Auspit

Submitted: Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 14:40
ThreadID: 34174 Views:7750 Replies:10 FollowUps:14
People of the forum,

Has anyone used one of these spits over the fire, any reports ?

www.pmtleisure.com.au/auspit.html

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 14:45

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 14:45
$150? WoW....
mate wanted one so made his own, using the motor from BBQ's galore that ran on 2D Cells I think it was, to turn it.. it was the traditional spit kind, over a oblong type bin under it to hold the heat beads....
AnswerID: 174225

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 17:23

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 17:23
Yeah I have one of those from BBQ Galore, used it last weekend on a chook over the bbq in the backyard. I wonder if Auspit use the same motor and gears.
FollowupID: 430299

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 23:14

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 23:14
exact same as mates.. but his is stainless LMAO
FollowupID: 430417

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, May 24, 2006 at 12:04

Wednesday, May 24, 2006 at 12:04
lol, that duck looks sick Bruce

FollowupID: 430510

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, May 24, 2006 at 17:28

Wednesday, May 24, 2006 at 17:28
I'll ask Damige tonight if hes willing to make a couple of them, if your keen for one, they fold flat.
I wouldnt mind one either.
FollowupID: 430589

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, May 25, 2006 at 09:48

Thursday, May 25, 2006 at 09:48
Mainly looking for one just for the backyard, not to worried about it folding up. I could probably bash somehing up myself.
FollowupID: 430702

Reply By: Member - Tony G (ACT) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 14:52

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 14:52
I made mine out of a beer keg cut through the middle length ways, and used the same motor as shown. Cost 45.00 and a headace emptykeg.
AnswerID: 174228

Reply By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 15:03

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 15:03
Always wondered what a rotisseried Victa lawnmower airfilter element would taste like. (Check out the top pic!)
AnswerID: 174229

Reply By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 15:13

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 15:13
Personally; I wouldn't spit on one :)
AnswerID: 174233

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 17:33

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 17:33
A spit roast is tops and the cooking is better than the eating. Sitting around a fire listening to the juices being vapourised and the nostrils being tempted by the aroma is just magic, a few beers and a few friends to share the experience with, such a simple but wonderful pleasure.
FollowupID: 430305

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 18:39

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 18:39
Joke? :)

No matter, me and my lady are looking forward to Saturday, I have just made some (proper! :) beef burgers so we'll be doing those along with her stuff - can't remember what it is but I'm sure it will be nice - probably :)

Weather is looking excellent and I'm looking forward to seeing all you guys again :)

FollowupID: 430325

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 19:27

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 19:27
I know you were joking, gotcha :)

Should be good, don't forget there will be a couple of community roasts.
FollowupID: 430339

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 15:20

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 15:20
just wondering how much crap you can take away with you!!

AnswerID: 174238

Follow Up By: Moose - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 16:23

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 16:23
Depends on how much room you have!
FollowupID: 430287

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 17:24

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 17:24
personal preference and room I guess.
FollowupID: 430300

Reply By: Zapper - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 15:23

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 15:23
Yep Ive got one, its great. Havent had it very long but have used it 3 times so far. Takes a little experimenting to get cook times right. Only thing you need to do is depending on heat of fire wrap a bit of foil around motor to prevent it getting too hot. Mine is still on original batteries. Only critisism is the top of the polo you bang into the ground is burring over quite bit already, must be quite soft steel, not really a problem as hanger can be pulled off the bottom of the post anyway. Go ahead get one I reckon they are great
AnswerID: 174240

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 17:27

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 17:27
Zapper, has your motor got too hot or did the gears seize?
FollowupID: 430304

Follow Up By: Zapper - Wednesday, May 24, 2006 at 10:42

Wednesday, May 24, 2006 at 10:42
No gears didnt seize just feeling the heat radiated onto the motor and the external tem of the motor I was concerned that it would cook it so I always wrap it in foil. The instructions do actually make mention of it I think
FollowupID: 430479

Reply By: Mr Z - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 16:49

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 16:49
i haven't got one yet, they seem nice and compact for taking away.
i also have a home made setup as described above but it is bulky and can only be taken when i've got plenty of spare room in the 4by
AnswerID: 174252

Reply By: Harry - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 21:25

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 21:25
G'daye Ray,
The Auspit is a top piece of gear.
Soembody earlier said you need to experiment, and they are right , same as anything new.
I used mine at home first over a bed of heatbeads, and it was fine.
Make a chicken wire basket about 2ft long bend up the sides a bit, line with alfoil then the heat radiates up.Use about 25 heatbeads, then you'll know about adjusting the height to cook at the right temp.
Bit of playing around and you'll get it right.
I find a longish pit fire is best.
I was talking to the Auspit guy on the weekend and a stainless steel "V" shaped tray will be available soon(with wind guard), which fits onto the pole will do away with using the fire, maybe.
AnswerID: 174325

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 22:40

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 22:40
Thanks for that Harry.
FollowupID: 430414

Reply By: Beer Pig - Thursday, May 25, 2006 at 09:29

Thursday, May 25, 2006 at 09:29
Here is mine and i just won a Aus spit which will be great no more lugging around the beer keg

AnswerID: 174634

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, May 25, 2006 at 09:50

Thursday, May 25, 2006 at 09:50
that looks very nice, should be very effective with the reflected heat from the back.
FollowupID: 430704

Reply By: Beer Pig - Thursday, May 25, 2006 at 12:36

Thursday, May 25, 2006 at 12:36
It works a treat about 12 heatbeds and thats all that is needed
AnswerID: 174672