Vibration after 2inch raise

Submitted: Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 15:49
ThreadID: 34642 Views:7277 Replies:10 FollowUps:11
Can any Hilux (2005) owners advise if they have a vibration in first gear and low speed after a 2 inch lift. I had Old Man Emu upgrade and now each time I start off in first gear and low speed second gear (H) I have a vibration through transmition. I had it back to ARB for 500km waranty check and techo said there was nothing visible that would cause this. Said to mention it to Toyota at next (20,000km) service.

Has anybody any thoughts? I am guessing but I think that the propshaft angle is probably the cause.

jack

Reply By: Member - TPM (SA) - Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 16:04

Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 16:04
Hi Jack,

I would of also said the prop shaft angle, is much more of the spline showing on the shaft after the lift ?
Perhaps there is more play on the end of the spline where it slides in and out of the shaft for suspension travel.

Good Luck
AnswerID: 176839

Follow Up By: Member - qld_bushpig - Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 16:14

Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 16:14
Thanks TPM this is one of the questions that will be answered at next service I hope.
FollowupID: 432875

Follow Up By: Member - qld_bushpig - Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 16:20

Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 16:20
OBTW I am carrying about 400kg at the moment. If the spline is showing or too much play on the spline, what will happen when I take off the Trayon?????

FollowupID: 432877

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 16:13

Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 16:13
Maybe they didnt mark the tail shaft prior to dismantling it and whacked it back together, although I dont see why they should have to remove the shaft in the first place for a 2 inch lift. You could be on the right track in regards to angle although I dont have one in mine but mine is a sh@t load older.This is a very common lift in a hilux and havnt heard of other people having the problem and guess what Toyota wont want to know about it as it has been modified. !!! specially if related to suspension. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 176841

Follow Up By: Member - qld_bushpig - Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 16:16

Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 16:16
Thanks Steve
I know that Toyota will p*&s me off when it comes to problems but I want to fix this before it leads to grief especially ifn I'm out and about in the greatoutdoors.
J
FollowupID: 432876

Reply By: cokeaddict - Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 16:27

Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 16:27
Hi Jack,
Cant for the life of me understand why they would have told you to get Toyota to fix it..? From what i read mate, ARB did the lift right ? So why would they tell you Toyota should look at it. If ARB did the lift, then they would be responsible for the vibration wouldnt they? You pay top dollar to have ARB do mods to 4wd's and that extra payment should cover problems like you are having now. Thats why they are so good at what they do, they know whats required to do it right, if you had a problem before hand they would have checked before the job was started and advised you that there was a problem which needed fixing before they do the job....it dont make sense.
Ange.
AnswerID: 176849

Follow Up By: Member - qld_bushpig - Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 16:34

Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 16:34
You are 100% correct. I wondered about that myself but as a newby to 4x4 I really did not know any better at the time. So back to ARB again for another check?

Thanks for kicking me in the b^m.

jack
FollowupID: 432886

Follow Up By: Member - qld_bushpig - Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 16:40

Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 16:40
I have it booked in at ARB for Friday. Guy on the phone said stuff about camber and castor adjustment. I reckon it should have been readjusted at 500km service. See how it goes.

Jack
FollowupID: 432888

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 16:55

Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 16:55
Cast & camber wont fix it if it's coming from the ars@ end of the vehicle or is it doing it when in 4wd ? as coke addict said you pay these guys top $$ for there expertise in that field, they are to fix the problem not toyota. I would definately be taking it back to them and even if you have to take them for a drive in it so you can show them exactly what it is doing and at what speeds etc. Glad you have it booked in again hope they solve the problem but I bet my life on it it wont be cast or camber not if it's coming from the rear of the vehicle and as I said before 2 inch lift is as common as on a lux. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 432891

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 17:27

Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 17:27
Go back to ARB and say:

"It was fine when I delivered it to you.
It is not fine after you worked on it.
Fix it.
I will wait..........................."

Hold your ground until the manager speaks to you.
FollowupID: 432898

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 10:00

Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 10:00
Yep what he said above!!!!!
FollowupID: 432998

Reply By: Exploder - Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 17:18

Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 17:18
Each time I start off in first gear and low speed second gear (H) I have a vibration through transmition

At what RPM will it start to vibrate and will it still Vibrate at a higher speed at the same RPM> If so it could be a balance issue.

Dose it do it on acceleration and deceleration as well if so possible Uni-Joint problem

Personally I would be sceptical about how much ARB Know when it comes to actual mechanical chit, I would go straight to Tojo then if it’s a ARB caused problem tell them to fix it.
AnswerID: 176859

Reply By: kev.h - Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 17:59

Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 17:59
I have heard of similar after big lifts the fix i believe was to drop the rear gearbox mount about 20 mm to give a better drive shaft angle it has something to do with the universal joint ??
Hope this helps Kev
AnswerID: 176872

Follow Up By: Exploder - Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 18:11

Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 18:11
Yeah 25 degrees and below it good anything close to 45 or over and you will have problems in regards to uni joints.
I think CV’s are good for 22½ before issues arise from memory.
FollowupID: 432906

Reply By: ACDC - Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 18:35

Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 18:35
Bushpig,
I have had this problem before with hilux's, the rear is probably higher than 2" lift usually because they put the extra heavy duty springs in a vehicle that does'nt require them.
The answer is to shim the rear diff with caster wedges to point the nose of the diff up a little trial and error involved.
No comment on your ARB store!!
AnswerID: 176878

Reply By: tex1972 - Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 20:41

Monday, Jun 05, 2006 at 20:41
couple of articles for your perusal throws a bit more light on the subject of drive line angles

Site Link

Site Link

hope this helps

Tex
AnswerID: 176916

Reply By: Member - qld_bushpig - Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 09:55

Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 09:55
Thanks for all the info. I will see what ARB says then if not happy I will go to Toyota for exact measuments etc then get ARB to fix it. I will keep you informed as to the outcome.

Thanks to all

Jack
AnswerID: 176971

Follow Up By: Brett_B - Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 20:48

Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 20:48
I am thinking about fitting an ARB suspension kit in my 05 Lux. Real close to booking it in for the job.

I am really interested in this outcome.

Please post the fix/problem when you have an answer :-)
FollowupID: 433105

Reply By: Kevin - Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 11:23

Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 11:23
I think youll find its a shocker problem. If it was the tail shaft (angles, or out of ballance) it would happen at any speed. I had the same problem after lifting my 89 Hi-lux. The axle housing was trying to rotate with the top leaf's of the springs until hit the over-ride leaf spring on the bottom causing a shudder. Try loading up the rear so that the springs are laying flat, ie: all the springs compressed and then try.
I changed everything to fix it, New carrier bearing, 2 piece tail shaft to 1 piece, checked angles and even had someone leaning out of the ute looking underneath as I drove off to try to see where it was coming from only to find in the end the shockers were not up to standard.
AnswerID: 176991

Follow Up By: ACDC - Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 19:21

Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 19:21
I'm still laughing!!
FollowupID: 433087

Reply By: Member - RockyOne - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 10:29

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 10:29
I did my own 3" "spring-over" lift on my Rocsta (same setup as Hil;ux) so,when vibes set in,made up simple wedges to put between spring and avle housing to get some rotation up-wards at shaft entry to diff.Cost nix..Wks fine (drill hole for centre bolt) Helps? (Of course,they should have done it..Must have been a Friday job)..Have Fun..RockyOne!MPG:6!
AnswerID: 177181