Waeco Fridges

Submitted: Friday, Feb 14, 2003 at 23:12
ThreadID: 3378 Views:3478 Replies:11 FollowUps:16
I am considering buying a Waeko cf-50. Does anyone have any comments. Whats all the fuse about Engels??Cheers Hardy

Reply By: Derek - Friday, Feb 14, 2003 at 23:44

Friday, Feb 14, 2003 at 23:44
Hardy, I can't know, but while you're waiting for feedback, use the "search" facility on this forum. You might have a win.
AnswerID: 13167

Reply By: Member - Moggs - Friday, Feb 14, 2003 at 23:46

Friday, Feb 14, 2003 at 23:46
Hardy, we bought a CF50 about 15 months ago when they were on special for $987. Nothing but good things to say about the unit, it's never missed a beat. Waeco after sales service is also excellent. At the time we purchased the unit the insulation bag wasn't yet available, they called as I asked when they came in. In addition, when they released a new lid to fix a warping fault with the original design (which wasn't evident in our fridge lid) they called and sent one straight out. We have travelled extensively with the fridge over heavily corrugated roads and it is as new/ The only thing I wish it had was a digital thermometer so I knew the inside temp. without having to open it.

Would I buy another Waeco - definitely, I reckon they represent excellent value for money.

As for the whole Engel / Waeco thing - don't pay too much attention - it's the same as the Toyota / Nissan thing that remains so prevelent in these types of forums. I have only ever heard good things about the Engel, however they are quite more expensive than the Waeco, the same as the 100Ser. over the GU.

Just for interest, we have our fridge hooked up to a Thumper in the rear of the wagon with a fast charge lead installed - works well, however the Thumper is now starting to fade - It was $695 new - I wouldn't buy another as I think there are cheaper alternatives that will do the same job.

If you are looking to buy a Waeco try the fridges shop in Brisbane - good guys, great service.

One other thing, when you get the fridge you will wonder how you ever survived without it - as Waeco say "I love my fdridge!"
AnswerID: 13168

Follow Up By: Old Soldier - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 08:53

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 08:53
G'day Moggsy,

Re the digital thermo. I have virtually the same rig as you and I use one of those in/out digital thermo from Dick Smiths.

Just slip the sensor inside the lid and sit your thermo in your centre console [or close by]. i can tell at a glance the temp in the fridge and the temp in the vehicle cabin.

Very handy and only about $29.

HARDY: - I endorse all tha Moggsy says about the Waeco. I have had mine a similar time and have had it over some bloody rough roads. Works a charm.

I do not suffer the same problem with my Thumper [ I have the industrial model] it also works a charm,a nd I keep it fully charged up when not in use. It's also handy round the house for power outages etc.

Enjoy your fridge - may all your beers be "coldies" - mine are :)

Enjoy the bush

DennisN
FollowupID: 7712

Follow Up By: Member - Moggs - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 10:11

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 10:11
Hi Old Soldier,

I have the industrial Thumper as well - I thought there was only one 48 Amp Thumper model, with the Monsoon being the marine version.

My Thumper, fully charged, when hooked up to the fridge that was pre-chilled, full, in insulation bag, with the temperature gauge set to 3 lights on, would only last say 15 hours (when not openned more than say 5 times) Can you please let me know what sort of usage you get out of your Thumper.

I spoke to Waeco about my run times and they indicated that as it is over 12 months old that we will begin to see a decline in its capacity.

Thanks for the tip re: the temperature gauge - does "slipping the sensor inside the lid" effect the lids ability to effectively seal???
FollowupID: 7722

Follow Up By: Chris Nelson - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 12:46

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 12:46
I understand from my local waeco dealer,that Blue Apple,who make the thumper units,can fit new cells fairly cheaply.He also said that they can fit longer lasting cells.Thumpers are a lot of money but in my opinion they perform very well,as well as filling a gap in the market place.Just remember everything needs maintenance.
FollowupID: 7727

Follow Up By: Old Soldier - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 16:19

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 16:19
I guess there may be some seal leakage by slipping the sensor inside the lid, but it would be very small relative to its usefulness.

I don't notice any loss of cool anywhere. If you wanted to be really cunning I suppose you could file the most minute little groove in the lip of the lid for the lead to fit through.

Last time I really put the Thumper to the test [up in the gulf last August] it ran the fridge 50 hours plus at 2-3 lights temp setting on the C50 - plus night lights in the camp area.

It died very quickly at Gregory River after providing fridge power at Adels grove for almost 3 days continouous, but came back very quickly when I slapped the little Honda gennie onto it. [quiet little devil].

CHRIS: thanks for your tip on fitting new cells mate - that is very handy to know when the time comes [as it will]

Enjoy the bush

DennisN
FollowupID: 7728

Follow Up By: Derek - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 22:58

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 22:58
Moggs, could you please tell me what a Thumper is. I've never heard of these things. Thanks.
FollowupID: 7740

Follow Up By: Member - Moggs - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:07

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:07
Derek, A Thumper is a 48 Amp/hr battery pack made originally by a company called Blue Apple, which is now fully owned and trading under Waeco.

The Thumper is the largest powerpack in the Waeco range and comes with two cigi and two hella ports.

It's recommended by Waeco in lieu of a dual battery set-up. Essentially it is the dual battery you have when you don't have the space under the hood. It also has the benefit of being fully mobile, ie can be moved into the tent.

You can view them at the Waeco website.
FollowupID: 7741

Follow Up By: Derek - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:43

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:43
Thanks Moggs. You're sitting on your computer too eh.
FollowupID: 7753

Follow Up By: Member - Moggs - Sunday, Feb 16, 2003 at 00:07

Sunday, Feb 16, 2003 at 00:07
Yeah...cricket isn't exactly as rivetting as I hoped for
FollowupID: 7756

Reply By: Member - Nigel - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 00:04

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 00:04
I've got a few friends and relatives with Waeco fridges. They are reliable as any.

If you want maximum run time from a battery then brands like EvaKool or Explorer have more efficient insulation than the waeco (which also means a bigger box for the same internal size). Nearly every fridge (except Engel and Reefer) uses the same Danfoss compressor, only difference is they way they mount it.

I owe a 68 litre EvaKool fridge and it runs permanently in my vehicle. Once you've bought a fridge you wonder how you ever coped without one.
AnswerID: 13170

Follow Up By: Rosalie - Monday, Mar 10, 2003 at 19:27

Monday, Mar 10, 2003 at 19:27
Nigel, What set up do you have for running your Evakool permanently in your vehicle? Do you have dual Batteries?
FollowupID: 8944

Follow Up By: Member - Nigel - Tuesday, Mar 11, 2003 at 02:18

Tuesday, Mar 11, 2003 at 02:18
Yep - I have a deep cycle and a Rotronics Independent charge system. When I'm not travelling a lot I also use a mains charger overnight every couple of nights.
FollowupID: 8959

Reply By: Phil G - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 12:57

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 12:57
Regarding digital thermometers, Jaycar electronics have The in/out digital one a bit cheaper $19.95. they also have a thermo/voltmeter for $39.95 if you want to know your battery's voltage as well.

I own an engel - been hasn't missed a beat in the 11 years I've had it. If I was replacing it today, I'd probably go for the Waeco based on cost and the Waeco has an inbuilt low voltage cutout. Both good fridges.
AnswerID: 13193

Follow Up By: David - Sunday, Feb 16, 2003 at 09:37

Sunday, Feb 16, 2003 at 09:37
Anything running the Danfoss compressor has a low voltage cutout.

FollowupID: 7762

Reply By: colin - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 14:07

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 14:07
mate had a waeco and had nothing but trouble ,stopped working every time it went off the black top. Took it back and no problem could be found. After a 3 week desert trip and loosing heaps of food, took it back and was given a new fridge with the remaining warranty of 1 month. Also i cant see the sense in buying a fridge and then have to get a cover for more insulation. Best buy are the explorer and trailblaser, both aussy made with heaps of insulation ie less power draw on your battery. Col
AnswerID: 13194

Reply By: geoff - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 16:18

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 16:18
Hardy I have the 50L Great if I was to buy one tomorrow I would buy the new Fridge/ freezer 80l I think.

regards Geoff
AnswerID: 13200

Reply By: Craig - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:03

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:03
Hardy , I`m a fridgee by trade and i done some homework on the engel and found that you cannot buy indvidule componets such as a evaporator or compressor. So if one of the items bleep its self you would have to buy what they (Engel) call a complete packaged assembly, that in basic terms is an Evap, capillary ,filter drier and compressor assy ( out with old in with the new ,every thing is new bar the cabinet ). The cost ? well I was told by the recommended Engel repairer in Sydney that they don`t even refurbish then any more, because what it would cost, would be about $100 less than a new one and the new one you would get a better warranty.
I brought an Waeco CC50 ,Reasons - Danfross Compressor ( any domestic fridge repairer can order and fit )
- On the inside of the evaporator box the refrigerant cooling pipes are on the outside of the evap the others are on the inside ( I have seen many of holes developed from the inner basket rubbing on these inner tubes )
- They have a dairy compartment - They have a internal light
-They are lighter to carry - Lid can change sides
The only concerns I have is the lid assy ( was replaced under warranty ) I just question the latch , I had the lid pop open on one occasion up Cape york
And you Must and I stress Must have a decent size power supply wire. I actually am using wiring that you would use on your house. The reason is you loose current over a long line run, so to ensure your got full supply to you cooler go big wire.
Go the wackco
Craig
AnswerID: 13222

Follow Up By: Colin - Sunday, Feb 16, 2003 at 16:36

Sunday, Feb 16, 2003 at 16:36
Hi Craig a point to look at is the wire you are using (240 volt) is not the best cable to use on 12 volts as it cannot handle the amps 12 volt needs, you are better off with a heavy duty multy strand cable min dia 6mm with anderson plugs. I also used to think 240 was the way to go, but you learn something new evey day. Regards Col
FollowupID: 7779

Follow Up By: Derek - Sunday, Feb 16, 2003 at 22:50

Sunday, Feb 16, 2003 at 22:50
Craig, Colin is correct as I just found out on Friday when I visited the Chescold factory as a result of my fridge related posting earlier this week. Multi strand automotive cable is what you need- it's heaps more flexible too.
FollowupID: 7786

Follow Up By: Craig - Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 20:22

Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 20:22
Colin & Derek , Thank for you input ,I didn`t give specifics on the wire type ,it was just a figure of speech .I`m using what you guys suggested.
Craig.
FollowupID: 7832

Reply By: David - Sunday, Feb 16, 2003 at 09:44

Sunday, Feb 16, 2003 at 09:44
The Waeco's are great- the Evakool is better. (Mainly better insulation/ less battery power to run per 24hours)
Either is bloody good- you may wonder how you lived without it, although you wallet will definitely notice- are you sure you will use it enough to justify the expense. A good esky (evakool) and ice or (better still) dry ice works amazingly well.
Have friends who use all of the above options so have a fairly good idea of each's merits.......
AnswerID: 13231

Reply By: toonfish - Sunday, Feb 16, 2003 at 10:45

Sunday, Feb 16, 2003 at 10:45
the cf-50 is 937 here let meknow if u need one.
bendigo vic
AnswerID: 13240

Follow Up By: Cam - Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 14:15

Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 14:15
Toonfish,
Is there anywhere on the West Coast that the CF50 is available at that price ???
FollowupID: 7804

Reply By: toonfish - Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 23:36

Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 23:36
sory cam but as far asi know no one except this person want to lower the price but they always throw in extras
the guy i know must be very keen to move a bit of floor stock but he is cheap (inexpensive)on most thing like dual battery setups and other auto elec thingies and he lives 1 block from me. buy local i say!
there is a camping and outdoor coming up in your area soon 2024 march 2003 at ascot racecourse this year in perth entry $11 adult and no doubt the waeco reps will be there and so will other resellers so bargain them off against each other for the best price and extras.
and by the way big w sell the 240v power supply for the waeco for 49.95 so dont pay any more and double check the watt rating if u do go to big w as there is a 20w a 60w and 75w i think.
AnswerID: 13368

Follow Up By: Cam - Tuesday, Feb 18, 2003 at 13:54

Tuesday, Feb 18, 2003 at 13:54
Toonfish, the bro-in-law purchased a CF50 early last year & the 240v power supply given (pf25 from memory) ended up blowing itself in the bush. Went to the Waeco dealer in Port Hedland who advised that the pf50 was more suited to running the fridge. Was swapped over there & then. Paid a nominal amount for the power supply upgrade & has'nt had a prob since. Think that is the way I will go as well. Until then I'll wait for the caravan show next month.
FollowupID: 7862

Reply By: Joe - Saturday, Mar 01, 2003 at 13:04

Saturday, Mar 01, 2003 at 13:04
Just bought a CF50 from Springers Low Voltage Specialists. (Strathpine) Instead of going for the 'Thumper' at only 48 amp/hours and $659, the boys recomended I go for a 100 amp Delkor battery in a 'Power Box' which has all the accessories that a 'Thumper' does but only cost me $300. Twice the capacity- half the cost. They were a great help and know there stuff!!!
AnswerID: 14230