Larger tyres on a 3.0l Turbo Patrol manual

Submitted: Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 01:12
ThreadID: 3403 Views:1576 Replies:9 FollowUps:11
Standard tyres on the patrol are 265/70/16 thats @784mm Diameter.
Thinking about putting on a better set of rubber 265/75 or similar around the 800mm diameter mark.
Anyone know how this effects the vehicle in relation to economy, turbo settings and general driveability etc.???

Reply By: Cam - Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 10:54

Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 10:54
Andrew,
I just put a set of 265/75's on at Xmas & have noticed no dramatic effect (adverse or otherwise) to the economy & driveability. I did however notice that the speedo, which was reading approx 10% over with the smaller 265/70's, is now dead on. I would assume that economy would be slightly improved.
AnswerID: 13297

Reply By: Member - Andrew O - Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 13:06

Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 13:06
Its a small point but one well worth noting, you can get an alternate tyre placard for the car, which will keep everything legal with this tyre size. The Nissan (Australia) Part No is: 99090VB000A It covers 265/75R16LT tyres with a speed category of N.
Anyone with different tyres would be well advised to get hold of this.
AnswerID: 13299

Follow Up By: Andrew - Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 16:24

Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 16:24
Thanks Andrew..

I'm a bit of novice when it comes to the mechanical side of things. This placard you refer to, what is it, different computer management chip or what??

FollowupID: 7814

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew O - Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 17:14

Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 17:14
Andrew,
Trust me ... nothing mechanical ... its the tyre pressure recommendation sticker thats inside the glove box. It also gives the tyre size, minimum load rating and minimum speed rating for the car. Doesn't affect car performance, only affects your hip pocket if the insurance company finds out and refuses a claim because of tyres not complying with the placard.
Andrew O
FollowupID: 7819

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen- Tuesday, Feb 18, 2003 at 13:34

Tuesday, Feb 18, 2003 at 13:34
Would I require a new placard if I have just stuck some 285/75R16 tyres on my 100 series LC (834mm diam). The original size was 275/70R16 (791mm diam). If I do need a new placard - where would I get one from?

btw I live in NSW.

Thanks in advance.
FollowupID: 7861

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew O - Tuesday, Feb 18, 2003 at 14:04

Tuesday, Feb 18, 2003 at 14:04
There seems to be confusion over the diameter changes. I THINK the RTA allows 15mm change - but check on their website. Not sure if the LC has an alternate placard.

The prime issue for me is to ensure the tyres adhere to the load and speed rating (I'm not planning on going any further than 265/75R16) and in the Patrol, these are almost certainly compromised when moving to a LT style tyre.

Andrew O
FollowupID: 7863

Follow Up By: Wil - Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 21:17

Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 21:17
Question for Stephen.
Whats the performance of the 285/75R16 like compared to 275/70R16? I am thinking about the change myself. Thanks.
FollowupID: 8092

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen- Monday, Feb 24, 2003 at 14:10

Monday, Feb 24, 2003 at 14:10
G'day Wil,
I've only just stuck the 285/75R16's (Cooper ST's) on my 100 series diesel LC last weekend, the only driving I've done with them is a bit of town stuff and the 280ish km from Mildura to Broken Hill.

Initial performance/impressions:
* The LC sits on 110 k's easier (engine doesn't sound as busy/ feels like it has "longer legs"). Bear in mind you have to make corrections for the speedo (5% in my case).
* The overtaking thang is a bit of a longer process, however, I was driving with a rhino roofrack for the first time which is a bit of an air anchor.
* Acceleration from stop signs etc.. is about the same - say from 0 to 60, but the lower gears are held slightly longer.
* The brakes feel the same (I was expecting to push a bit harder for the same deceleration).
* Can't say yet about fuel economy yet (too many different variables in such a short distance) although I "feel" it would be improved slightly for highway speeds.
* Wife (5'1") complained again that the LC is getting higher and higher off the ground and getting more difficult to climb into - too bad.

I hope this was the sort of thing you were after, unfortunately I've only had them for a week and have only a bit of highway and a tiny bit of dirt driving under my belt on them.

Stephen J.
FollowupID: 8226

Reply By: Truckster - Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 15:53

Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 15:53
I have a mate runnng 35's and his brother 36's on their 3.0 GU's.

Neither seem to complain about it, infact Steve with teh Q78 Swampers on his, swears by them.

His brother has just gone to 35in MTRs and also swears by them.
One is into serious offroading the others a girl :P
AnswerID: 13311

Follow Up By: Member - Moggs - Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 20:04

Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 20:04
Which Roly is a girl??
FollowupID: 7831

Follow Up By: Truckster - Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 22:28

Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 22:28
Im not sayin :P
FollowupID: 7842

Reply By: sean - Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 19:33

Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 19:33
I have 265/75/a6 on 3.0 nissan. made 40 km difference in 1000 ks (4%) which actually made speedo close to spot-on rather than push it out.

As for economy, it made it worse, probably due to the lugs.

Driveablity is very good with the all terrains (but I am not recommending BFG's above any other)

Sean
AnswerID: 13338

Reply By: Derek - Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 22:23

Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 22:23
Andrew. I have taller tyres on my 80 series and put them on for the sole purpose of increasing my ground clearance. However I noticed the following :- the speedo and odeometer read wrong (as you would expect); revs are less for actual ground speed; acceleration has suffered and most importantly of all, the braking has suffered. As for the economy, I can't help you but I can understand why it would worsen...the engine is no longer running at its optimum rpm. Give all this careful thought before you buy.
AnswerID: 13359

Reply By: jason_poole - Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 23:32

Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 23:32
this will not affect your insurance as long as you keep the same or higher load rating on your tyre.(it is illegal to have a lower load rating).a lower speed rating is not a problem all you need is to get the tyre shop that fits them to put a sticker on the inside of the windscreen that states the vehicle has been fitted with tyres that have a lower speed rating than is shown on the tyre placard.(they use these when fitting retreads)anyway,with duty of care the tyre shop could be held liable if they fit tyres that are illegal.not sure what state you are in but in qld you are allowed to go 25mm taller and stay legal.
AnswerID: 13367

Reply By: desert - Tuesday, Feb 18, 2003 at 17:18

Tuesday, Feb 18, 2003 at 17:18
Andrew, you would be interested to know that Nissan GU Tray backs are fitted with LT265/75x16 standard rubber as oppossed to 70 series rubber. The difference would be barely noticable for you.
AnswerID: 13405

Follow Up By: Andrew - Tuesday, Feb 18, 2003 at 22:28

Tuesday, Feb 18, 2003 at 22:28
No worries

I think the tray backs are 4.2 TD, mine is the 3.0 TD, but by general consensus in the forum it looks like 265/75 are the way to go.
FollowupID: 7878

Reply By: Tim - Tuesday, Feb 18, 2003 at 19:50

Tuesday, Feb 18, 2003 at 19:50
im running 285/75/16 coopers and find it great with the spedo being ok
AnswerID: 13417

Follow Up By: Andrew - Tuesday, Feb 18, 2003 at 22:30

Tuesday, Feb 18, 2003 at 22:30
Tim, has your economy suffered. I'm a bit anal about economy, always looking for the most out of each tank...?
FollowupID: 7879

Follow Up By: Tim - Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 07:08

Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 07:08
andrew - cant answer this question as this is the only tyre ive had since new - car (gu3 - 3.0 td - manual) is returning inbetween 13 to 15 lts per 100klms city driving with a small amount of freeway work - regards tim
FollowupID: 8016

Reply By: Andrew - Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 20:39

Friday, Feb 21, 2003 at 20:39
Tim

Your economy could be suffering a bit with big tyres...With the standard equipment I get about 12L/100km's highway and better around town.
Mine is a manual too. GUIII.

AnswerID: 13699