Petrol or Diesel??

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 20:26
ThreadID: 33388 Views:2014 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
Not your normal question though.
Took the work vehicle for a drive Friday,duell cab Hilux new one.Anyway boy did it go well,went like a petrol,sounded like a petrol and when i got out I had to check wether it wasnt a petrol.Nope diesel.They certinaly have the diesels going well these days.Wonder how these motors will last??
Makes the old 1HZ even more of a snail.Mind you it is proven to last.

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 20:34

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 20:34
Yep, my 1hz is a truck and drives like one. The new vehicles are sports cars compared to mine. My bro has a new t/d Prado, I rekkon it's another one of the "I can't believe it's a diesel " brigade.
I still think my 1hz will outperform his "car".
I have to as I can't afford the 50K+ to buy a Prado :)))))
AnswerID: 169896

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 21:20

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 21:20
The T/D Prado is one of the least powerful diesels of the current crop. It's antique technolgy.

If you reckon that's fast, try a Pajero, Pathfinder or Terracan. They're offering about 35% more torque and power.
FollowupID: 425280

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 21:26

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 21:26
Hah,

With you there Jimbo!

Reckon he should have tried a 4.0L Petrol Prado. Would have gone into orbit.

New T/D engine due in Prado late this year. THEN he can be impressed!

I am happy with my T/D Prado but it could do with JUST a little bit more stick. But one thing is that you NEVER hear about 3.0L turbo diesel prado engines blowing up like the 3.0L Nissan ones!!!! There are obviously limits to the power that can be gained from these size motors before having reliability issues.

Muddy
FollowupID: 425281

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 21:36

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 21:36
Sure it's not Judy who could do with......

"JUST a little bit more stick"

I'm breaking myself up.

FollowupID: 425286

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 21:39

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 21:39
Oh Jimbo - I fear you are going to get us in trouble with the Sticker God!!!!

btw - Judy is pretty happy driving a "stick shift" lol

M&J
FollowupID: 425287

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 22:20

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 22:20
Hmmm! slow day in Berwick today Jimbo.

Or

Maybe the rain has affected your brain, Terracan - Schmerracan
FollowupID: 425295

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 22:56

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 22:56
4L petrol ? Sorry, don't own an oil well. New t/d engines ? Cause HF to be useless, are those the ones ? No thanks. 35% more torque and power eh ? And what's the trade off ?
Of course all this from a guy who thinks he's a racing driver when he drives his wife's 4cyl petrol :))))
Believe me guys, the need for speed fades with age. I know where I'll end up, and I sure as heck aint in any hurry to get there.
FollowupID: 425304

Follow Up By: rolande- Monday, May 01, 2006 at 10:10

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 10:10
"Believe me guys, the need for speed fades with age. I know where I'll end up, and I sure as heck aint in any hurry to get there."

My dream is to have a life where I can get to where I want to go and time is of little consequence.

Not there yet though, until then I'll stick to the 4cyl sports cars.

:))

Rolande
FollowupID: 425348

Reply By: maroni - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 20:45

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 20:45
we have just brought a new rv ute and it is bloody so comfortable and drives great also even more better to drive then my gxv wagon both diesel
AnswerID: 169904

Reply By: Geoff M (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 21:54

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 21:54
Tell you something Nick, I've owned four diesel Landcruisers.
Two with the venerable old 2H, never the first to arrive but always arrived. A 1HZ, again never the first but always arrived.
Now I've got an RV Troopy with the 1HD-FTE wholly sheite. Now it wouldn't give Michael Schumacher a woody, but for the size of the vehicle it motors. Fuel wise I reckon it's got it all over the 2H and probably the 1HZ.

Yep, it's an "I can't believe it's a diesel" diesel.

Oh, I'd imagine in the horsepower per litre stakes the current crop of common rails would leave the 1HD-FTE for dead too!!

Geoff.

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

AnswerID: 169926

Reply By: V8Diesel - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 10:25

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 10:25
What's the new Cruiser V8 twin turbo oiler going to be like then? oooh mumma. A diesel that goes like a big petrol V8......best of both worlds.

Biding my time....waiting, waiting.

AnswerID: 169990

Reply By: Robin - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 11:04

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 11:04
Hi Nick

Glad you liked it, and hope they are really improved over previous
as if not you could never sell one around our way, its just the
smell oil noise and vibration that upset some I know, and a 1/3rd fuel
saving isn't enough to entice some over from petrol.

Guy couple of houses up from us got 2005 Prado diesel, up from 2002 petrol
, reckons its the greatest thing around , but later his wife came over and
said she wishes they keep the old one cause of the noise.

Unsolicted the other day as a passenger in wife's RAV4 waiting at lights in
5 lines of traffic, the wifes scans the other cars , as u do to see
who's going to get the hole shot and could not fully identify 2 patrols
a lane or two over, without thinking automatically winds the window
down a little , yep front one's black smoking "that'll be a 4.2 diesel".
The one a bit closer is "tick tick ticking away" over the noise of
the 2 intervening rows of traffic.
"That'll be a 3lt, see says , no worries ! and I don't care what the saving
is, where keeping our petrol 4800 patrol"

Who am I to argue!

AnswerID: 169992