Service Costs Toyota LC 100, Petrol vs Turbo Diesel

Submitted: Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 11:59
ThreadID: 33788 Views:5952 Replies:9 FollowUps:12
Hi there,

I am just about to buy a new Toyota LC 100 GXL but still struggling to make the decision, whether I should go for the Turbo Diesel or the Petrol V8 Model. Even if I did a fair bit of research there are still a couple of remaining questions. Originally I wanted to go for the TD but am still not 100% sure.

1) What are the service intervals for the V8?
2) During the first 3 years, does Toyota has to do the services in order to keep the warranty?
3) How much will I be charged for the services for the TD respectively the V8?
4) Is the depreciation of the V8 really significantly higher than for TD?
5) How much will I have to budget for insurance of a fully decked out 4WD (Bullbar, Winch, Snorkel, Suspension replacement, Drawer System, etc...)

Any answer, which would make my decision a bit easier would be appreciated.

Thanks a lot in advance,
Dirk

Reply By: brian - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 12:14

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 12:14
Hello Dirk,I have three friends that have done the same calculations all three bought v8 petrols as none could establish any significant difference in running costs over 3 years.
You do not HAVE to get toyota to do services to have warrenty.
The purchase price is a lot higher for T/D
If petrol continues to be roughly 10c / litre cheaper than diesal the petrol will work out cheaper to own
AnswerID: 172122

Follow Up By: Dirk 32 - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 13:20

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 13:20
Thanks Brian,

I agree, if you take fuel costs and service costs into consideration the TD doesn't look as attractive anymore, because to reach a break even point in terms of cost you would have to probably around 300-400 tK's with the TD. Unfortunately my mind is very much set on the TD. I should probably go for a testdrive with the V8. Anyway there is still the higher resale value of the TD, which is hard to put a number on.

I will keep thinking about it.

Thank's a lot
Dirk
FollowupID: 427700

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 14:26

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 14:26
I have a turbo diesel and I am happy with my purchase except for the cracks in the front end that Toyota would not fix until too late for me.
I think it is a line ball decision at the moment. I reckon that in five years time fuel will be that much dearer again so you will be glad if you have bought a diesel. I have heard that second hand petrol cruisers are pretty hard to move at the moment but Eric would be the one to comment on that. You might be able to pick up a one year old cruiser and save a lot. Had a look at the redbook site and it seems my 2001 TD is about 10k dearer than a petrol one of the same year

FollowupID: 427712

Follow Up By: Dirk 32 - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 14:35

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 14:35
Hi Andrew,

What kind of cracks at the front end were you talking about... just curious?

I wouldn't mind to get a 1 year old for a decent price, which is close to impossible, because I am looking for a GXL Turbo Diesel manual.

I will get to Melbourne in around 2 weeks and will have a look araound, but have my doubts that I will find one and if they are often at a similar price like a new car.

Thank's Andrew,
Dirk
FollowupID: 427714

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 17:09

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 17:09
Hi Dirk
Have a look at Posts 21158 or 32568 about the cracks. In the second one there is a copy of the Toyota recall letter.
FollowupID: 427744

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 12:39

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 12:39
Big thing to consider is resale. I have absalutly no doubt in 5 years 10 years and 15 years the gap in resale value will just continue to widen. you only need to price up a TD 80 series to see this - they are fetching more than 4.5l 100 series and around 2wice the price of exuivelent 80 series petrols
AnswerID: 172124

Reply By: fisho64 - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 12:50

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 12:50
I think Choice magazine went thru the warranty service thing years back, you cant be forced to use Toyota, but the person who does it must be QUALIFIED. I'd say it would be a very good idea to ask whoever directly what their qualifications are as if the s..t hits the fan you will need to show that he was qualified and equipped to do it. Would be a bummer if he turned out to be a plumber who knows a bit about motors!

Depreciation- it's been mentioned that the landcruiser has a new V8 diesel coming out soon, if so the 6 will likely depreciate a fair bit. (unless its a complete dog!)

I must say Im surprized that its said that the running costs are similar with 10 cents difference in fuel. The figures I saw (from memory) were about 40%+ extra petrol. Not disputing, just dubious. Having said that I have been looking at a V8 to put on gas.
AnswerID: 172128

Follow Up By: Dirk 32 - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 13:14

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 13:14
Thank you fisho,

I really didn't know that Toyota wants to bring out a V8 Diesel. Do you know anything more about this? When might this happen and will it be a Diesel or a TD? Would be great to know more about... will definately take it into consideration.

Dirk
FollowupID: 427699

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 14:50

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 14:50
I had heard on the rumour mill that it was a V8 twin turbo TD
FollowupID: 427717

Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 14:26

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 14:26
every one here on EO convinced me to go TD
AnswerID: 172141

Follow Up By: Dirk 32 - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 14:43

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 14:43
As I said earlier, my mind is very much set on the TD... for some strange reason I just think a 4WD can only be a TD... don't ask me why. Guess, I am just a Diesel-Fanatic.

I see those extra 12.000 AUD as a kind of investment and hope I will get some of it back if I would sell the car some day.

Dirk
FollowupID: 427715

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 15:23

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 15:23
Bought mine as a keeper and have not been disappointed. It's my first diesel.
AnswerID: 172145

Reply By: TerraFirma - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 16:55

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 16:55
If we agree that the Diesel consumes around 11.0L/100KM and the Petrol around 18L/100KM, possibly more then you will almost get twice the range with the diesel. At $1.50 per litre x 140 litres you could be saving around $80 per tank every refill. At $80 per week saving means $4160.00 per year or $16,640.00 over 4 years. Now the diesel model holds it's value better than the Petrol model so that balances out the price diffference for the Diesel over the Petrol. That means you only need to allow for the servicing between models which should be similar. I am told now that the Diesels are ok for 10,000 service interas unless you are using them in a very dusty, dirty enviroment. The diesel is the winner for me.

Then again if you love the silky smooth NVH levels of the V8 bugger the maths and take the Petrol. How would I know. It's only money and you only live once..! LOL
AnswerID: 172155

Follow Up By: Member - ROTORD - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 17:28

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 17:28
One year old petrol and $20,000 of shares in oil companies . You will go close to free fuel , and be hedged against fuel cost rises
FollowupID: 427751

Reply By: peterjs - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 17:10

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 17:10
Hi, well this is my 2 cents worth, I bought a 2003 V8 petrol cruiser 3 months ago and have check fuel consumption 5 times, this is the result, 11.9, 13.4, 13.6, 13.75, 15.0 klms per 100 klm some 4 wheel driving, keeping to the speed limit, using same petrol station every time, sure it would use more if towing and giving it heaps with the right foot, but so would any vehicle petrol or diesel, as to servicing, this is in the service book as standard use diesel 5000 klm petrol 10000 cost of servicing is more for diesel. I have been surprised that I get the figures above but I fill to the same stop each time. Oh and don’t forget petrol is cheaper than diesel, 7 litres diesel = 8 litres petrol aprox. Hope this helps. Pete.
AnswerID: 172158

Reply By: Member - John L G - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 18:23

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 18:23
Dirk

I agree pretty much with all of the above and would think that if you are just going to tool around the suburbs then the petrol would probably be the go on a real dollar basis and they are a pretty nice drive.

However, if you seriously want to go bush, and I mean extended trips into the desert, then the diesel is the only choice.
They run cooler - big plus in spinifex country
They will idle/lug along in top gear at very low revs and still pull strongly
Fuel consumption at low speed is exceptional where in my experience petrol 4wd's seem to drink the same humungous amount wether they are travelling at a reasonable clip or at really low speed.

I have had the misfortune on two occasions to allow petrol powered vehicles, late model cruiser and range rover, accompany me into the desert proper.
With both I had to carry extra fuel in my truck as they were simply incapable of carrying enough for their own needs.
The rangie caught fire twice, which we extinguished due to diligence from the following vehicle, from spinifex being lodged up amongst the exhaust extractors - all this at low speef Approx 5-10KMH. We did know of this potential problem however before we went so each vehicle was armed with a small hand operated water pump which proved invaluable. Never now go bush without it
The above is not so much to with the make of vehicle but a comment on how petrols seem to operate from learned experience.

Enjoy the decision making - that's half the fun of buying new toys anyway.

AnswerID: 172164

Follow Up By: Dirk 32 - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 18:44

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 18:44
John,

Thank you very much.

Basically I just wanted to hear things like that, because I agree that it has to be a Diesel for extended tours and offroading... thats what I mainly intend to do. I was probably just for a kind of backup to justify the differende in price.

Dirk
FollowupID: 427764

Reply By: Barks - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 18:52

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 18:52
Hi Dirk,

I've had both a TD and V8 cruiser.

did 230k in the 80 series TD and I'm up to 50k in the 2003 V8.

The V8 is cheaper to run than the TD.

I took a TD for a test drive the other day to pass some time - what a noisy, rattly, SLOW and unenjoyable experience......

TD econ Pilbara family stuff - 13.85 l/100km - (many long trips at 110 kmh)
V8 - Bendigo town - 14.99
V8 - Camping CT and roof box - 16.64
V8 towing 4T boat - 25.63 (1000km trip, 100km/h full noise - great fun!!!)

Check out the NRMA website go to vehicle, operating costs - get a surprise!!

I'm an engineer so I have a lot of spreadsheet working out all sorts of stuff:

Fuel costs for 50,000 km with ULP $1.30 and Diesel $1.40:

V8 Cruiser $9746
TD Cruiser $9692
Std D NA 100 series cruiser $10,253 (I drive one for work for two weeks every month - brand new Thrifty (up to 30thou km) absolute pigs.
My gutless 2WD 4cyl pertol Mazda ute $6500.
Estimate V8 cruiser on gas $7500 (gas at 60cpl) (not worth it ?)
VL calais 6 cyl - $8340
Mates 2.8L Nissan Patrol - $9751 (13.93 k/100km - he sold after 8 mths from new)

Point is that everything costs $ to drive, for me paying an extra $2000 pa over a ford falcon or commodore is worth it, the option of using a 4X4, seating 8 people, pulling big loads ra ra ra.

TD Cruisers are a lot more expensive to maintain - nearly 80% of the service manual is for the TD - and not the cheap stuff either. V8 is oil every 10k, with a 40k major that cost me about $380 at Bgo Toyota (from memory?) anyway it was pretty reasonable.

Nothing like spinning the inside wheels when taking of from a T intersection to get through smallish gaps in traffic....

Depreciation? - check out the NRMA website as depreciation is included in the operating cost clacs.

Insurance - I think mine is about $500 - $600 pa? something like that...

When Diesel get to be about 80% the price of ULP then I will think about going back to a TD, until then I will enjoy the silky smooth V8 power - I still get a buz after 50 thou km!

Barks
AnswerID: 172169

Follow Up By: Diesel Power - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 08:22

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 08:22
I would think towing 4 tonne of boat at 100km/h in a vehicle that is only rated to tow 3500kg is a pretty dumb thing, I hope I never have the misfortune to come across you on the road anywhere. People like you give 4wd'ers a bad name.

Cheers and Beers
Scott
FollowupID: 427833

Follow Up By: Barks - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 09:29

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 09:29
Hi Scotty,

U never gone 10km/h over the speed limit? ever? get real...
Trip was from Karratha to Perth - very long straight road with next to no traffic.

500kg over the towing capacity, so what, couldn't tell the difference from 3.5T to 4T - just like the difference of having 1 to 6 big blokes in the car, can't tell the difference.

you can go to confession now :)

Barks
FollowupID: 427847

Follow Up By: Diesel Power - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 10:00

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 10:00
500kg over the limit so what??? Ha ha ha tell that to the insurance man when he denies your claim and also the copper who books you for manslaughter if you kill someone in an accident. I dont need to go to confession bud, I dont have a guilty conscience:) :)

Cheers and Beers
Scott
FollowupID: 427859