GPS Novice - Magellen vs Garmin

Submitted: Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 13:12
ThreadID: 34413 Views:3454 Replies:8 FollowUps:5
This Thread has been Archived
I am a novice to GPS units.
I have looked at both the Garmin and Magellin range (and found that the salesmen do not necessarily know enough). My quandry how to determine which is best.
The short list is Magellan eXplorist 400 vs Garmin GPSMAP 76C.

One has a Lithium Ion battery whilst one has 2 x AA batteries. Considering the possibility of a multi-day hike perhaps the AA batteries are better as they can be changed whereas the Lithium Ion can presumably not be re-charged without a vehicle.

Conversly one has an SD expandable memory whereas the other has a finite memory. Without access to a computer the ability to update and add to maps appears limited. This would presumably be an issue if undertaking a world trip across several countries.

Comments from people with experience in this field would be greatly appreciated.
Rgds,
Richard
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 13:13

Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 13:13
gpsinformation.net/
AnswerID: 175630

Reply By: Stiphodon - Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 14:52

Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 14:52
Just a quick note about build quality for the two brands. I've owned two garmins, and both have completely died about 2 months out of warrenty. The last one lived in a cupboard the whole time and was only used twice! At work, we have magellens that date back to the very first GPS units produced, have been dunked in water and dropped numerous times, and are still going strong.
AnswerID: 175635

Follow Up By: Nav 8 - Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 15:01

Tuesday, May 30, 2006 at 15:01
I too have an old Magellan 2000 XL about a 96 mod, it has had so much use that the letters are worn off the keypad, It has never let me down and has had plenty of knocks and scrapes. Magellan's also seem to be very user friendly compared with other brands I have used. Nav.