Landcruiser100 Fuel Consumption Figures?

Submitted: Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 10:40
ThreadID: 34061 Views:4233 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
Please can anyone give me the City fuel consumption figures for 100 series Landcruiser: 1) Diesel (non-turbo,) 2) Petrol 6cyl, 3) V8?
Or tell me where to search for them?
Toyota website is not clear.

Is there much difference?
ta
Rod Blitvich

Reply By: jp - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 11:01

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 11:01
Rod,
100 Series 6 cyc petrol City and towing and beach work 4.8 to 5 ks per lt or about 21 l/100. Does not seam to vairy much.
AnswerID: 173640

Reply By: Member- Rox (WA) - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 12:44

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 12:44
Diesel is 12Lt/100km 1HZ non turbo
AnswerID: 173649

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 16:24

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 16:24
That's pretty good. I found I got around 14.8 from a 2004 1HZJ105 in A1 condition over 2,500km's. Speed was verified with GPS and tyres were correctly inflated 7.50 / 16's. No roof racks, no trailer.
FollowupID: 429663

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 19:42

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 19:42
Im with you on this one V8,towing our camper from Tassie to Kununurra we averaged about 16(this was with a stuffed pump though)now the pump has been done its back to around 13-14 but havent towed with it yet.According to the locals around here this is pretty std for this model.
FollowupID: 429680

Reply By: P.G. (Tas) - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 13:09

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 13:09
Hi Blitto, just a few points. I had a 100 series petrol Cruiser and found in the end that purchase price + running costs + servicing them both, works out to be near enough on the same.

Petrol model has a lower purchase price.

Toyota book servicing requires diesel models to be done every 5,000k or 2,500k under servere conditions, ie towing, short trips (under 20k) or city driving.

Toyota book servicing requires petrol models 10,000k to be done every 10,000k or 5,000 k under servere conditions, ie towing, short trips (under 20k) or city driving.

Petrol prices are currently cheaper than diesel.

Diesel servicing is more expensive than petrol servicing (done properly).

Diesel is better for towing heavy loads, petrol is better in sand.

In the end it's horses for courses.

AnswerID: 173651

Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 16:58

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 16:58
Mate of mine kept accurate records for two years on a V8 - 16 l per 100. Vehicle was standard in all aspects

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

AnswerID: 173674

Reply By: Barks - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 17:19

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 17:19
Hi Rod,

My experience, all different driving conditions over tens of thousands of km....
All land cruisers - pretty much factory with a bulbar:

Litre per 100km
V8 - 14.95 (50% time with Thule roof box)
TD - 13.85
D - 14.65

V8 Best actual range (not estimated; actual) was 1060km on both tanks.
Average calculated range based on consumption – V8 - 958km, TD – 1051km.

V8 is amazing in the sand, doing dunes at coral bay in the V8 the TD wouldn’t have a chance at………

Mate has got a 6cyl 4500 that is very thirsty, when towing a car trailer he used both tanks in 300km! 48 L/100km (driving it very hard but)

Barks
-------------------------------------
This is what I posted a few weeks ago…

I've had both a TD and V8 cruiser.

did 230k in the 80 series TD and I'm up to 50k in the 2003 V8.

For work I am currently driving at new (5000km) standard diesel 100 series that gets worse econ than the V8.

The V8 is cheaper to run (overall) than the TD and way cheaper than the naturally aspirated D.

I took a showroom TD for a test drive the other day to pass some time - what a noisy, rattly, SLOW and unenjoyable experience......

TD econ Pilbara family stuff - 13.85 l/100km - (many long trips at 110 kmh)
V8 - Bendigo town - 14.99
V8 - Camping CT and roof box - 16.64
V8 towing 4T boat and roof box - 25.63 (1000km trip, 100km/h full noise - great fun!!!)

Check out the NRMA website go to vehicle, operating costs - get a surprise!!

--------------------------------------------------
Fuel costs (not including service costs) for 50,000 km with ULP $1.30 p/l and Diesel $1.40p/l:

V8 Cruiser $9746

TD Cruiser $9692

Std D NA 100 series cruiser $10,253 (I drive one for work for two weeks every month - brand new Thrifty (up to 30thou km) absolute pigs.

My gutless 2WD 4cyl pertol Mazda ute $6500.

Estimate V8 cruiser on gas $7500 (gas at 60cpl) (not worth it?)

VL calais 6 cyl - $8340

Mates 2.8L TD Patrol - $9751 (13.93 k/100km - he sold after 8 mths from new)

-----------------------------------

TD Cruisers are a lot more expensive to maintain - nearly 80% of the service manual is for the TD - and not the cheap stuff either. V8 is oil every 10k, with a 40k major that cost me about $380 at Bgo Toyota (from memory?) anyway it was pretty reasonable.

Depreciation? - check out the NRMA website as depreciation is included in the operating cost calculations.

Insurance - I think mine is about $500 - $600 pa? something like that...

When Diesel gets to be about 80% the price of ULP (if it ever does) then I will think about going back to a TD.
AnswerID: 173676

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 18:55

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 18:55
blitto,

The 100scool site has a database with some fuel consumption figures from various members.
I've been tracking my consumption in a TD100 since new and was averaging 14L/100 with roofrack and loaded cargo space on a fairly standard setup. Just had the suspension done and shod with 33's and the fuel consumption has started to fluctuate a fair bit, up as high as 18L/100. I'm trying to work out what's going on.
AnswerID: 173691

Follow Up By: crewser - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 09:20

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 09:20
33"s would put the speedo out, might be "whats going on". my 100s with 33"s is 5-10kmh out at 100kmh speedo reads 90-95kmh.
FollowupID: 429723