New Patrol Diesel 4.2

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 18:06
ThreadID: 3384 Views:1770 Replies:4 FollowUps:11
The New Diesel Patrol is up $2,500 to $58.900, You get a second cigarette lighter, side by side,(very handy if you chain smoke), Intercooler, and Cruise control on the steering wheel, they have moved a few knob and buttons and glued a new style cup holder into the original front cup holders. New Trim and out side colours. The sales guys are standing at their showroom doors just waiting to sell you one. Cheers Michael

Reply By: Member - Moggs - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 21:22

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 21:22
2 ciggie lighters, how about running the GPS and charging the phone, or running a map light . Whats the problem with that?? - I would think the price increase is probably more due to the A$ than the extras. IMO still represents better value than the Tojo. I don't own one, but would if I had the cash.

I don't understand peoples anxt over the release of this Patrol?? I didn't think Nissan built it up too much. What were you expecting out of the release - new vehicle, same price?? - not being critical of your view, just would like to understand why so many people are so dissapointed.
AnswerID: 13217

Follow Up By: Michael - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:12

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:12
HI Moggs, It was a light hearted view of it really, I had a look at one today, i 'm due for a new one in June. I already have a 4.2 GU, near 4 yo and its been great. I wasnt really having a go at it., Its a really good package now there have been heaps of small changes over the 4 years, halogen headlights , fully adjustable drivers seat, heaps of small things even the unthinkable from nissan CRUISE CONTROL standard on the 4.2........ Michael
FollowupID: 7742

Follow Up By: Member - Moggs - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:15

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:15
Hi Michael, no worries, it must be an ok package if your going to get another - still can't understand all the disappointment on many of the forums with the release
FollowupID: 7747

Follow Up By: Michael - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:25

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:25
Moggs, yeah a lot of people have been critical but Nissan have let this one through without any fanfare, and not one really necessary. I'm actually nothing much has changed, I never drove one today, but the sales guy said the intercooler has made an incredible difference to takeoff, much more user friendly, My 4.2 does take some getting of the mark... Michael
FollowupID: 7750

Follow Up By: Derek - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:27

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:27
Michael. Have they fitted a second reverse light and done something about those bumper tail lights that fall out?
FollowupID: 7751

Follow Up By: Michael - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:33

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:33
Hi Derek, no i think it's more of the same, my drivers side brake light fell out also. My wife has a Late model commodore and for rego, the only thing i forget to check was the reversing lights, only one worked , the mechanic said , No worries, you only need one,,,,,,,,, I thought if two were fitted both should work. michael
Well i'm of to bed Cu all later..
FollowupID: 7752

Reply By: Richard - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 22:18

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 22:18
Not a bad idea actually [the 2nd cig. lighter] But have they put a damn light in the glovebox yet???
AnswerID: 13219

Follow Up By: Brian - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:13

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:13
Get rid of the cig lighter and put in a proper power point or two!
FollowupID: 7743

Follow Up By: Michael - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:14

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:14
Richard, i didnt open the glove box and the new brochure doesnt mention it. I hope so too,, Michael
FollowupID: 7745

Follow Up By: Michael - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:14

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:14
Richard, i didnt open the glove box and the new brochure doesnt mention it. I hope so too,, Michael
FollowupID: 7746

Follow Up By: Michael - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:20

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:20
Yeah Brian, one in the engine bay and one in the back, the hella type one. I wish they would put a 3mm stereo jack in each rear door armrest and a button on the dash to silence the four speakers and the kids can listen to their favorite CD through those cheap headphones, the kind that fit portable radios and walkmans, and let the parent have some quiet talk time without the blooby cd roaringn on long trips. Now that would be good. Michael
FollowupID: 7749

Follow Up By: Peter - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:47

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:47
Just a small point for the Tojo knockers, the Standard Wagon - base model has a normal cig lighter in the dash with a hella type socket alongside and another hella socket in the back just inside the rear barn door. Cheers
FollowupID: 7754

Follow Up By: Brian - Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:49

Saturday, Feb 15, 2003 at 23:49
Yeh Micheal you can only take so much Wiggles!!!
FollowupID: 7755

Reply By: Truckster - Sunday, Feb 16, 2003 at 12:31

Sunday, Feb 16, 2003 at 12:31
You cant understand why people are pee'd with the Non Upgrade??

Look at the opposition and what they have done in last 12-24 months, and then at this upgrade... with all Nissan hush hush on it, people were expecting more. Quite simple really! Nissan were embarrassed - simple as that!

Theres people on this list and all of them that have held off buying a new car for 3-4 months, when they could have already been enjoying their new car.

You could put an intercooler from Safari on for $2000 and have the same if not better...

Dont look for the GU in 4wdoty next year!
AnswerID: 13249

Reply By: Bonz - Sunday, Feb 16, 2003 at 18:31

Sunday, Feb 16, 2003 at 18:31
Well,

The big kerfuffle re the new Patrol was the non-event it became. I was expecting along with a friend to wander down to the Nissan dealer and hand over the readies for a 6 cyl DIRECT-INJECTED intercooled turbo diesel, with at least 160-170kW and a great fuel economy so I could go kick some Toyo heiny. But.......all i got was an intercooled with the same kW output, a little more torque and a huge disappointment.

I'll stick with my 3.0l DI GU Patrol and wave bye bye to dual reversing lights as standard. I actually went down to SuperCheap and picked up a couple of 55w halogen slim line driving lights and fitted them as reversing lights just under the rear bumper - imagine saying you only need one....probly said you need it on the passenger side too so the light output didnt distract the driver as he reversed into the darkness!

Anyway, spleen is vented, thanx for the opportunity Michael.
AnswerID: 13262