What size tyres for new HiLux

Submitted: Friday, May 26, 2006 at 20:29
ThreadID: 34306 Views:2126 Replies:5 FollowUps:0
Hi, just wondering what size tyres everyone is putting on the new HiLux's. Standard is 255x70/15 on the SR5. Brother has just bought one and is looking at changing the tyres over.

Reply By: Member - Paul S (VIC) - Friday, May 26, 2006 at 21:43

Friday, May 26, 2006 at 21:43
G'day Pig Dog,

You will find a fair bit of discussion already posted on this topic already. However, I'll say my bit again and suggest Pirelli scorpion A/T.

Like many who read the 4WD Monthly tyre comparison test, I tried the scorpions. After fitting the 255/75 R15 I find them far superior to the original Bridgestones both on & off-road.

Yes they are a little firmer on the blacktop and they do hum a titch louder, but I'm not missing the corner squeals or traction loss of the Bridgies.

You will also hear some say the scorpions won't last like Coopers, but at around $200 each, I reckon they're great value.

Sheps
AnswerID: 174994

Reply By: Toytruck - Saturday, May 27, 2006 at 09:40

Saturday, May 27, 2006 at 09:40
Pig Dog,
its an infinite answer. There are so many tyres out there to choose from and it depends. Does your brother want it to look like a monster truck, is he going to fit a lift kit etc etc etc. I have run Hankooks on my 60 series for years over various terrains and in many different circumsatnces and I lovem. Having said that I have just fitted Toyo to my 100 series and these seem fine, they lean a little more to the black stuff but if I want to bash a vehicle around I can take the 60.

Huge range and you will get thousands of many different opinions. In the big picture I would find a reasonable brand name that is in your price range and bobs you aunty (or uncle these days).

Toytruck
AnswerID: 175051

Reply By: long haired nomad - Saturday, May 27, 2006 at 18:07

Saturday, May 27, 2006 at 18:07
I have a 1996 hilux with 31x10.5 x15" Bridgestone A/T's and for the past ten years i get over 100,000 km's per set
AnswerID: 175085

Reply By: TUFF IFS LUX - Sunday, May 28, 2006 at 00:37

Sunday, May 28, 2006 at 00:37
mate,

my mate has 265/75x17 on prado rims on his stock suspension on his lux, and only occasionally rubs offroad. Ive heard a 40mm front lift and 45mm rear lift will get you 32/11.5x15 or 265/75x16. Also, if you get a kit that lifts the front 2", then you'll be able to fit 33/10.5x15 BFG's.

Hope it helped.

TUFF_IFS_LUX
AnswerID: 175124

Reply By: Pig Dog - Sunday, May 28, 2006 at 21:54

Sunday, May 28, 2006 at 21:54
Thanks for the advice.

Pig Dog
AnswerID: 175277