Patrol GU 3l diesel - Problems?

Submitted: Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 12:59
ThreadID: 34063 Views:3788 Replies:13 FollowUps:46
Having spend the last 4 hours searching the Web - I thought it just easier to ask a question.

Is there a realability problem with the 3l ST turbo models?

We have 2 such vehicles - one built around July 02 and one a little later (around Jan 03).

Doing the maths - yes, both are just out of warenty and we were not aware of the extended waranty option until after the three years expired on the second vehicle.

The earlier vehicle needed a turbo replacement (sounded like it was being passed by an ambulance) at 75,000 km. To their credit, Nissan looked after this even though it was just out of warrenty.

Now, at about 80,000 it has been losing coolant and is currently having the head gasket replaced. Is that all?

The newer patrol has an odd turbo noise when cold - sounds a bit like the first one did a few months before the ambulance moved under the hood.

Is there a problem here and what should I expect in terms of Nissan?

I do not want to go on a "Nissan bash" - I have previously had a Bluebird that I bought new and drove into the ground without missing a beat and now have a TI Maxima that I love - so have we just been unlucky with the Patrols?

Reply By: rod69 - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 13:19

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 13:19
gday,iI also have a 2002 patrol been going great so far . Also was losing coolant ,same thing regards warranty,3yrs or 100000 k the car had 63000 on the speedo and water pump was shot. Prceeded to get up Nissan paid for pump ,cost me couple hunrded for labour.Check the pump , no turbo probs.yet.Have tricked it up a little ,dtronic and 3in stainless system Apleasure to drive now,very little turbo lag . I tow a 21ft van no worries
AnswerID: 173656

Follow Up By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 13:37

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 13:37
Hi Rod69,

I noticed in your reply that you mentioned that you had a D-Tronic as well as a 3" exhaust system fitted. I was going to fit a new exhaust but was told by Safari that changing it would make the D-Tronic less effective as it is set to the normal Nissan specifications and that the larger exhaust would greatly effect its efficiency.

Sound like you are not having that problem?

Is yours a manual or auto transmission(mines manual)

Cheers, Patrick

FollowupID: 429657

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 19:48

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 19:48
Hmmmm, I CANNOT see why a larger exaust would hamper the performance of ANY turbo diesel...

I think someone at safari is making stuff up to try and sound like they know what they are talking about but actuall don't have a clue.

I'd be putting the bigger exaust on.

Maybe I'm wrong, but I doubt it.
FollowupID: 429683

Follow Up By: P.G. (Tas) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 12:11

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 12:11
G'day all.

I recently went to my custom exhaust centre and inquired about a 3" system for my GU III 3.0, and was told frankly not to waiste my money on 3" unless I put a bigger turbo on.

It seems the standard turbo has a 2.5" outlet, thus the 3" system will make bugger all difference over a 2.5" system. They were happy to fit a 3" system, but there was nearly a $100 difference.

Anyone else heard anything about this?

FollowupID: 429732

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 12:22

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 12:22
But what about the sound!?!?!? :-)

Surley it would still help, I changed mine from 2" to 2.5" and never changed the dump pipe size. It still made a difference. Mind you I removed both mufflers and replaced with a single sports muffler too.

I may be wrong here as I'm no turbo expert but it still would reduce EGT's wouldn't it? And you've got to remeber that unless you get a mandral bent exaust fitted, all those twists and turns are going to reduce the overall flow of the exaust, having a bigger exaust would help the air move round those bends with less restriction.
FollowupID: 429733

Follow Up By: P.G. (Tas) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 12:39

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 12:39
G'day Jeff.

As far as I understand it, on my GU III, I could fit a 10" exhaust and it wouldn't make a bit off difference because the 2.5" outlet from the turbo will only flow so much exhaust gas through the hole.

A straight through mandrel bent 2.5" system is as good as it gets, unless you modify the turbo.

FollowupID: 429734

Follow Up By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 12:53

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 12:53
I am still interested to hear from Rod69 as to his set up using both the D-Tronic and the after market exhaust system.

Cheers, Patrick
FollowupID: 429735

Reply By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 13:32

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 13:32
I recently had the turbo replaced, thankfully under warranty with just 50,000Klms on the clock. Mine is a June 03 manufacturer and does not run out of warranty until December. I have already taken out the extended warranty with Nissan as I just want to ensure that I will not be up for any major repairs in the coming years.

This prompted me to have a conversation with my mechanic who has a 3.0 TD Patrol himself. He reconds that the motors have not been around long enough to have developed a history of its own. He said the 4.2 is well know and has certain e3xpectations of repairs, possible problems that can be addressed without too much of a worry. The 3.0TD dont have this time luxury.

There seems to have been a number of vehicles lately who have had either turbo oir leaks or head problems such as you have mentioned. I have faith in the product but do hope that there is not more problems that need to be addressed in the future.

My fingers are well and truely crossed with the reliability question as they are not a cheap vehicle to start with and I am not in the position of being able to change it in the near future to another brand.

Unfortunately, time will be the judge on the 3.0TD.

Cheers, Patrick
AnswerID: 173658

Reply By: RosscoH - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 13:34

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 13:34
Hi Patroltas, Some early GU's did have a problem with the 3lt. I have a 2000 model with 125000ks on it and never had a spanner on it (touch wood). Try this site, it will give you a lot of good info on them: WWW.lonards-automotives.com.au/patrol html.
Cheers Rossco.
AnswerID: 173659

Reply By: Member - Charlie M (SA) - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 14:24

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 14:24
Try search on 3.0 ltr patrol engine on this site
Charlie
AnswerID: 173663

Reply By: Kenell - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 15:45

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 15:45
Patroltas,

My 8/03 build GU 3.0ltr has been with my Nissan dealer since 2nd week of April while I have been "negotiating" with Nissan over a faulty cylinder head. I have been expecting it back for a week and a bit now.
The head had to be sent off to an engineering shop for testing to establish that there was a fault in the casting. The warranty expired in Nov 05 and the car had done 101,000ks when the fault emerged. I was aware of the extended warranty option but the service manager actually convinced me not to worry about it. Said they should do 500,000ks without a problem. I discovered this web site all too late !!
Nissan initially knocked me back on the repairs saying I should have taken the extended warranty. I then went into second gear and without doing my block asked for further consideration. They then offered me parts only but I had to pay for the engineers report and labour - about $2200. I authorised repairs and continued to negotiate saying I wanted the report if I was going to be paying for it. I also said I wanted the old head. At this juncture the dealer came back and said that Nissan would pick up the engineer's costs and they wanted to keep the head. They also said they would invoice me labour costs at warranty rate rather than retail. I am now expecting a bill with oils and coolant etc of around $1400.
Like you I love the truck and it has been a delight. It has circled Oz with a camper and boat including Kalumburu and GRR etc. I am grateful it didn't let me down in some of the places it could have and I am also grateful to get out of the mess I have been in for the last 6 weeks with only $1400 cost. It was looking like $5000+ at one stage.
I am now wrestling with the idea of what to do with it when I get it back. Like you I have put some bits n pieces into it that owe me more than $10k. This is my second Patrol but my first diesel. Much as I hate to admit it I think my next Nissan will wear a Toyota badge. Not looking forward to facing my mates when that happens - I have been a fierce advocate for this vehicle almost to the point of the "Toyota Recovery Point" sticker on the back. I would advocate that anyone who has the opportunity should take the extended warranty.

Kenell
AnswerID: 173670

Follow Up By: Member - George (WA) - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 16:01

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 16:01
Kenell, swallow the pride and make the change. I must declare, one eyed about Toyotas. My last LC did 500,000 km without major problems. My new one, 2006, is another LC
FollowupID: 429662

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 13:11

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 13:11
Don't do it Ken. Because you know the next time we are sitting together at Kalumburu you'll be telling me what a bad idea it was - buying that yota that is not the fishing mate because we know it's all good.

Theo
FollowupID: 430214

Reply By: Pilbara1 - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 16:12

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 16:12
Patroltas,
Unfortunately i have heard and seen too many stories with the 3ltr TD such as a mate who's car would shudder from 75km/h to 110km/h after this it was ok (but then breaking speed limit). They had everybody look at the set up of that car and could not get it right. Another acquaintance had his turbo "melt down" after a 4hr highway run with a camper trailer on the back, believe that car only had 75000 on it. I have just upgraded to the new 3ltr Prado as i have not heard of any motor issues with these cars. They are a bit dated and under powered but are bullet proof according to my research. Hope you get by for the next 10yrs.
AnswerID: 173673

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 19:54

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 19:54
Gotta love the 1KZ-TE! ;-)

Runs good on B100 too, I'm on my 4th 210L drum and she runs better than ever. Mines 11 years old, so I think you'll get at LEAST a good 10 years out of her if you look after it!
FollowupID: 429684

Follow Up By: Alfantz - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 11:02

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 11:02
I have just 'upgraded' from an 01 3ltr Prado to an 04 3ltr Patrol. The reason for this was a broken front diff. Toyota breaking front diffs are just as common as early 3ltr Patrol engine probs.
FollowupID: 429898

Follow Up By: Off-track - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 15:19

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 15:19
That's arguable but numbers aside I know what I would rather break if I had a choice in it.
FollowupID: 429942

Reply By: djpatrol - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 19:06

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 19:06
Dont feel bad you 3 liter owners i have a 99 -4.2td which had a Short Motor Replacement at 3000km had a fight on my hands all the way with Nissan but you gotta put the Pressure on them and not back down as I did Dont Give In I love my poor mans Lobster.Im not a CRUISER MAN.
AnswerID: 173695

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 19:59

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 19:59
Obviously I own a Toyota and if there's ever a bleep contest, I'll pay out on all you Nissan freaks without a hesitation. Well, that was until all this 3.0L TD patrol stuff started.

I actually can't bring myself to pull the bleep out of you guys anymore, I feel so solom for all you blokes...

It's actually quite sad, I've own a few nissans in the past, Skyline, Pintara, Bluebird, Maxima. All great cars, just brilliant to drive and reliability +++

What happened?? Where did they go so, so terribly wrong? These stories just get worse and worse. At first we are told it's only one problem and it's with the older (first generation) patrols. Ok, so they messed up with a new motor. It happens. But what the hell is going on with these heads and turbo's and everything else... My god Nissan! You are even making Toyota owners cry!
AnswerID: 173701

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 20:50

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 20:50
One Word....

Renault
FollowupID: 429685

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 14:01

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 14:01
Actually I think the one word my be....

Turbo

or more specifically control of the Turbo.

I don't think anyone has really got to the bottom of the issue with the 3.0Di yet but most problems seem to relate to overboosting/fueling and the Turbo itself. Being an electronically controlled variable vane unit with no wastegate control IMHO any control issues will have consequences. Interesting the Navara does not seem to have the same issues with the same basic engine. I think the other problems like cracked heads and head gasket leaks and so forth are uncommon and probably no more than those accepted as normal with most makes.

IMHO a boost and EGT gauge are a must if you have a 3.0Di. Any abnormal behavior seen to immediately.

Also FWIW the 3.0Di is supplied by Nissan to Renault, in fact the only such item in the technology sharing agreement between the two.
FollowupID: 429739

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 14:07

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 14:07
" I think the other problems like cracked heads and head gasket leaks and so forth are uncommon and probably no more than those accepted as normal with most makes. "

Most of my cars I have bought with close to or over 100,000k's on them so am not well versed in warranty issues, however I would be interested to here from ANYONE who has had any other make of diesel engine with a cracked head under 100,000k's who has not previously cooked the motor. I honestly don't know if there are any out there or not, but my gut would tell me that this would be near on un heard of. I cannot imagine how I would feel having bought a $60k car with a diesel engine and having the thing crack a head under 100k. It would completly devistate me.
FollowupID: 429740

Follow Up By: Axle - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 14:34

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 14:34
My thoughts as well!, only Iwould burn the Ba..... .rd.
FollowupID: 429744

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 22:36

Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 22:36
When I take my vehicle into the bush, I want to be sure that its reliable enough to get me out again. So I guess its been Toyota for me.

But I love my Nissans - we have 3 pulsars, 1 skyline and now an X-trail in the family - they are brilliant vehicles, very economical and 100% reliable, but I don't think the ZD30 is in the same league.

If you're looking for a new vehicle, I'd suggest you buy whatever you are confident with that will not die in the desert.

AnswerID: 173713

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 12:32

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 12:32
>>> If you're looking for a new vehicle, I'd suggest you buy whatever you are confident with that will not die in the desert.

I wonder what will happen when this actually does occur to some poor dude... Nisasn knew of the issue for 4 yrs, did nothing to recall them... Cant wait!
FollowupID: 430197

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 13:15

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 13:15
So Phil, why not the 4800? Been very reliable, powerful if not a little thirsty.

FollowupID: 430216

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 13:22

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 13:22
Hi Beatit,

From what I understand, teh 4800 is a godo reliable vehicle.
But I need to take 300 litres of diesel on my next desert trip.

If I were to take a 4800 patrol (or a V8 100series for that matter), I would need to take over 400 litres unleaded. Next question is how to store the extra fuel - even with the big aftermarket tanks fitted, I'd still need to carry say 7 jerries of petrol, and I wouldn't want to carry them inside the vehicle. Also got the issue of very hot exhaust and spinifex.

Thats pretty much the only reason I like diesel.

phil
FollowupID: 430220

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 13:25

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 13:25
Sorry about the spelling - fingers and brain not coordinated
FollowupID: 430223

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 13:31

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 13:31
G'day Phil,

It is certainly a good reason for diesel but my golly what a trip if you need this much fuel. I get about 3.2 K/Litre towing in the soft stuff so I can relate to the fuel issue, the SD crossing we did last year used 181 litres but we were really loaded so I guess short of doing something like the CSR I am still able to do most trips. The real bonus though is the power for pulling my trailer, my mates fully loaded Rodeo with trailer attached all at the same time over the sand dunes.

Theo
FollowupID: 430226

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 18:23

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 18:23
Hi Theo,
Thats what the 6 cyl diesels need to carry to do the Madigan line across the north Simpson. When I owned a Prado, it could get from Oodnadatta to Birdsville on 100 litres but when I did the Madigan line in 2004, it used 180litres. Greater distance, but also very slow going in Low Range. I like to get into town with a comfortable 40-60litres up my sleeve.
FollowupID: 430315

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 22:44

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 22:44
4.8s are great value now, down to low $20k's!

Whats depreciation?
FollowupID: 430415

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, May 24, 2006 at 08:52

Wednesday, May 24, 2006 at 08:52
Good buying at that price but stick with the auto IMO. Hey Truckie this has got to be a better option than the chev conversion - you could own 2 at that price. Depreciation is a figment in the mind of car dealers and insurance companies that are trying to screw you for everyone else it doesn't matter if you hang on to the truck.

FollowupID: 430455

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, May 24, 2006 at 10:30

Wednesday, May 24, 2006 at 10:30
Hi Phil,

That's a nice set up you have there. What I've found with my Nissan is that when I'm loaded and towing the trailer, the fuel usage is pretty predictable and I've not had consumption worse than 3.2 K/L in fact in our Simpson crossing we did better. I have 185 litres in tanks and another 80 in jerries so on our last trip when we used 181 litres we could have done thast with just the tank but I plan for a reasonable worse case which is 3.2 for me and I allow for additional distances - in case a detour is required.

FollowupID: 430475

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 14:49

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 14:49
Yep Ive got to admitt thats what's stopping me updateing mine is all this electronic stuff, I know thats the way everything is heading but I'm obviously not earning the $$$ alot of you guys are cause if spent $50/70k on a new patrol and it shat itself I would be one pi@@ed of person and no doubt there is alot out there that are feeling just that.My old girl now has 280k on it now 2 full trips round oz and still going. Yes its annoying being gutless up the hills without been turbo'd but hey less to go wrong.We have just bought the new camper so will now be towing as well but hey I'm in no hurry (luckily) so it doesnt bother me. I knew when I bought the hilux is was slow so I just shup up and put up. Maybe when the old girl dies (hopefully not any time soon) I will go the 1kz motor as replacement or I might just put in the 5L. I could only say to anybody thinking of buying a new 4by whether it toyota or nissan is to take out the extra care warranty cause 20k is a lot of money to find when it all goes wrong. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 173786

Reply By: rod69 - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 20:02

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 20:02
Patrick ,
by fitting dtronic and exhaust system makes it a lot smoother /responsive vehicle.Had it dynoed when exhaust was fitted ,figures of about 137 hp at the wheels.Dropped exhaust temp to around 500.celcius.Also talked to ARB about the dtronic no worries about it which they duely fitted.I have also fitted a water injection kit to cool inlet temp to turbo and aThermoGuard pyrometer to ensure engine temps do not sneak up when towing my 21ft, van Rgards Rod69
AnswerID: 173829

Follow Up By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 19:36

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 19:36
Hey Rod69,

Thanks for the feedback but you didn't tell me if your car is a manual or automatic. The autos did not seem to suffer the turbo lags that the manuals did.

I have been thinking about a Thermoruard pyrometer for some time but just have not got around to buying one. Soon maybe.

Cheers, Patrick
FollowupID: 430005

Follow Up By: rod69 - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 19:43

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 19:43
patroltas,
See my reply 11 on post mine is a manual 3llitre. custom made exhaust ie, didnt alter outlet size of dump pipe 2 1/2 in goes thru flex joint into 3in all way thru turbo sports muffler. Ive been told gases are swirling and escape a lot better.I emailed DTRNIC they said beware but if you look at their web pages on the reviewers page they fitted one to 3inch system and say it worked terrific.
ps Ihad the wrong name on reply old age I guess Rod 69
FollowupID: 430011

Follow Up By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 19:58

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 19:58
Rod69,

Interesting read that article on the Safari site. It certainly is in contradiction to what they told me when I made inquires earlier in the year.

All I need to do now is check with Nissan to see if the larger exhaust effects my warranty.

Thanks, Patrick
FollowupID: 430019

Follow Up By: rod69 - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 12:08

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 12:08
Patrick
Have a look at taipanxp.com.au They make sell them off the shelfI got mine made in Mackay (home) If you are in Brisbane saw the TAIPAN systems at caravan shown . They have a business at Nerang
cheers Rod
FollowupID: 430187

Follow Up By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 17:25

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 17:25
Thanks Rod, I will follow that up with Taipan.

Cheers, Patrick
FollowupID: 430302

Reply By: camship - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 11:11

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 11:11
The age old issue; Boosting more power out of a small engine, the longevity is decreased. How many ks do you get out of a V8 supercar race engine or rally engine. At the end of the day to make more power reliably you must increase the size of the engine.
Hence Mercedes AMG switching to 6.2 nat atmo v8 from 5.5 supercharged v8.
AnswerID: 173937

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 12:19

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 12:19
'At the end of the day to make more power reliably you must increase the size of the engine.
Hence Mercedes AMG switching to 6.2 nat atmo v8 from 5.5 supercharged v8'

You have contradited yourself!

Leroy
FollowupID: 429911

Follow Up By: DARREN - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 18:46

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 18:46
Camship, "you're dreamin" or stuck in the 70's

Have you not heard of technology?

FollowupID: 429984

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 19:16

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 19:16
camship,

how?? you say you must increase the size of the engine for more power but you say that merc are downsizing for more power from 6.2 to 5.5!

Leroy
FollowupID: 429995

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 12:34

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 12:34
DARREN posted this followup
Camship, "you're dreamin" or stuck in the 70's

Have you not heard of technology?

yes.. the 3.0 GU is a prime example of technology working.
send me happily back to the 70/80's where you could crash a STEEL(NOT PLASTIC) car and reverse out and drive home.
FollowupID: 430200

Follow Up By: DARREN - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 12:45

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 12:45
as is your "insightful" online comment,

no one said you weren't allowed to drive an old shytter if you choose.

yeah man take me back to the 70's.........
FollowupID: 430203

Follow Up By: camship - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 13:20

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 13:20
Yeah you're right Truckster, thats why cars are so much more reliable these days.LOL.
Hey, I buy and sell cars for a living. Technology has done wonders for many companies. But if you think it is any easier to make a small engine go faster, more reliably these days, your dreaming.
Lets see what happens with the 2.5.
FollowupID: 430218

Follow Up By: camship - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 13:23

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 13:23
Sorry Truckster my appologies, I should read before typing.
Any Darren...
FollowupID: 430221

Follow Up By: DARREN - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 14:06

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 14:06
Camship, Perhaps you should start putting 186 red motors into GU's, you could be onto a winner.
FollowupID: 430236

Follow Up By: camship - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 14:18

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 14:18
I wouldnt touch a GU with anything, but if I owned one I would feel better with a red motor, its bound to last longer.
FollowupID: 430242

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 15:00

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 15:00
How's the old saying go, "No replacement for displacement".

FollowupID: 430255

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, May 24, 2006 at 00:31

Wednesday, May 24, 2006 at 00:31
LMAO, is it school holidays again already?

I'll gladly put a TD42 up against a red motor in a GU ANYDAY..
The diesel would outlast, out power, out tow, out do it in every aspect.
FollowupID: 430431

Follow Up By: camship - Wednesday, May 24, 2006 at 10:59

Wednesday, May 24, 2006 at 10:59
I must have missed something Truckster.

Did someone mention the boat anchor, I mean 4.2.

This is a boring discussion, if the subject is not serious then at least make it funny.
FollowupID: 430486

Follow Up By: DARREN - Wednesday, May 24, 2006 at 11:08

Wednesday, May 24, 2006 at 11:08
I think you did camship.........................about 30 years.

Please let us know how the sales go. I think I saw an old red motor up the yard if you are running low on them.
FollowupID: 430491

Follow Up By: Paper Planes - Wednesday, May 24, 2006 at 15:04

Wednesday, May 24, 2006 at 15:04
Steer well clear of the 4 cyl nissan motor. We have owned 4 in my company and they all have had ngoing issues motor related. Our on site mechanics won't touch them !!
FollowupID: 430558

Reply By: camship - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 14:29

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 14:29
How exactly, Leroy?
AnswerID: 173966

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 19:16

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 19:16
my reply above
FollowupID: 429996

Follow Up By: Off-track - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 21:37

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 21:37
Might want to read it again Leroy
FollowupID: 430051

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 21:42

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 21:42
to from....same thing :-0 (that emabarrassed look!)

Leroy
FollowupID: 430052