Extra Spare

Submitted: Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 04:29
ThreadID: 34450 Views:2210 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
Gday Team

I don't have the money to install a duel spare tyre carrier. Will it be possible to get some longer and stronger bolts and put the second spare on top of the other one? I know this will put allot of extra strain on the door when it's opened so I will need to find a way to support the door when I open it maybe a extra hinge or something? Will this be legal?

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 06:23

Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 06:23
I have seen people just strap a second(without rim) tyre to the back of the other spare. I would have my doubts about the strength of it holding 2 tyres and rims but i am interested in any relies too.
AnswerID: 175797

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 06:50

Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 06:50
I don't have the gear to change a tyre so I will have a rim on there as well.....I think the main problem is the door holding up but then again they are pretty strong I think. I have climb up onto the roofrack with the door open and nothing went back so it must be strong enough
FollowupID: 431860

Follow Up By: Rod W - Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 09:27

Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 09:27
Investing in gear to change a tyre and mend a puncture would be my priority.
FollowupID: 431893

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 19:17

Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 19:17
Troll,

You memtioned you have a Roof Rack and looking at your Rig Photo it is a cage type.

What a great place to put your extra spare. No additional cost at all.

FollowupID: 432022

Reply By: drifta - Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 06:55

Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 06:55
Thats a massive amount of extra weight, IMO you would damage the door regardless of whether you open the door or not. Especially if your talking of another 297/75/ r16. If you were to go off road I think you would rip the spare tyre mount off the door. You have to think of the leverage involved with that weight.
Drifta
AnswerID: 175800

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 08:23

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 08:23
Spot on mate......in my opinion, even a standard tyre (ie the original set-up) is too heavy for the rear door. I have the dual wheel carrier and am sooooo glad I have outlayed the $$$ for it. The rear door is now unlikely to crack due to being too heavy.

Even if the hinges could handle the weight (which I doubt), the bracket on the back door and the manner in which it is attached to the door, would make me VERY sceptical that it could handle the pounding on corrogations etc.

NO WAY would I put any extra weight on the back door......concentrate on getting the weight OFF the door.

YMMV

FollowupID: 432276

Reply By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 07:30

Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 07:30
Your best bet would be a small roof rack or 2 roof bars and carry up there I was in Autobarn 2 days ago and they a mesh basket thingy about 150mm deep that could be fixed to 2 roof bars and it looked big enough to fit a wheel in

AnswerID: 175803

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 07:56

Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 07:56
Hi Doug

I already have a full lenght roofrack but that was going to be my last resort
FollowupID: 431867

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 07:31

Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 07:31
Yep.. It would kill your door...
AnswerID: 175804

Reply By: Longreach - Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 11:17

Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 11:17
Don't know all your details but I agree with Rod, if you get a bead breaker and some repair gear you can save a lot of weight, either on the back or on the roof and just take the tyre without the rim.
AnswerID: 175865

Follow Up By: Jack0Dazza - Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 18:38

Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 18:38
Reckon spare tyre, with inflated tube inside to keep out the dust, Bead Breaker and levers etc. would be much better than adding to the weight on the door bracket. I have had to do weld repairs on my bracket twice now, and it only has a mag wheel and tyre on it. Corrugations destroy anything.
FollowupID: 432010

Follow Up By: Longreach - Thursday, Jun 01, 2006 at 09:55

Thursday, Jun 01, 2006 at 09:55
Thanks Jack. That's a good idea to have the inflated tube in it. I've had tyres on the trailer drawbar and they fill up with gravel and all sorts. The tube would also make it easier to tie the tyre on without squashing it. As you probably know, if the tyre gets squashed it makes it harder to get the bead to seal.
FollowupID: 432138

Reply By: bundy boy - Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 20:49

Wednesday, May 31, 2006 at 20:49
just stick it on da roof rack ............much easyer and heaps cheeper
AnswerID: 175999

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 01, 2006 at 10:13

Thursday, Jun 01, 2006 at 10:13
G'day Troll81,

I would also go with the roofrack option and also have the tyre changing gear. Had a serious blow out on the trailer last year on the way to Kalumburu and decided to fit the spare case on the rim, not easy when tubeless but doable and you have another serviceable spare. Hopefully you never have to do this but I presume you're taking another spare as a measure of comfort - so may as well take all the tyre changing gear and some extra repair patches, tubes and plugs and feel very comfortable.

AnswerID: 176104

Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 00:21

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 00:21
My thing is I don't really do long trips out into the country yet. I am still in the stage where I go to 4x4 parks and do crazy things and try to brake my car :) I found that if I blow a tire I don't really want to go back out there just incase the spare dies as well and the changing gear to change a tyre will be more of a hassle on short trips. I can see how this will be good for when I do big trips weeks at a time but for now I want something quick so I can keep enjoying my weekend if I blow a tyre on the first day
FollowupID: 432267