Fuel distances between Boulia - Birdsville

Submitted: Friday, May 05, 2006 at 14:01
ThreadID: 33573 Views:3888 Replies:8 FollowUps:17
Wanting to know where there is ulp available along the Diamantina dev Road from Boulia - Birdsville and how many km between each place.....i know there is no lpg so need to work out the km off an 80lt?? tank on our 80.....and how many lt we need to take with us....

also...
whats the best way to figure out what your fuel consumption will be? I dont want to have to add up all the km off a map (and get lost in the process LOL) and do it that way or is that the only way?

another thing....in the fuel section of EO it says that about 324lt of ulp is required to do the PLenty Hwy....is this Alice - Boulia???Cos if it is we will need a tanker with us!!!LOL!!! We would be full of lpg (80 odd lt) and full of ulp.....so only about 160lt all up at the most....could get about 780km max.....we would be joining the Plenty around about that caravan park(cannt remember its name..near an AbooriginalCommunity if that helps) after doing east McD ranges......

Another thing too - sorry - is howmuch fuel is needed to do walkers crossing and the bore track.....gotta get to cameron corner....

Laura B

Reply By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 14:14

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 14:14
Boulia to Bedourie 196 klm

Bedourie to Birdsville 188 klm

AnswerID: 170933

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 14:27

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 14:27
I like your dog :) What make is he/she?
FollowupID: 426341

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 14:33

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 14:33
Hi Mike
He Is a Tenterfield Terrier [GT with 4 on the floor] he has a story for you at this link members.westnet.com.au/dtilley/dusty1.htm
I think you will enjoy

FollowupID: 426342

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 14:52

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 14:52
Thanks for that Doug - I did enjoy the site :)

He's obviously a very special little chap - say "Hi" to him for me :)

FollowupID: 426347

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 17:42

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 17:42
Yo Doug,

I'm jealous of Dusty.... Bloody good job on your site...great entertainment and full of interesting places...

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 426390

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 17:47

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 17:47
Thanks Crazy Dog but if you wannabe Co-Driver you have to be small, obediant, and sit when told, but really you will never get past Dusty ,He's a unionist....lol

Catch ya Mate

FollowupID: 426391

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 17:58

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 17:58
Oh is that so - well me missus reckons I'm small and being married for 34 years I am definitely obediant AND I used to be union rep..... Do ya think Dusty will let me in the cab now?

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 426395

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 18:16

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 18:16
He said show him Dad show him so here it is

Dog Bite Statistics
There is a dog bite epidemic in Australia. There are almost 5 million victims annually -- about 2% of the entire population. 800,000 need medical attention. 1,000 per day need treatment in hospital emergency rooms. Between 15 and 20 die per year. Most of the victims who receive medical attention are Adults married for 34 years half of whom are bitten on the ass. Dog bite losses exceed $1 billion per year, with $345 million paid by insurance. " target="EOF" class="lbg">Site Link

Places and names have been changed to protect the aggressor

Nothin like a bit of fun
see ya

FollowupID: 426400

Follow Up By: kesh - Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 16:37

Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 16:37
Doug. After browsing all manner of sites during the last 4 yrs. have to reckon that yours and Dusty's is one of the best we have seen.
Just mentioned to Peggy, our little 37kg. bully, she still has a lot to learn! I must be a pretty hopeless teacher.
cheers kesh.
FollowupID: 426609

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 17:18

Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 17:18
Thank you Kesk, I will let the little fellow know . Don't forget to read about Chubby eh

Doug

FollowupID: 426621

Reply By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 14:25

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 14:25
Geeez I forgot to add that ULP is the norm these days so it will be available at any servo , Alice to Boulia is 933 klm fuel is at Harts range and Jervois Stn and i think Tobbermory

[ about 324lt of ulp is required to do the PLenty Hwy ] that amount would take my landcruiser 2000klm
I have no info about The walkers crossing and the bore track

AnswerID: 170937

Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 00:15

Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 00:15
don't count on getting it everywhere - Oodnadatta is one where a friend couldn't get it. go diesel if you are travelling outback areas or at least get large petrol tanks. It's illegal and dangerous to carry jerries in a vehicle
FollowupID: 426501

Reply By: Member - Nutter (QLD) - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 14:31

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 14:31
I think ULP is available at Bedourie, Ruth from Birdsville would know for sure.
Boulia to Alice via the Donohue - Plenty Hwy is 750 km , the trek notes have where fuel is available, if you don't have a map of the area you are travelling I think you should invest in one. Where is the start / finish of the Walkers Crossing - Bore track
trip. Will you be towing anything, and what the road conditions are like, will all have an effect on you fuel consumption
Have a good trip
See ya
Guy
AnswerID: 170942

Follow Up By: Member - Nutter (QLD) - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 14:38

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 14:38
Ooops not 750 kms but 820 kms according to my map.I agree with Doug T seems like alot of fuel 324 lt for that distance, works out to about 40lt per 100kms

See ya
Guy
FollowupID: 426343

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 15:14

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 15:14
Fuel is definitely available at Bedourie
FollowupID: 426353

Follow Up By: Laura B - Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 08:30

Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 08:30
our 80 is a cracker on petrol!!! we'll be luck y if we get 400km loaded out of an 80lt!!!
Laura
FollowupID: 426527

Reply By: Kelly - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 14:40

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 14:40
Hi Laura,

Did the trip you are doing in in 2000 in a V8 discovery unleaded but had aux tanks. Here are our figures for a guide.
Birdville - Boulia, 387km, 80.59l used @ ~ 20.8 litres per 100km
Boulia - Alice Springs, 856.5km, 150.46l used @ ~ 17.6 l per 100km

There was unleaeded fuel between Birdsville & Boulia @ Bedourie ~ half way btw.
Btw Boulia & Alice Springs fuel @ Tobermorey, Jervois & Gem Tree with greatest distance btw Boulia & Tobermorey ~ 250km.

Should be alright around Camerons Corner, Bore Track & Walkers Crossing etc if you fill @ ever Fuel point. Can I suggest that you fill @ all fuel stops in every region and keep the lpg as back up only, then you should have no problems if light on the pedal. We were loaded with 4 people and roof rack car modified for specifically for outback touring.

Can you believe the most we paid for fuel back then was $139.1 @ Mt Dare.
AnswerID: 170947

Follow Up By: Laura B - Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 08:32

Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 08:32
Thanks heaps Kelly, this is great ifno!!

Laura
FollowupID: 426528

Reply By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 15:39

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 15:39
Quote "also...
whats the best way to figure out what your fuel consumption will be? I dont want to have to add up all the km off a map (and get lost in the process LOL) and do it that way or is that the only way?" Unquote

Thats the way I do it. Kinda frustrating that some maps dont have totals between major points. You should try doing it for a 10000K trip :-)

As far as fuel consumption goes, depending on your vehicle you may need to add about 20%-25% to the normal highway consumption to allow for load and roof rack (if you don't normally have one).

The best idea is to take a little calculator and notepad and record every fill up and kilomtres travelled and see what you fuel consumption is for various terrain as you go. L/100k is a good measure then you can do the math in your head. ie if you are getting 15 litres per 100 k and your next journey leg is 600 k then it is pretty easy to calculate 6x15=95 litres. This will give you a good base figure to work from. Hard off-road such as sand dunes will practically double your consumption. Also carry a reserve of 25% when travelling in the more remote areas.

Oh and make sure you can get to where u are going- backtracking ruins the figures no end. :-)

AnswerID: 170955

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 16:49

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 16:49
I remember doing Boulia to Alice in the pajero with a 135l tank and having about 1/4 tank left pulling into Alice. Say about 100 litres. That is with roof rack, no trailer or van.

You joining the highway at Hart's Range?

Sat on 80 to 90km/hr except for the slower sections in Qld. A couple of years ago now, so conditions most probably have changed.
About the same fuel consumption as city driving.

There is a couple of places to top up, friend with paj got 30 litres on the way through since he only had a 90 litre tank and wanted to play safe.
AnswerID: 170976

Follow Up By: Laura B - Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 08:35

Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 08:35
Joing in Harts Range...coming up from a bore out there - cannt remember the name off hand....We'll have the roor rack happening...no towing for us!

City driving consumption hey!! We're shot then!!LOL!! We have an 80lt petrol tank i think so we get jack all km out of it, we'll ave to do the same thing and fill up everywhere we can and save the lpg for just in case!

Laura
FollowupID: 426531

Reply By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 20:01

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 20:01
Laura B, this is the second time in a short while that I have asked you the return question - don't you own a map of the areas in which you are planning to travel?
Yes unleaded is available Birdsville-Bedourie-Boulia and no, LPG is not (that was the last time I think I answered you).
Just read some more of your replies.
Laura B, if you have a Westprint or Hema map of the areas they are marked with what fuel is available - such as Innamincka, Camerons Corner, Birdsville, Bedourie etc. They are available in bookstores, K-Mart, ExplorOz, Westprint etc.
AnswerID: 171017

Follow Up By: Laura B - Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 08:19

Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 08:19
of course i have a map of the areas....i did say.."I know there is no lpg"....Im just playing safe Ruth!! We get jack all km off petrol when we're loaded...lucky if we get 400km!!
I know that petrol is at Boulia,Bedourie and Birdsville....what about in between - I guess there is nothing - but we should be right - if we take a tanker with us!!LOL!!
Ill try not to ask anything like this Q again!!
LB
FollowupID: 426521

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 09:08

Saturday, May 06, 2006 at 09:08
Laura,

Your map if it is a Hema or similar will tell you where the petrol is. If you look at the areas between Boulia and Birdsville, you will see precious little on the map other than Bedourie. ie there is no fuel anywhere other than Boulia, Bedourie and Birdsville.

If you only get 400k out of you fuel reserves, then you need bigger fule reserves to travel remote areas where often it can be near 600 k between fills. Suggest you fit a bigger or second tank, or carry jerry cans (plastic ones are best).

FollowupID: 426536

Reply By: Col_and_Jan - Friday, May 05, 2006 at 21:54

Friday, May 05, 2006 at 21:54
Re LPG: I have posted a map and listed the waypoints of LPG outlets using the latest info on LPG Australia finder on:

Site Link

[URL= Site Link
AnswerID: 171045