Fuel Surge

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 21:42
ThreadID: 33392 Views:1551 Replies:3 FollowUps:12
Hello Kids, one and all

My 3.5 Jack has recently started to surge when i fill the tank right up. I have a 138L LRA long range tank. When i fill it right up , it does it for a little while, but only when full. I thought maybe the breather, or something like that. It has had a few little knocks (some not so small) from rocks creating dents, but fit 138L in this arvo. TOTALLY recommend these tanks

I have emptied the tank, blown it with air, flushed it and blown it with air and flushed .it again. I filled it this afternoon and still doing it.

I am figuring there maybe something wrong with the float or something in the tank. It stops shortley after the fuel goes down a bit. I have also replaced the fuel filter.

Any ideas?

I know I know, i have to pull the tank out.... bugger.

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 22:17

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 22:17
Its the 'embuggerance factor' , always strikes when you least expect it.

like having to go bush in a week or two and you lay awake at night thinking - will it or won't it.

You may just have to wait and see what explodes/implodes first and take it from there.

More likely 'white lite' factor multiplied by 'decibel & rubber' factor in your case though, with a touch of 'two hands on the joystick' factor included.

Readers note: This wasn't brought to my attention when I was last a passenger in the subject vehicle.

I'll be serious now: (try anyway)

The tank itself won't be the problem, It will be something to do with the fuel flow, possibly the airflow in to replace the outgoing fuel.

I know!, I know! it has to have a negative (vacuum) in the tank for pollution compliance, but not so great that it effects fuel flow.

Seems to me like the vacuum effect is building to such an extent that when it eventually lets go a fuel surge flows to/past the pump etc etc. Well something like that.

That diesel 100's is looking a better option day by day.

Ooooh! Ads you have made my day, Ooops Night. (ROFLMAO)
AnswerID: 169928

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 22:28

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 22:28
you can always count on your mates.......

But why only when it is full?

And how do i fix?

Glad I provide you some entertainment.... yes always the way, just about to head off... hahaha

Glad you finally got your lights working.. smarty
FollowupID: 425296

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 23:44

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 23:44
Ads, reckon that Lucy may have it in 1. I reckon that when the tank is full it allows the air in as surges as there is a restriction in the air inlet. It will be more noticeable when it is fuller as the volums of free air in the tank is smaller and the surge in the fuel shorter and sharper. The air inlet through the evaporation control cannister needs a softer spring or rubber to allow a more stable flow. The other thing you could do is take the fuel cap off but I know you would want to comply...........

Pity you couldn't get that green GU.
FollowupID: 425316

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 00:12

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 00:12
Ooops! forgot it was GU and not a 100's. My appologies Mr Craze.
FollowupID: 425320

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 14:20

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 14:20
Found a breather off the canister, which in not marked in the manual pdf. So I took out the elevated breather and the hose. Clean it out, found when i pulled the hose off the canister it was completely full off mud, stopping any airflow.

Going to top up this arvo and see how it goes.

Might pay to move this breather or put some sort of breathing cap on it, that wont allow mud in.

And there is no GU.. no such things as a green one hahaha
FollowupID: 425371

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 14:27

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 14:27
Kir will be pleased you are overcoming the unwanted urges and surges mate. I am sure the breathing was the problem.

I am sure Nick R would do a good deal for you on a dark green GU. Just get him a new one
FollowupID: 425375

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 15:19

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 15:19
And how do i fix?

buy a nissan :P
FollowupID: 425392

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 15:40

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 15:40
Buy a nissan, and then what,, change the engine to a chev hahaha

Tell ya story walking pal hahaha
FollowupID: 425398

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 16:35

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 16:35
Mine has a Nissan donk in it. :P
FollowupID: 425411

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 22:44

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 22:44
Ad's,

The wife's jack has a long range tank and when I first bought it, it too was doing similar (I can't remember if was only when full or not). It turned out to be a fuel pump in the tank (intermittently playing up) which bleep itself at Eidsvold (a two dog town in the Burnett region). Replaced this and it was fixed.
More recently, the Jack has been revving when idleing and running on when you are trying to slow down to a roundabout or similar. MAF sensors have been replaced along with some other sensor in this line of the computer components to no avail. A loose/dirty connection of the wires connecting to the MAF has just been cleaned and pressed firmly together and so far this has proved successful, so try any or all of these starting with the cheapest option (the wires to the MAF sensor).
As they all give the same symptoms you talk of just not neccessarily only when it's full.

Good luck Trevor.
AnswerID: 169935

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 14:54

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 14:54
Hi Trevour

Thanks mate, hopefully have it sorted now. Will soon see.

Ad
FollowupID: 425388

Reply By: Moggs - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 15:04

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 15:04
I reckon its just a case of the Jack being pretty smart - its just anticipating you giving it the Crazie heavy foot bootfull and getting a head start on the task at hand ;-)

BTW, there are a heap of green GU's around - found one myself recently LOL! ...yeah, yeah...I know...no new Green GU's....:)
AnswerID: 170029

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 15:06

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 15:06
I love a funny man, who is about to hand his car keys over to me hahaha
FollowupID: 425389

Follow Up By: Moggs - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 15:33

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 15:33
LOL...umm....of course no disrespect intended ;-) BTW, when you have my vehicle...you have to pass by my place to get to Gembrook....and I'll be watching! :-)
FollowupID: 425396

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 15:41

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 15:41
Gembrook is just one of many my friend hahaha

I promise to look after it...
FollowupID: 425399