SMART CHARGERS

Submitted: Monday, May 01, 2006 at 00:22
ThreadID: 33396 Views:2791 Replies:14 FollowUps:9
Can anyone tell me if this is a good charger or not? 2000 TD Jackaroo

3-Stage Smart Battery Charger 15Amp it is for sale on ebay for $250. including postage.
I would like to use it when on camping trips to hook up to genset. Any opinions on such a device.

Site Link

Reply By: Jack 2000 - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 00:37

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 00:37
Obviously 2000 TD Jackaroo is the vehicle... it is 235am where i am and i have worked 65 nights straight so far so missing the odd word is not to bad. Cheers
AnswerID: 169949

Reply By: bushcamper - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 01:13

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 01:13
Hi Jack, I've had the same one for a while now and had no problem. I used to run it off my Kipor1000 with no trouble, the 2000 hardly blinks when I turn it on.

I think you will need an inverter generater, pretty sure they don't like modified sine wave gennies.

I'm sure some one on here can probably exlpain why.

Keith
AnswerID: 169952

Reply By: Dodgy - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 08:02

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 08:02
A mate has a 20 amp smart charger and he runs it on a cheap bunnings generator which cost him $98 and it works fine.. We also run it on my honda inverter with no probs at all.
The smart chargers are great though. Quick to charge the batteries and you can monitor the charge rate easily.. I'd say go for it.
AnswerID: 169960

Follow Up By: Member - Nutter (QLD) - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 14:14

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 14:14
Giday Dodgy,
what ya given me secrets away, LOL.

Guy
FollowupID: 425578

Reply By: Sparkiepete - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 08:23

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 08:23
From the looks of the phone number they look to operate an 03 phone number. I can't remember which state uses that code. If you live down that way maybe you can find them and have a look.
It looks like a good item but you can never tell from a piccie.

looks like they have a website too

Site Link

Sparkiepete
AnswerID: 169965

Reply By: StephenF10 - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 09:41

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 09:41
I think that they are made by Durst. They are also sold by an advertiser on this site.

Stephen.
AnswerID: 169976

Reply By: Member - Ed. C.- Monday, May 01, 2006 at 09:51

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 09:51
G'day Jack,
Can't offer a comment on the charger in question, as I'm not familiar with 'em...
(I have a Projecta MC121150)

However, I have purchased (other items) from the same ebay seller, and have been 100% satisfied with service, quality, & price... He's in Vic.

You may wish to also keep an eye on other similar items from the same seller..
Item #'s 4635105525,
4635585621 (20 amp),
& 4635650987...

These are your "normal" ebay auctions (not Buy It Now), & you may be lucky enough to pick up one or the other for substantially less than the buy-now price...
Indeed, if you don't need it urgently, it pays to watch such items for a few weeks or so to get an idea what people are actually paying, & it is often possible to pick up a real bargain... Good luck with it..

Regards, Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 169978

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 11:34

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 11:34
KMart have advertised a 15 amp 3 stage charger for $99 - I haven't actually seen one yet.

The cheap generators will put out Sinewave - it's just a rotating coil in a magnetic field. The voltage regulation may not be very good, but for a Switchmode power supply it doesn't need to be.

AnswerID: 169999

Follow Up By: Austravel - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 14:16

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 14:16
Hi Mike,

I rang when I first saw this in a thread some weeks ago. Kmart in this area said it was the 7.5 amp unit that was for $99. If you find out otherwise please let me know.
FollowupID: 425369

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 14:27

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 14:27
At KMart I saw the box for a 15amp 3 stage for $99, just the box nothing inside and also a 6 amp 3 stage for $50, NVP I think was the brand. I'm not yet convinced they are a true 3 stage charger. The instructions I read were vague.
FollowupID: 425580

Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 16:19

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 16:19
Thanks, I'll drive down and check. Hopefully they have the same units here, unless it was a sale for that period.
FollowupID: 425598

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 14:45

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 14:45
The 7.5 amp unit is on the shelves already - I think it's $69.

AnswerID: 170025

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 15:57

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 15:57
They are a very good charger. I sell around 20 of them per month. They are available in 15, 20, 30, 40 and 50 amp.

Regards Derek.
AnswerID: 170042

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 17:18

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 17:18
"They are a very good charger. I sell around 20 of them per month. They are available in 15, 20, 30, 40 and 50 amp.

Regards Derek."

Hi Derek....what brand are you talking about?

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 425424

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 17:53

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 17:53
The one the 'link' goes to. (Not my link !) It is agaist policy to post links to my products.

'Smart Charger'

Regards Derek.
FollowupID: 425430

Follow Up By: Jack 2000 - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 18:30

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 18:30
Sounds good.

IS the 15amp suitable? how do you know what size to get?

I need it just to keep batteries charged when at a campsite for a long period and the car does not get moved to much only short runs etc but it is running radios and other gear. and for cahrging at home as i go away alot for work.

FollowupID: 425443

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 18:36

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 18:36
The 15 Amp is a good size and will suit 50 to 250 a/h battery banks.

I would go for the 20 Amp one. Suits 50 to 350 a/h battery banks and will shorten your charge times. It is in the same size casing and only $60 more.

Regards Derek.
FollowupID: 425444

Reply By: Member - Bill F (VIC) - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 17:53

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 17:53
Hi to all,

What is the charging output voltage at the battery on all these fancy and not so fancy charges and what do you consider the maximun charging voltage a 12 volt battery can handle?

Fay'd away from the crowd

AnswerID: 170060

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 18:40

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 18:40
Hi Bill

These chargers have selector switches to adjust float voltages and also battery type. They vary in output depending on the selection. 14.2 v in gel position and 14.6 v in flooded. Float settings are 13.2 v / 13.5 v and 13.8 v.

Best to read your battery specs and set the charger to suit.

Regards Derek.
FollowupID: 425445

Reply By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 19:53

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 19:53
Dunno mate but I thought the Valiant R34 Charger was a goer.........
!!! just kiddin mate

AnswerID: 170096

Reply By: Mr Z - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 21:38

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 21:38
what are they liike compared to the c-tek chargers?
AnswerID: 170130

Reply By: Nifty1 - Tuesday, May 09, 2006 at 10:27

Tuesday, May 09, 2006 at 10:27
I bought a Kmart one for $99 - you can select it to charge at different rates up to 15 amps. It has a bit less functionality than the C-Tek ones but otherwise appears to do the same job at a third of the price. I'm happy.
AnswerID: 171678

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, May 09, 2006 at 13:22

Tuesday, May 09, 2006 at 13:22
Mate, I've got 2 of those chargers...........one mounted permanently in my Ultimate Camper trailer and the other mounted in the Patrol. The camper has 2 x 105a/h SuperCharge SLA batteries in parrallel, whilst the Patrol's 2nd battery, mounted in the cargo area, is a 120a/h Fullriver Gel Cell. The charger has the option of selecting wet-cell or gel-cell batteries and has 3 options for the float charge voltage.

I am very pleased with them.

AnswerID: 171701