Keeping some food hot - on night shift

Submitted: Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 19:24
ThreadID: 34102 Views:4728 Replies:9 FollowUps:7
Hello,

Just changed jobs, bus/coach driving. All of my 9/10 hour shifts start mid day and i was hoping to find a way to keep some prepared food hot/warm enough to eat later in the night by putting my 'tea' inside the engine compartment of the vehicle?

Mainly wanting to keep things like normal good old english mashed spuds, bangers, vegies and so on in a 'warm' climate so i can eat later.

The vehicle i get assigned is the one i will have at the start and at the end of my shift. So i was wondering if anyone would know of a suitable solution so that i could put a 'device' to put my tea into at the start and keep moderate temprature unitll i get my break - which may be, at a train station at 11:00pm at night - everything closed.

So i wondered if there was a way - 'without diesel fumes in my mash' - to have a container that i could 'hang' to collect the ambient temperature, keeping my tea warm.

Please, no experts on 80°c + pipe, water, rubbish. Assume that what i want, is in mid air (may lean against something hot).

Just one container (with everything mixed in it), would be ok, but the outer should be the one i want heated up - i think.

There is tons of room to put/hang something in the engine bay. So when i stop, i open the rear hatch, and find my lamb curry and parsley mixed with chives, with a few new England mashed pototes all ready and warmed up :)

My main concern of course is NOT having my food smelling/tasting of carbon dioxide.

I was thinking that i might need two or three containers to do this. So i thought i would post this topic and see what the experts think :)

As for size, i carry everything else (fork, spoon, fruit, water, flask, tea and coffee etc), inside the bus/coach. I only need a relativley small 500g butter size container size to keep warm.

Any help will be appreiciated.

Alan.

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 19:36

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 19:36
Have you thought of plugging a 12 volt Oven into the cig lighter socket? You can buy these at Jaycar for around the $30 or less mark.
AnswerID: 173820

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 19:37

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 19:37
go to Dick Smiths/Tandy/Jaycar.

They sell a 12 volt pie warmer/oven thing for only about 20 to 30 bucks that plugs in ciggy lighter. Put it down behind seat or somehere in the coach and nobody would know it is there. It is only about the size of a small toolbox and neatly holds a couple of pies.

A few people on here have them and reckon they do a great job of warming stuff or keeping it warm.

Muddy
AnswerID: 173821

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 19:38

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 19:38
hah - Willem beat me to it!
FollowupID: 429782

Follow Up By: Atropos - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 21:00

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 21:00
The can also be used to keep a tin on drink cold... they are a peliter device.. have a look at the waeco tropicool range , there are many sizes and styles, I have three of them from a small say 6 can size up to the 40 can size.....

Would be an ideal solution , you could keep a salad nice and cool in the summer and pie and mash hot in the winter!

and as stated here you can buy a small dick smith version for about $20-00

john
FollowupID: 429800

Follow Up By: Member - Mike H (VIC) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 21:02

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 21:02
G'day,
every bus I have driven was 24 Volts.
So you would need a Regulator of sufficient amperage and reduce the 24V to 12V,
unless those Pie Ovens / Food Warmers etc. can be operated on 24V as well.
Mike.
FollowupID: 429801

Follow Up By: Atropos - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 21:11

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 21:11
Hi Mike

Fridge shop has the newer models druning 12 --24v see below

Product Name Classic TC-32FL
**NEW range**
Product Code TC-32FL
Availability: In Stock
Retail Price $329.00
Fridgeshop Price $253.00$220.00
Dimensions W360 x H434 x L535 mm
Weight 8 kg approx.
Capacity 32 Litres
Voltage 12/24V DC or 240V AC
Temperature Range Cooling Capacity: Up to 30°C below ambient
Warming Capacity: Up to 651
FollowupID: 429805

Follow Up By: Member - Mike H (VIC) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 21:26

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 21:26
Hi John,
true....
However I don't think that Alan was thinking of forking out all that much.
FollowupID: 429810

Reply By: V8Diesel - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 20:03

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 20:03
From personal experience I know that the little spot where a tin of Tom Piper braised steak and onions seems to fit just perfectly on the cylinder head of a Caterpillar 12 grader is NOT appropriate.

BANG!!!
AnswerID: 173831

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 20:06

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 20:06
There are 2 warming racks thoughfully provided by Mr General Motors on a V8 inlet manifold which are a good thing for Mama Fiorelli's garlic bread.
FollowupID: 429788

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 20:09

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 20:09
They have just invented a thingy called a thermous flask,don't know where you can get them yet, they are getting good reviews though.cheer's Bob.
AnswerID: 173833

Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 20:32

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 20:32
How about his one?
www.dreampot.com.au/

That should work....

Reiner
AnswerID: 173838

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 20:44

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 20:44
We used the underside of the exhaust manifold to cook a fish (tied on with wire).

My mate's new wife didn't appreciate the stink very much as they drove off on their honeymoon. Hehehehe.

She probably thought Leon hadn't washed at first........
AnswerID: 173840

Reply By: Thomo1 - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 21:13

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 21:13
Eskies are pretty good at keeping things hot as well as cold. If the dinner is steaming hot when you put it in. An esky will keep it hot for quite a few hours.
AnswerID: 173848

Reply By: Dave198 - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 21:30

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 21:30
Some coaches have a 12V plug in the dash area, but the rest of the coach would be 24V.
See if there is a 12V plug somewhere.
Maybe you could even attach a small bag to the heater hose or radiator hoses in the back somewhere, as you say there is plenty of room. I don't think fumes would be a problem, unless there is an oill leak somewhere.
Maybe there is even a 240V connection for TV or Video via an inverter. That might give you other options, (microwave or bar fridge)
AnswerID: 173855

Reply By: Alan Southport QLD - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 09:25

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 09:25
Thanks guys,

Just realised (thanks for the neutral feedback that sometimes we/I don't think that way), that the answer - as mentioned - was simple.

A thermos flask. I actually have one - A Stanley Stainless Steel one - bought for this new shift and it works a treat for my tea and coffee. But it never crossed my mind to put food in it - and of course it will keep it hot.

I'll get another one and whilst all my food will be 'mixed', hopefully it will pour out ok - or will it?
Will i be doing the tomato ketchup bottle act?

All the other ideas were ok. But no 12volt supply anywhere. No manifold to speak of. The pot too big for little old me for one meal. Too expensive - a $50 flask is just about right.
And a 'bag' to hang was the original idea i had (plenty of room for a swinging bag) - and thus placed this problem on this post - but what type of bag?

I think the thermos - with a wide neck or i buy a long spoon or fork :) will be the way to go.

Thanks Guys and Gals. I keep havng to put the 'Gals' in, as when i don't, someone will be a gal that replies to a post - and then i'm in for it ;)

Alan.

AnswerID: 173918

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 20:22

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 20:22
Alan you are WELCOME,Bob.
FollowupID: 430023