The downside of a bush trip..........

Submitted: Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:04
ThreadID: 33861 Views:3079 Replies:15 FollowUps:18
It is great to get away on an adventure and have a good time while out there in the never never, but now comes the downside...cleaning everything.

1. The bonnet of the GQ was covered with spinifex gum despite having a shadecloth blind across the whole bullbar. I have used Eucalyptus oil to get it off. Still needs a second go.

2. Staked tyres have temporary plugs in and tyre bloke will have to fit proper plugs and maybe a gater on two.

3. Dust!!! My truck is reasonably dustproof but this past trip it seems to have filtered in through the rear doors. Might have to pump some silicon into the door seals.

4. Somehow even the fridge took in some desert sand. The fridge lid seal did come loose and I siliconed it in place along the route. Must have a closer look again.

5. Mega scratches down side of GQ body and will need some serious polishing.

6. Mudflaps and flares have been torn loose. Will now have to devise a new method of attaching them

7. Fusible link holder is crook and tied down with cable tie. Nissan want a plurry fortune for a fusible link so will have to go to the Big Smoke wrecking yards.

8. Headlight fuse keeps blowing. Must be a short somewhere

9. Polyairs to be fitted to rear of GQ next week as trailer pushed back of truck down to ground level while negotiating rough terrain.

10. New device has to be made for trailer jockey (swing-away) wheel as the latter suffered damage whilst offroad

11. Skid plate to be welded to bottom of drawbar on trailer as drawbar drags sand when negotiating steep sand hills.

12. Spinifex and other debris must be removed from nooks and crannies under body and in bash plates etc.

WHAT FUN!!!!!! lol

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:29

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:29
On my last trip the broken bits were different, they were at home ! Same effect, lottsa work. While I was away, everything broke down. Even my waterbed developed a leak...without me in it ! The pool motor fused, new microwave needed and the lawn mower was kaput.
That's on top of having to get the suspension replaced.
But I was so happy that I'd been where I was that it all didnt really matter.
My wife rekkoned that I had so much energy that she couldnt stop me working around the place. Hmm...maybe that's why she doesn't mind me going :))))))
AnswerID: 172461

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:40

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:40
Had a similar breakdown several years ago after a trip ,had turned off ALL electrical and gas ,, got back home and had to replace gas hot water unit ,, tv ,computer ,printer , main fridge and washing machine ,, all broke down within 3days of being turned back on,
FollowupID: 428073

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:55

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:55
I don't have that excuse...my wife was here :(( I just rekkon that our appliances have it in for me.
FollowupID: 428079

Reply By: Jimbo - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:38

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:38
Boys will be boys LOL.

From your report it must have been one amazing trip.
AnswerID: 172462

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:53

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:53
It was mate, I am amazed we didn't break more stuff...lol
FollowupID: 428204

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:40

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:40
Willem, good to see you & other's had a great adventure,i did not figure for one moment that there was a downside. After reading on this forum for the last 7/8 months there could not possibly be a downside.Maybe i will have to re evaluate my travel plans & purchase a dune buggy for out around the Simpson & beyond.Lol. As long as there were no major injuries to people's & transport then what has happened is just a pain in the rear end. Get ready & enjoy the next one.Cheer's Bob.
AnswerID: 172463

Reply By: joc45 - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:41

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:41
Sounds like you had a ball! If nothing breaks, then it's probably a boring trip!
So when are we going to get the full adventure story?
Gerry
AnswerID: 172464

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:53

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:53
In that case, I'm all for "boring" trips :))
FollowupID: 428078

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 11:13

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 11:13
Post 33778
FollowupID: 428085

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:56

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:56
Gerry

I hope to write up a full account plus pics for my website before I leave again on 20 June. I said hope......not sure if I am going to get that far....lol

FollowupID: 428205

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 11:31

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 11:31
Heres Willem on the dunes.

GIVE IT THE BERRIES
AnswerID: 172477

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 11:39

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 11:39
You saying that Willem can get it up and up but not over the top ?? lol. noice one.
FollowupID: 428087

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 17:38

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 17:38
Hmmmm....I wish...lol
FollowupID: 428174

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 13:01

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 13:01
The downside of a bush trip..... coming home :-(

AnswerID: 172494

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:57

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:57
Yep, that too!!!
FollowupID: 428206

Reply By: Laura B - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 13:52

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 13:52
so the one item that shouldnt be forgotten thats not in your list is a tube of sealer!!!

Good to see ya back....will be coming your way around beg of sept....doing our trip backwards now.....

Laura
AnswerID: 172500

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 17:41

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 17:41
Yep had some sealer but it had gone hard...lol

Should be home by end August. Send me an email through my website below and I will send you a mudmap.

FollowupID: 428178

Reply By: Patrol22 - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 14:34

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 14:34
Willem - I've tried lots of stuff to keep the dust out...new seals, extra seals, silicone etc. The only thing I've found that works and works exceptionally well is to tap over the flow through vents (at the rear on both sides of my GU) and keep the front vents open and the fan on 2 or 3.....seems to keep a positive pressure at all seals and voila no dust inside. Works an ablsoute bloody treat.
BTW I've heaps of scratches down the sides of the GU from blackberries...welcome to come over and polish them out for me if you like...got a bed and a beer!!!! :-))
Pete
AnswerID: 172512

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 17:37

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 17:37
Pete

Thanks for tip on the vents. I finbd when the aircon is one the cabin pressure is good but dust still filtyers in through the rear doors

The other trouble is that I like to drive with my arm hangin out the window when in the scrub :-)

FollowupID: 428172

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:15

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:15
G'day Willie,

Re: # 4........I've gotta ask.......was it the Engel or the new Waeco that let dust in?

Re: # 11......Have you got the Patrol's gooseneck turned around such that the towball is as high as possible? Even so, a bit of lift (polyairs will do a reasonable job) will help avoid the "snow-plough" effect....so go for it. Another idea for a bit of extra lift, if you're happy enough with the suspension in other respects, would be to fit 4 of those coil spacers. They come in 15mm and 30mm sizes and give you a lift without spending big $$$$ on new springs. You may still need new/longer-travel shocks, but I doubt it.

AnswerID: 172549

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:34

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:34
Hiya Bill

4. The Engel.....Waeco lives in Xtrail

11. Tut tut Bill. Have been doing this for a while now. Yes gooseneck and Treg around right way.

Have ordered the Polyairs. My truck has OME 50mm lift springs and shocks. I think that the Polyairs have a better variance in height ride.

FollowupID: 428197

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:16

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:16
Interested in how you plan to do the flares.

MY GU has the rear door flare/placcy trims taped up with 100mph tape as they were falling off on the last trip. Looks as crappy as it is.
Was thinking of refixing & using a bead of silicone to assist wherever I can, but I am open to ideas.

re mudflaps - have made newbies a while back from black conveyor belting style material. Not very heavy stuff, quite flexible. Nut, bolt & big washer to avoid tears on the leading edge. Seems to be A O.K.

AnswerID: 172550

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:43

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:43
G'day Rick

The GQ has the 'extra' flaring which is attached to the body flares with plastic screws and plastic brackets. Some of the brackets are US. The mudflaps(already trimmed to the bare minimum) tear out of their screws.

I am going to find some flat alloy in strips and tek screw the flares to both sides.

The problem is that the mudflaps bend backwards when confronted by obstacles and then pull the flares out with them.

I will keep on repairing these till I find a better way.

Another thought is to fit those brush-like flares like to get on trucks.

We did not get to where Michael Terry went but a further expedition is already in the planning.

FollowupID: 428200

Reply By: navaraman - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:30

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:30
Willem a mate of mine has just started a wrecking business and I'm prety sure he has a couple of GQs. Might have that fusible link you are after.

Give him a call, Brad @ SA 4x4 DISMANTLERS ph 0410941682

AnswerID: 172551

Follow Up By: navaraman - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:31

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:31
Tell him Pat sent you.

Patrolman Pat
FollowupID: 428194

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:45

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:45
Thanks Pat,,,will ghive him a call on Monday
FollowupID: 428201

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 21:39

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 21:39
Willem,

I reckon there is no downside to a bush trip - its all good :-))
Spent today getting the truck ready, and dusting off the camping gear - pure bliss out in the shed.

phil
AnswerID: 172575

Reply By: Bros 1 - Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 08:23

Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 08:23
Willem,
Remember the old saying "All play and no work makes Willem a dull boy". LOL.
Post when you do the trip report bloke.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 172596

Reply By: burnsie - Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 12:00

Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 12:00
G'day Willem ; re drawbar idea, on some of the trailers we fabricate, the A frame ,[on the bottom], is plated with 3mm &where it goes under the body of the trailer we turn into a compartment. This also helps protect the axle assembly from" grading the crown of the track/sand.
Regards Bob
AnswerID: 172617

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 21:16

Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 21:16
Thanks Bob

My trailer axle is reasonably high off the ground as I run on 265/75/16 tyres. On the reecent trip I took out most obstacles with the centre crossmember of the Nissan. The front diff also received a polishing :o)

FollowupID: 428311

Reply By: Member - Camper (SA) - Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 12:21

Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 12:21
Hi Willem,
I grizzled about a piece of wire in a tyre as a result of Easter fun - no where near as bad as your problems.. Guess I wasn't trying hard enough.
Is the polyair idea that when you get into "drag-your rear" territory you get out the compressor and pump them up to provide instant, temporary lift instead of having a suspension jobbie? Have daydreamed about this idea for some time. Does it work?
Camper
AnswerID: 172619

Follow Up By: Keith_A (Qld) - Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 19:22

Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 19:22
Hi Camper - No. The poyairs must be inflated BEFORE you hook up the camper.
They cannot raise the rear once the load is on them. Our GU has a set, but they are only a partial solution. With the camper on, the GU rear end still drops 4" (even with 30psi in the polys). Exactly the same with our last 4be - with Polyairs.
Yes - I know - don't take so much gear.......Keith.
FollowupID: 428286

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 21:22

Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 21:22
G'day Camper

The Nissan has a 50mm lift

The idea of the Polyairs is to raise the profile of the rear of the vehicle. As I said, we bottomed out on the drawbar on numerous occassions....but it was extreme terrain.

I am not into 'raising' vehicles as I have seen the results out bush of 'lifted' trucks. They sway and bounce around alot.

FollowupID: 428315