MP3 adaptor

Submitted: Monday, May 29, 2006 at 21:16
ThreadID: 34396 Views:2069 Replies:8 FollowUps:5
Hi guys,

Does anyone know if there is such a thing as an FM transitter that will accept an MP3 player via USB connection and then transmit the music to your FM radio.

Reply By: Ray Shorter - Monday, May 29, 2006 at 21:32

Monday, May 29, 2006 at 21:32
Depending on what MP3 you have, this may or may not suit:

Site Link

I have found it very good as it charges the Ipod from the cig lighter socket while playing the music through the FM radio in the 4x4. Sound quality very good also.

Ray
ShorterShots

AnswerID: 175522

Reply By: Peter 2 - Monday, May 29, 2006 at 21:40

Monday, May 29, 2006 at 21:40
Yes but better still is the FM transmitter which takes a USB drive direct, bypasses the MP3 player, no cords either.
We bought ours from this mob on ebay auction 9712629922
they also have a whole CD player with usb slot to take usb drives for $80
AnswerID: 175528

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Monday, May 29, 2006 at 21:43

Monday, May 29, 2006 at 21:43
We actually bought this one ebay auction 9732714761.
Jaycar sell asimilar one with less frequencies and no shuffle function.
FollowupID: 431582

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Monday, May 29, 2006 at 21:59

Monday, May 29, 2006 at 21:59
Monster i-car unit, $ 154 as per link above.
Same through educational institution, $ 129.

Originally bought a Belkin crappy unit for $ 100 - had to be returned as it did not work properly. Refund obtained.

Apple Shop in Norwood = $ 106 for a Griffin Auto (charges & transmits all in one - not dissimilar to the Monster in appearance & function) i-Trip unit as good as the Monster unit (have used both).

Just over 400 songs or 1.3 days of tunes now loaded on the iPod Nano that is velcoed in the vertical position on the dash in the car & in the 4 x 4. As it is always powered ex the vehicle, I leave the screen illuminated all the time to make it more simple to see & use.

A more satisfied traveller now exists (me).

AnswerID: 175536

Reply By: Fiona (VIC) - Monday, May 29, 2006 at 22:56

Monday, May 29, 2006 at 22:56
I use the iRiver AudiaX DGT-201 Wireless FM Transmitter. It is a real neat device.
AnswerID: 175546

Follow Up By: Fiona (VIC) - Monday, May 29, 2006 at 22:59

Monday, May 29, 2006 at 22:59
I have it conected to a iriver H340. 10 000 songs!!!
FollowupID: 431597

Reply By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Monday, May 29, 2006 at 23:44

Monday, May 29, 2006 at 23:44
Autobarn has them but they do not play WMAs, better option now is to get the full car radio that has USB port and SD card slot JVC will have one on the market soon but only a USB, Alpine will have one out but don't know when , all brands will go this way in the near future , I have a 1GB SD card for mine with 323 songs and that is more than enough,

AnswerID: 175549

Follow Up By: Member - Phil [Sunshine Coast] - Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 05:41

Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 05:41
g'day doug, yer ,second that ,I just got [yesterday] a cd/radio fitted ,$220 fitted from ''wow'', GREAT TOY shop!! I didn't go the usb way mine connects straight to the ipodvia headphone socket .Excellent sound ,unlike the fm modulator thingy that loses quality in the transfer.The missus LOVES gadgets! we came out of there with, a navman[she is hopeless at finding her way], another radio for her car & a dvd burner. I'm sure the navman will 'find' it's way into the gq soon, I'll be workin on that tomorra!! .have a good one .

FollowupID: 431607

Follow Up By: Redeye - Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 06:48

Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 06:48
My CD player in the Nissan died a few months ago. I then purchased a radio with USB and SD slot. This is great no more CDs or moving parts just plug the 1 gig memory card.

Redeye
FollowupID: 431610

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 11:32

Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 11:32
I bought a CD/USB/SD Stereo off this Ebay store in March. It is FANTASTIC. 1 gig USB Key and 512meg SD card is all I used all trip.

18 albums on the 1 gig and about 9 on the 512meg and hit shuffle (one or the other) and you have an 18 disk or 9 disk stacker. I don't even know if the CD player works - I've never used it and probably never will. My mate liked it so much I had to buy one for him too. Mine cost about $130 inc postage and his was about $150.

They now have a new model that plays DVD's too. They are on there on there own like this one Site Link

Or packaged with a roof screen for $339 Buy it now (not auction) which is cheap.

It turned up two days after I paid on both occasions. Fantastic service.

AnswerID: 175610

Reply By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 12:40

Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 12:40
Cruiser,
I bought a FM Modulator that plugs into your ciggy socket. Hooks up to your MP3 player with cord provided. Tune FM radio to same channel as FM Modulator and away you go. Also has a place for your USB stick to slot in to. 69 Oxfords from ALDI i think it was.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 175623

Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 16:12

Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 16:12
Thanks for the replies everyone, you have all given me some options to research.
AnswerID: 175651

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 18:36

Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 18:36
I have an EASY MP3 FM player with 2.25Gig of USB Flashcard of music.
Easy MP3 $70
1Gig flash card $120
All from Jaycar
FollowupID: 431746