Patrol Chassis . Now a disaster

Submitted: Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 19:07
ThreadID: 33952 Views:5154 Replies:3 FollowUps:21
a few might remember a post about a chassis issue a friend had on his GU Patrol. After inspection a crack was found near the rear spring saddle .

Thanks to the help of some forumites and other guru's in the industry. It is now a fact that it was caused by the Polly air bags. The bad part was , that it was cracked that bad , that it was a body of chassis repair at the discounted cost of 3 to 4 k .

Well I guess the old saying of a stick in time saves 9 holds water lol .

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 19:13

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 19:13
I am fitting Polyairs tomorrow

But then again, I drive a GQ ....more unbreakable than a Hi Lux....LOL

Is that TUFF 100 tough already or is it just the Big Wheels ?......hahahaha
AnswerID: 172997

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 19:22

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 19:22
tough enough lol . As said by Dean . Now it suits its number plates lol
FollowupID: 428698

Follow Up By: kesh - Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 19:22

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 19:22
Just read your reply Willem.
Thought the crack was in a Patrol chassis, not a hilux or 100 series.
You been on the old prickly pear rocket fuel again,eh? (and the polyairs will probably bust yours too!!)
kesh
FollowupID: 428700

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 19:33

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 19:33
kesh

you really are an annoying prick, aren't you

Whats your game?
FollowupID: 428705

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 19:33

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 19:33
Yes the problem affects GQ's too, they usually only crack the actual spring mount whereas the GU's crack the chassis. Not sure why maybe the chassis on a GU is thinner or they may have made the spring mount heavier which then loads up the chassis rails
They don't need polyairs to do it either, just the fitment of stiffer aftermarket springs and a heavy load.
Telstra had problems with the utes when loaded with those flash bodies on the back.
FollowupID: 428706

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 19:46

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 19:46
Maybe he's one of those little fellas Willem....you know the sort......... supplementing little things with cheap shots on here.
FollowupID: 428709

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 19:46

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 19:46

I have aftermarket springs fitted for about 18 months now and no problems. Have now resorted to towing a trailer and need a bit of help in the back of the truck. I try not to overload the vehicle(or rather spread the load more evenly). Also try to drive carefully. But that said, I gace the suspension a real hiding over the past few weeks albeit at a very slow pace.

FollowupID: 428710

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 19:51

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 19:51
LOL.......Brew
FollowupID: 428711

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 20:09

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 20:09
Bloody hell.............I must be sitting on a time bomb then!!!!!!!!!!! I have VERY stiff springs PLUS Polyairs and have had this set-up for most of the life of my GU (5 & half years and 193,000klm). Mine is always loaded to the gunwales with chit. If it ever give up, I'll probably take the opportunity to do a cut and shut with chassis extension, as I'd imagine it would be much easier to weld-up the chassis and spring mount if that part of the body was not in the way!!!!

Cheers all,

PS: Onya Willie....that bloody Kesh is a PITA
FollowupID: 428719

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 20:17

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 20:17
I'm the same as you roachie, stiffer springs on polyairs with a FULL load every day.
I'm wondering where and who to check for this problem as I feel if anyone will get this it's me.

R/Crawler,
Is this chasis crack easy to spot or is it something you have to scrape all the crap away from the chasis rail before you may even think about seeing it?

Cheers mate and thanks for the heads up.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 428724

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 20:33

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 20:33
I've seen several trucks with the problem, the GQ's seem to crack the actual spring seat itself on the chassi side where it is attached whereas the GU's crack the chassis alongside the welds that hold the spring seat to it. I've seen the cracks in a GQ wagon and ute and GU utes and also seen pics of the cracks in other GU wagons
There is a fella called Greg Cartan that writes articles for one of the mags and he has set up two GU utes with camper type bodies on the back. In one of the articles he had pics of the reinforcing done to the chassis and spring mounts before the body install to prevent it happening.
What happens is the upper spring mounts are welded on the inside of the chassis rails. Because the mount is cantilevered off the chassis it flexs which leads to the cracks. what they do to stop it is put a steel tube across the top of the chassis and the mounts from one side to the other side to stop them flexing.
I'd reckon that while lots of privately owned vehicles are loaded/overloaded frequently they are not subjected to carrying those loads continuously all day every day on corrugated dirt roads either which is why most do not have a problem (like Roachies).
FollowupID: 428737

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 20:46

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 20:46
Willem,
Ya wont have any problems with polyair's fitted mate. I had them on my old GQ 600,000 kms of air born rought abuse with no hint of problems and i run them on my current GQ (which i treat gently as its my fav).

Nice report on the trip too, enjoy reading anything you type mate.
ange
FollowupID: 428743

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 22:04

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 22:04
>>> Now it suits its number plates lol

what tufloo?
FollowupID: 428797

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 23:03

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 23:03
not easy to spot at first , but you can on a hoist. iside of the chassis spreding to the top . I believe there is a strenthening kit on the market to provent this happening .

As for you mr Truckster , you may want to hold back hanging bleep till I give you your vehicle lol
FollowupID: 428849

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 23:33

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 23:33
I might get
SUX2BU
FollowupID: 428861

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 23:39

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 23:39
https:// www.vplates.com.au/ipbuildplate.asp
FollowupID: 428863

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Wednesday, May 17, 2006 at 00:45

Wednesday, May 17, 2006 at 00:45
sorry bud , detailer dosnt feel well tomorrow , your car should be ready by next week lol

Maby lol
FollowupID: 428874

Follow Up By: kesh - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 14:19

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 14:19
Ah Willem, poor Willem.
Annoying prick am I, eh. Dont you ever consider the rules of this forum when you dish out the flames?
I did nothing more than provide a rib tickle, but my, dont you bite. Remember Willam, its one thing to dish it out, but taking it back is another.
I suppose when you grow as big as you did, its only natural the skin becomes a trifle thin.
Pump those air bags up tite, they have a lot to carry.
with best wishes ......... the kesh
FollowupID: 429658

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 16:59

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 16:59
Yes kesh and I take nothing back.

Please tell me what your agenda is.

You revert to offensive diatribe which seems to be part and parcel of your make up. I also referred to comments made by you against me, whilst I was away travelling. Personal abuse is not warranted but I respond as I see fit and the 'prick' comment is the way I see your actions. You start something and I will respond. As for the rules of the forum, if it was against policy, then this thread or part of it would have been deleted by now.

Something that I do or have done annoys you, and you cannot resist taking a shot at me at any opportunity. I do hope it goes on annoying you.

FollowupID: 429666

Reply By: Crackles - Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 22:18

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 22:18
RC.........how was it proven a fact that the Polyairs caused the chassis to crack? Of the 2 GU Patrol utes I've personally seen fail neither had them fitted, just heavily loaded council vehicles with tipper bodys. With the trays removed it looked obvious why they cracked.............Nissan didn't put enough steel in a few critical places for people who like to overload their trucks.
Cheers Craig...........
HZJ105
AnswerID: 173031

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 22:19

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 at 22:19
yea there have been a couple on OL that have suffered from same as you mention.

The tin they use for shock plates was the problem, but they were used very hard these trucks.
FollowupID: 428805

Follow Up By: traveller2 - Wednesday, May 17, 2006 at 15:09

Wednesday, May 17, 2006 at 15:09
Anything that increases the stiffness of the suspension and in turn transmits the road shock to the chassis will hasten the problem.
The problem is we all overload our vehicles and then when we beef them up wonder why they break.
The vast majority are used with little or no load so consequently not too many have any problem. The same happens to all vehicle makes, they are engineered/designed to do a job, just!! no more and when those parameters are exceeded something will break or wear out prematurely.
FollowupID: 428977

Reply By: conman - Wednesday, May 17, 2006 at 19:04

Wednesday, May 17, 2006 at 19:04
Hi eric,

What does that repair involve? Why is it so expensive? Have never heard of that before. It obviously involve more than running a weld over it.
AnswerID: 173187

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 13:49

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 13:49
main issue for this repair , is that the body has to come off the chassis yo get to it .
FollowupID: 429738