Roof mounted spotlights

Submitted: Friday, May 05, 2006 at 11:15
ThreadID: 33564 Views:5589 Replies:6 FollowUps:10
Anyone know what the legalities are in WA for mounting spotties on the roof rack of a 100 series?

If they are illegal, has anyone actually copped a canary for it? See heaps around the place.

I've got some 130W IPF's in the shed and the spread on them is excellent. Want as much coverage off the side of the road as possible for skippy and as much range for those big old black moo cows. I'd keep them switchable from my normal Hella's as they'd use a fair bit grunt.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 11:37

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 11:37
Why not just place them on the corners of the bullbar, and face along the side of the road?
I dont think its a canary, but its a fine.

there was a recent thread with the lighting height max listed there
AnswerID: 170898

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 12:18

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 12:18
I remember that one, thought that thread was specifically about NSW though. Over here in the 'Wait Awhile' state things are.......um.....'different'.

Bullbar no good.

Will do another search.
FollowupID: 426325

Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, May 05, 2006 at 13:53

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 13:53
being so high there is a lot of light is reflected back into drives eyes at night....certainly wont make for comforatble driving
AnswerID: 170928

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 14:22

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 14:22
I was planning to have them mounted a fair way back so the roof would cut the light off the bonnet. Reckon it would still a PITA though?
FollowupID: 426340

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 14:49

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 14:49
mounted a fair way back, will they be that much use if the roof will cut out some reflection, the light you will get wont be that good

whats no go on bullbar?
FollowupID: 426345

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 17:32

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 17:32
On the bullbar I already have 2 x Hella Rallye 4000's. They are a good thing because they fit perfectly on the standard ARB mounts and leave plenty of room for airflow (important in summer WA).

Nowhere else to really put them on an ARB bar as anything protruding such a spottie mounted on top would be inviting trouble from Constable Plod, druggie criminals and low hanging branches.

No great loss if it's not a goer, just I have 4 x rectangular IPF's sitting in the shed not doing anything and thought they could be put to use somewhere. Give it that seppo look.....hmmm maybe not.
FollowupID: 426387

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 17:50

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 17:50
Do yourself and someone else a favour...sell em
FollowupID: 426392

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 18:25

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 18:25
Why do you say that?
FollowupID: 426403

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 19:24

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 19:24
On the roof the make you look like a show pony, wanker beacons. Sell them, get some play money and hopefully the other party will put them to good use.
FollowupID: 426422

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 20:40

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 20:40
True. As I mentioned above, it would be a bit seppo wouldn't it.
FollowupID: 426450

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 01:16

Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 01:16
I will have to disagree with you on this one Mad Dog. I used to have roof spotties on my Lux and I did allot of beach driving...like every weekend and they work so much better when the light is coming from up height due to the rising salt on the beach. The bulbar spotties makes it harder to see at night but if you have the roof spotties on you can see much better

FollowupID: 426503

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 08:27

Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 08:27
That's ok Troll. I hope the Lux didn't get rust in it.
FollowupID: 426524

Reply By: drivesafe - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 14:03

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 14:03
Hi V8Diesel, I believe, thanks to Chrysler Australia, the ADR rules have have been changed to allow for roof mounted driving lights and they have to be wired up and operated the same way as conventional driving lights.

You will have to do some snooping to find the correct info and then you have to see if WA has yet adopted the new rules.

AnswerID: 170930

Reply By: tex1972 - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 20:07

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 20:07
thanks to Scania trucks as well I had this misfortune of talking to an IVR (mermaid)in NSW and he failed a truck for rego because the driving lights were in the sun visor above the windscreen.He had to unfail it because they are oem fittings and now are adr compliant. I don't know how it will pass on to other vehicles. He also said that the daytime running lights and factory fog lights have thrown the adrs all over the place because of all the different types factory fitted to cars, utes etc.
AnswerID: 171021

Reply By: blown4by - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 20:11

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 20:11
The rules in WA are:
They can be roof mounted but must be in the forward half of the vehicle.
You are allowed 6 hi-beams ie If you have twin headlamps that are both operate on hi-beam you can have two spotties. If you have single headlamps you can have 4 spotties. They must be wired so when you dip your h/lamps the spotties extinguish. The set up above complies with the WA VSR's but the cops can still give you a sticker if they feel like it. The regulations above are available as a free hand out available at DPI Vehicle Examination centres so it is suggested you obtain one and carry it in the glovebox. It may also be available on line at www.dpi.wa .gov.au & look under Licensing.
AnswerID: 171022

Reply By: V8Diesel - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 20:42

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 20:42
Too hard basket.

Anyone got some Lightforce 240's they want to swap?
AnswerID: 171025