'04 Patrol coilcab turbo/IC

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 10:50
ThreadID: 33372 Views:1614 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
Looking at a '04 Patrol coilcab turbo/intercooler etc. done 47,000 kays.
Anyone have any advice on these?
Thanks, Wayne

Reply By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 11:37

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 11:37
Yes
Take it for a good long run up hill preferably with a load on it to see if it overheats.
These things like running hot.
AnswerID: 169808

Follow Up By: Wayne - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 11:58

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 11:58
Thanks for that 120scruiser. It has a 3" mandrel bent exhaust on it that may help to get the gasses away? Do they all run hot or just some of them?
cheers, Wayne
FollowupID: 425145

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 13:54

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 13:54
Wayne,

"It has a 3" mandrel bent exhaust on it that may help to get the gasses away?"

That statement would depend on whether the dump pipe at the back of the turbo has been put on as well as the exhaust or just the 3" exhaust.
Even so, it should fairly go as it stands.

"Do they all run hot or just some of them? "

It is my understanding if you work it hard enough they all tend to have the same problems. I have the factory turbo (not intercooled from factory, but has aftermarket one) and apart from the heating issue I have nothing but praise for them. Mine's a wagon though.
5th gear was a problem for some around the 2000 build date but I am sure that's all sorted now.
Otherwise just general mistreatment to look out for, but they can take a hiding and come back for more.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 425158

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 14:10

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 14:10
Guys, the '04 I think has the upgraded radiator. I think mine has - the '03. With the 3" mandrel bent exhaust as is suggested above the dump pipe from the turbo to the exhaust is essential or pay the extra $250-300 for it as it makes all the difference.

For the coil cab check the top of the rear spring towers as they have the tendency to break out of the chassis. I have mine strengthened over the top. The first sign is the springs pushing the towers up. The push up on the inside. I guess if you are to be load carrying, it is just something you do to reinforce your direction.
FollowupID: 425162

Reply By: Exploder - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 12:59

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 12:59
There has been a bit of discussion about them and the cooling issue, nobody has had one overheat on them yet but the temp gauge does like to sit high when it’s being worked hard.

Roachies is probably the most document and it’s weighing in at like 4.5 tonnes or something but it’s never overheated that I have read about, but it’s not unusual for the Water temp to hit 110c when it’s loaded up on a hot day and under load.

The problem is in the block water jacket design I believe so there isn’t a hell of a lot that can be done fore em.

Still a good truck I reckon thou.

AnswerID: 169818

Reply By: Member QLD Steve & Lorraine Mc - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 15:54

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 15:54
Hi Wayne
Ours is a late 03 TDI factory wagon, with 90,000ks on it with no problems so far best patrol we have had to date. We have the 3'' pipe with the dump pipe fitted & a tune up from a certain pair of blokes in the NSW southern highlands which makes a lot of difference, mind you the motor didnt loosen up until around the 78,000k mark so be patient. As for the overheating Id say the problem is just about fixed when nissan fitted the larger radiator out of the 4.8ltr. EG- we hired one of those self move trailers filled it to the roof with household gear, approx weight of gear 1.5t plus it being as aerodynamic as a house brick & moved our gear on a trip over 1400ks on days of 42c with the A/C on. The gauge managed to get half way, sometimes on a steep pull it would just pass half but nothing to worry about. Towing our T-Van it does not move at all no matter how hot it is, so go & get yourself a good ute Wayne if the price is right & if the patrol fits the bill. My 2 bobs worth mate?

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 169844

Reply By: froomey - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 22:34

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 22:34
hi wayne

i have a 04 coil cab t.d.i , they are a top truck, got 3" exhaust, plenty of power , pushes about 130 k/ watts.
never had a problem with over heat , the more u give it , the more it wants.
had patrols for 12 years , never buy any thing else ,( but thats me only )

froomey, w. a
AnswerID: 169932

Reply By: Wayne - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 22:51

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 22:51
Thanks for all the advice guys. Really appreciate it. Looks like I'll pick her up this week :-) :-)
Will check on the exhaust and see if it's all the way or not.

Cheers, Wayne
AnswerID: 169938

Follow Up By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 12:37

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 12:37
Hi again wayne
Not all get hot only some as you have seen from the varied responses here.
I have a customer with one and he tows and large caravan and he has never complained about over heating.
Not sure if it helps but try my website at patrol info. It may offer some info for you.
120scruiser
FollowupID: 425363

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 16:36

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 16:36
If its factory IC and turbo, you will have no problems overheating.
FollowupID: 425412

Follow Up By: Wayne - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 23:54

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 23:54
Thanks again will check out the website now.

Truckster, it is a factory I/C and turbo. Does it make a lot of difference?

Cheers, Wayne
FollowupID: 425511

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, May 04, 2006 at 21:52

Thursday, May 04, 2006 at 21:52
It can do.. Some people mod std ones and sometimes have issues
FollowupID: 426203