or via Kowanyama/Edward River across the Mitchell River. I'll be up there in the first week of June.

Any info you can gather on these alternative routes would also be appreciated.

Keep up the good work !

Scorcher.
AnswerID: 169703

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 21:07

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 21:07
I have been told that kowanyama and Mitchell area will be not passable for quite a while... I was going that way at the end of May myself....
I wouldnt be too concerned with the damage we are looking at....
It doesnt take long for a front end loader and roller to throw a new dirt road in...
A few hours at any of these damaged crossings with a capable plant operator and they would be repaired enough for cars to go through...
FollowupID: 425064

Reply By: park - Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 23:58

Saturday, Apr 29, 2006 at 23:58
I have made contact witrh Musgrave Roadhouse and their advice is as follows...

"At this stage the road is closed between here and Coen due to a couple of creek crossings getting washed away. They hope to get some machinery up to here on Tuesday and start work as soon as the road dries out enough. It won't be a highway but will be open to 4 wheel drives. If we don't get anymore heavy rain I would imagine the road would be open in 2 weeks.

The Archer River is still uncrossable but slowly dropping. That is the only problem between Coen and Weipa, the rest of the road is o.k. There was initially talk of getting in the army but don't think it is as bad as they first thought. The road to here is ok and the MRD is starting to grade from Lakeland on Tuesday."

Looks like positiive news for those of us planning a departure date within the next month.....
AnswerID: 169757

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 10:51

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 10:51
Yeah I just talked to hughy at the archer and he said at 10.48am sunday that the archer is at 1.6 and dropping so it should be well down in 2-3 weeks probably even crossable within a week as for the roads further south hughy said they should be alright to go in 3 weeks I'd reckon fixing the roads will a very high prioritie for coen etc. cheers sam.
AnswerID: 169801

Follow Up By: park - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 19:06

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 19:06
Hey Sam,

By all reports there has been some pretty good rain over the past day or so up your way huh? [or at least that is what we are hearing down here in Cairns]. Some reports suggest up to 95mm at Coen? What can you tell us from on the ground in Weipa? We just can't get a break at the moment - our 27 May departure for Weipa looks more and more unlikely....
FollowupID: 425451

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 06:53

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 06:53
Yeah there hasnt been much rain in weipa but I cant say anything for coen sorry maybe try ringing the road house? If anyone wants to post some photos I have some better ones of the road at coen to musgrave also how the flooding looked at the archer all I need is someone to post them.
AnswerID: 170166

Follow Up By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Thursday, May 04, 2006 at 13:57

Thursday, May 04, 2006 at 13:57
Sam
Iffen you still want those photos posted give me a yell 699 669 and I will have a go?
FollowupID: 426070

Follow Up By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 07:17

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 07:17
what do you mean 699 669?
FollowupID: 426258

Follow Up By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 23:04

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 23:04
Sam ........... ask Stacey ---------- she has the key top break this code !!!
Sorry to be so cryptic, just happen to like my privacy !!
FollowupID: 426491

Follow Up By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 07:10

Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 07:10
Haha sorry pedro I worked it out now have you got an email addy? it would be easier
FollowupID: 426510

Follow Up By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 15:27

Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 15:27
Sam... try ausbushATbigpondDOTcomDOTau in the proper format !
FollowupID: 426589

Follow Up By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 00:04

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 00:04
OK .......... have the photos'..............
I have done a search and the address below should be a pretty blue colour, but it ain't ...........have opened a photobucket thingy to store them in ..... (and I know they are there.)

There is here : Site Link

or here ? img src="http://s66.photobucket.com/albums/h246/Pedro-the-One/"

now , as Meester Fawlty says, comes the tricky bit : getting her out of the closet, so to speak!

Obviously I am missing something vital as this is my 87th attempt !!!!!!

Can someone skilled kindly assist ?

FollowupID: 427341

Follow Up By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 00:12

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 00:12
Well I'll be damned ........... it bloody worked !!

The first address magically turned into a site link thingy after it was submitted !!

and I have just consumed several days Mogodon rations trying to calm myself.

Anyway, chaps ....... go look.

I added one of my own to give a comparison of what it was like just a few months before the deluge ..........daughter and No1 grandson and Beagle on a beautiful day in June 05 .......... we spent a week there and the kid and the Beagle had such a time .................
FollowupID: 427342

Follow Up By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 07:10

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 07:10
Sorry pedro it didnt work it will only work for you we need you're password lol try pasting the links? This is why I couldnt post photos it never seems to work on exploroz
FollowupID: 427354

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 08:25

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 08:25
Pedro,

In photobucket account options, you've either got to make the album public or provide a 'read only' password if you want the pics available.
FollowupID: 427642

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, May 04, 2006 at 14:31

Thursday, May 04, 2006 at 14:31
Great photos Eric. Just reading an article in the Courier Mail where they are quoting Warren Entch and Pat Purcell (Qld Emergency services minister) who are suggesting that it will take "months" to fix the roads. Then again it was written seeking army help from Brendan Nelson so maybe it is not as bad after all.

AnswerID: 170640

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 13:47

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 13:47
Just rang the archer and at friday "today" it is 2.5metres but I was talking to the coen roadhouse and they told me that the section at five mile has been repaired and that one bloke had made it through from coen to cairns just remeber the road is still closed guys. I also think the section near musgrave is still stuffed.
AnswerID: 170924

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 13:47

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 13:47
Just rang the archer and at friday "today" it is 2.5metres but I was talking to the coen roadhouse and they told me that the section at five mile has been repaired and that one bloke had made it through from coen to cairns just remeber the road is still closed guys. I also think the section near musgrave is still stuffed.
AnswerID: 170925

Follow Up By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Tuesday, May 09, 2006 at 23:42

Tuesday, May 09, 2006 at 23:42
Thanks for the updates Sam,

We're a group of 5 vehicles heading up from the ACT on the 1st July, we'll be watching this thread with great interest.

Really appreciate the updates, will call in and say hello!!

Thanks again
Steve and Sandy
FollowupID: 427337

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 07:20

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 07:20
allright guys I have some realy goods news for you all The road WILL BE OPEN SOON (To 4wd access). I just talked to the guy at coen roadhouse this morning and he has told me that his car has been out to cairns a few times and also its coming back today with a trailer on and heaps of fuel. The backhoe and some other machinery are fixing the road damage near musgrave and should be good for 4wd acess witin the week the archer is strarting to go down it was 1.6 yesterday afternoon and going down so it should be all good to travel on the road by a week or so and defiently by june. cheers Hope that what you blokes wanted to hear.
AnswerID: 171851

Follow Up By: John - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 09:50

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 09:50
SAM,
I read somewhere that you went lo Lockhart River recently, is the road in ok .
have you been around the tele track lately.
FollowupID: 427378

Follow Up By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 12:14

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 12:14
No I didnt go into lockhart I went to the old track into lockhart were I recovered an f250 Not realy in lockhart.
FollowupID: 427404

Follow Up By: John - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 17:06

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 17:06
Thanks Sam.
I went to Lockhart River 2 years ago and was a fun drive in the red mud with a trailer on.
See you in July
FollowupID: 427492

Reply By: Scorcher - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 11:45

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 11:45
I knew we could rely on you for the info Sam. It's all good news.

Now just need to hope that there is no more rain about so that the repair work isn't disrupted.

With fixed holiday times, the first week of June ain't that far away !!

Might see you in Weipa !!

Scorcher
AnswerID: 171899

Follow Up By: John - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 06:56

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 06:56
we are leaving from cairns first week in july, hope to visit lakefield national park on the way.
If it wasnt for forums like this and people like Sam we would be travelling blind as the information from govenment sources are not always accurate.Have to buy you are beer sometime Sam when we get to weipa.
john
FollowupID: 427630

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 07:45

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 07:45
Bad news guys the archer is back around the 3mtre mark they must of had a bit of rain in the lockhart catchment area but dont worry it should still go down quick it was 3.6 yesterday.
AnswerID: 172242

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 14:02

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 14:02
Hi Sam...
These updates are very valuable to me.....
Thanks....
FollowupID: 427910

Reply By: Scorcher - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 14:45

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 14:45
Yes Voxson,

They're valuable, but their KILLING ME SLOWLY !

I leave Sydney on 26th May. Plan to be in Cooktown by the 30th.

Time is ticking...................!!

Scorcher
AnswerID: 172306

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 09:05

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 09:05
SCHIZZEN!!!!!!!!! You must be only gunna touch the high spots of the road if you're gunna get from Syd to Cooktown in 4 days!!!!! Good luck.
FollowupID: 429639

Follow Up By: Scorcher - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 16:52

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 16:52
Roachie,

This is my 9th trip to The Cape since 1987. There's not much I want to see between Sydney and Cooktown these days. The sooner I get into Barra country, the better !!

Scorcher
FollowupID: 429756

Follow Up By: John - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 18:25

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 18:25
Yep ,I agree not much for us either, last trip we let Pot Macquarie mid day wenesday and in Cairns at 2pm friday. Just need to pt in a couple of long days.
That was 2300ks and Syneys only another 4 hrs longer. Our last trip was quick stoper at Gympie and Ayre
FollowupID: 429771

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 10:09

Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 10:09
Allright we have some better news the archer is dropping again I think its at about 1.5 should be good by mid next week.
AnswerID: 172604

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Monday, May 15, 2006 at 07:17

Monday, May 15, 2006 at 07:17
Archer is now at 1.2 as of yesterday will be lower again So we should be good to go guys a friend of mine just drove to the south side of the archer on friday and made it in a standard cruiser no dramas so we should be right to go very soon
AnswerID: 172707

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, May 15, 2006 at 07:40

Monday, May 15, 2006 at 07:40
Good one Sam......
Still looks cloudy over there... Is it?
FollowupID: 428355

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Monday, May 15, 2006 at 08:57

Monday, May 15, 2006 at 08:57
Yeah a few clouds but other than that nice and sunny
AnswerID: 172723

Follow Up By: Robbg - Monday, May 15, 2006 at 09:10

Monday, May 15, 2006 at 09:10
Sam, I really appreciate your running commentary on road conditions. I'm still a bit worried that the RACQ website lists so many roads as closed - including the Peninsula Rd between Lakeland and Coen, Battlecamp Rd, and the whole OTL. I guess they'll always have conservative views on road conditions. Would you normally have much rain on the Cape during May? Thanks. Rob.
FollowupID: 428374

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, May 15, 2006 at 10:04

Monday, May 15, 2006 at 10:04
AnswerID: 172744

Follow Up By: Robbg - Monday, May 15, 2006 at 10:09

Monday, May 15, 2006 at 10:09
Hey Bruce, the first couple of photos look like the ones originally posted three weeks ago - are the others more recent? Thanks. Rob.
FollowupID: 428382

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, May 15, 2006 at 16:24

Monday, May 15, 2006 at 16:24
Heya Bruce,,,
You should come with us,, we are incorporating The Simpson Desert in our trip to The Cape and back through Channel Country,,,,,
then you could liven up those dead links you have on you map of Australia.....DUUUUUDDDEEEEEEE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!..........
FollowupID: 428462

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, May 15, 2006 at 16:50

Monday, May 15, 2006 at 16:50
Rob, I cant see any other photos on the page, so grabbed them all out of the folder!

Vox..
You mean I could have some photos for gUpatrol.com that I registred 2 days ago
FollowupID: 428469

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, May 15, 2006 at 16:51

Monday, May 15, 2006 at 16:51
PS. if its your shout, Im there
FollowupID: 428470

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, May 15, 2006 at 22:48

Monday, May 15, 2006 at 22:48
Have you upgraded or is it wishful thinking???...
That is as bad as me still having gqpatrol@dardardar.net.au... As my email...
I tell you what,,, you come along and i will shout you dinner at the pub of your choice in Oodnadatta....
FollowupID: 428559

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 00:05

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 00:05
only time will tell :P
FollowupID: 428575

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Monday, May 15, 2006 at 10:54

Monday, May 15, 2006 at 10:54
The photos may look bad but half of them are not the pdr I think the one with the quad sitting over the gap is and the one with the car in but the rest are not.
As for the person that asked me the question about if it is normal for it to rain in may well no its not but then its not unusaul and as you said you're worried about all the roads still been closed on the racq web site they are closed dont get me wrong it is howely and souly up to the person deciding to drive on the pdr I'm am just trying to give a more accurate up to date information on how the road realy is because it may be closed but still fine to drive on. And I know alot of you have been planning you're trip for a long time from experience I beleive we are thropugh the worst of the wet from now on things will only get drier.
cheers sam
AnswerID: 172758

Follow Up By: Scorcher - Monday, May 15, 2006 at 11:42

Monday, May 15, 2006 at 11:42
Sam,

Can you clarify the situation, to your knowledge, about driving on "closed roads" in The Cape?

I believe that in some area's of The Kimberley's, if you drive on a "Closed Road", and cause damage to the road, if caught, you are liable for the cost of the road repairs.

Also, have you heard of anybody getting through along the Aurukun Road? We were hoping on catching a few fish at False Pera Heads in about 2 1/2 weeks. Wishful thinking ?

Scorcher
FollowupID: 428404

Follow Up By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 07:18

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 07:18
Allright Scorcher I found out the arukun road is open to all traffic no dramas at all a friend Of mine just went down there on the weekend for a fishing trip. Also the guy that lives with me who is a fishing charter guide just Bought up one of his mates from cooktown to go fishing with him this year and he said the road was fine he didnt even use 4wd once it was a bit rough in place though but still very passible.
(He left his vehicle at the archer though). Now the road is closed but not to local traffic So you may get a reving from the police if they find you on the road but its a big road to police and no you will not get charged with the cost to repair the roads if you drive on them. As I said I'm just trying to give you all accurate information about the road if you decide to drive up here its you're responsibility. cheers sam
FollowupID: 428581

Follow Up By: John - Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 08:01

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 08:01
Hi Sam,
any news on the roads further north,like the tele track and development road, as usually by now it has had a fair amount of traffic .I suppose it would be a hairy drive into Lockhart River
FollowupID: 428590

Follow Up By: Scorcher - Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 09:35

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 09:35
Thanks Sam,

That clarifies the issue.

Good to hear False Pera road is open. It might be a good place to stop for a few quiet days fishing before heading into Weipa. Now just need to find out about a permit for there. I emailed the Aurukun Council about 3 weeks ago, but no reply to date.

With the Archer River dropping quickly, fingers crossed the PDR will be open for 4x4 traffic by the start of June.

Thanks again, your comments are as always, extremely helpful.

Scorcher
FollowupID: 428599

Follow Up By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 15:07

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 15:07
Try ringing aurukun council on 40606800 or fx 40606191
FollowupID: 428642

Reply By: John - Friday, May 19, 2006 at 08:06

Friday, May 19, 2006 at 08:06
hey Sam, whats the latest up your way, any more news on road condition.
Ive heard all national parks on the cape and wont open until the development road is ok
AnswerID: 173480

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Friday, May 19, 2006 at 15:34

Friday, May 19, 2006 at 15:34
Archer should be getting well under a metre I know a mate crossed a few days ago as for the road they should be fine just waiting for the councils to open the road's up
AnswerID: 173544

Follow Up By: John - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 05:09

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 05:09
Thanks Sam
there must be a lot of relieved locals on the cape as I suppose supplies would be getting low.
FollowupID: 429634