Jackaroo lives on .....

Submitted: Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 10:28
ThreadID: 3409 Views:2238 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
Isuzu in the US have changed their future plans and are looking to introduce a brand new Trooper in 2006. I guess that means that Jackaroo may line on in Australia.

Here's the article ...

http://www.autoweek.com/cat_content.mv?port_code=autoweek&cat_code=carnews&loc_code=index&content_code=06583877

Richard ... You're right!

Reply By: flappan - Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 13:07

Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 13:07
Hope your right Savvas.

Lets not forget though, the Jackaroo is not of high priority for Holden in Aus. If or when the Bombodore Ute whatsee comes out, you can bet Holden will be going full tilt to market it. Doesn't leave much room for the Rodeo or Jacks.

Also, whilst Jacks are an execellent offroad vehicle, their marketing by Holden is absolute shyte. Even the most ardent Jack supporters will agree to that. Half the reason they are one of the LEAST selling 4by's around.

Forget what US is doing, I doubt the replacement Jack is Holden's high priority.

I believe though the Thailand built Dmax is a fine vehicle and of everything out there from Holden, the most likely new "Jackaroo", provide Holden gets their act together.
AnswerID: 13300

Reply By: Member - NOBBY - Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 15:52

Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 15:52
Speaking of Jacks.. I have just put a pair of Narva Arctic Blue bulbs on mine. The difference is amazing. Not those Blue lights you see on red sports cars but a brilliant white light. They actually show up a lot more than the plus 50's that a mate of mine has. One thing to remember is though ( as an old member said ), don't touch the glass, easy to install, and only cost $30 a pair.
AnswerID: 13309

Reply By: Truckster - Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 16:49

Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 16:49
Flappin mentioned the new Falcodore ute thats comin out in 4x4...

I think there will be space for it and the ROdeo, the Rodeo is well proven, and has a following, and will be in a large class above a commodore ute with diffs under it.. I see that as being a streeter 4wd, like a WRX or crap like that.

Isuzu make some mighty fine motors too, shame to see them pass by, the jack is a good lookin 4b.. I Think that they are leaving a hole in their line up but the thing is I dont think Holden give a shiat about that..

Or they are hoping Holden fans will melt and buy falcodore utes as replacements for the Jack! Again not even on the same planet let alone same class.
AnswerID: 13323

Follow Up By: Flappan - Tuesday, Feb 18, 2003 at 09:23

Tuesday, Feb 18, 2003 at 09:23
Problem I see Truckster is the Rodeo is even more under threat then the Jack.

As I mentioned, with the amount of money being thrown at the Dunnydore 4by ute, the Rodeo will eat sales from it. It has to go.

I think the Jack may get saved by bringing out the Thai built Dmax. Holden Really need a 7 seat 4by wagon to compete against the Pajero and Prados.

IMO the Rodeo is on its last legs.
FollowupID: 7856

Reply By: Member - Richard- Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 21:44

Monday, Feb 17, 2003 at 21:44
I read in one of the 4X4 mags that the Jackaroo and Frontera were on the way out. I have a Frontera and it is a most under rated FWD. It has the power and size that makes it just right for a town and country vehicle. I agree Holden do not market them at all well considering the Jackeroo has clearly proved itself as an outback tamer. I even understand that the Frontera has one a few prizes as well. If Holden did continue with the Frontera the only change I would like to see is a diesel motor and a rethink on the underbonnet layout to allow for a dual battery system.

AnswerID: 13351

Reply By: muppo - Tuesday, Feb 18, 2003 at 22:27

Tuesday, Feb 18, 2003 at 22:27
They are both in doubt!
Holden's resent testing of the Cross8 (commodore 4WD) in rough terrain off road seen it leave behind its support crew of 2 Jackaroos and 2 Cruiser so its definately made for the job. When it was approved for production Holdens head man said that it will be made for serious work not soft stuff so watchout as it may surprise alot of people.
AnswerID: 13429

Follow Up By: Savvas - Wednesday, Feb 19, 2003 at 10:46

Wednesday, Feb 19, 2003 at 10:46
The cross8 will cruise dirt roads just as well as a Jack or Cruiser, but I understand that there will be no low range on the production version. It won't be a true 4WD as far as I'm aware.
FollowupID: 7890

Reply By: Rusty - Wednesday, Feb 19, 2003 at 08:34

Wednesday, Feb 19, 2003 at 08:34
Holden should stick to what they know best. V8 supercars and family cars, and let those they know best fill other markets. Same goes for Ford.
AnswerID: 13444

Follow Up By: Savvas - Wednesday, Feb 19, 2003 at 10:53

Wednesday, Feb 19, 2003 at 10:53
I agree and disagree with that comment. Holden should stick to what they know best, true.

However if they want to participate in the 4WD market, and they do not have a decent source vehicle to sell (like the Jackaroo) I don't think they should go and get source something substandard (like Tahoe/Trailblazer/Suburban). Only a few years ago that would have been their plan.

Holden these days is one of only 3 design centres in the GM world now, with Opel in Germany and GM in the US being the other two. I reckon they should go for it. If they can make a decent Aus designed 4WD, at the right quality and price and do some effective marketing, it will be a huge hit.

And even more jobs for South Australia!
FollowupID: 7891