Fridges - Bloody sick of them Salesmen

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 20:13
ThreadID: 34682 Views:3437 Replies:26 FollowUps:63
Somebody plaese give me some REAL advice.
Just sold my Bushman fridge as the 8 & 5 year old eat too much!
Looking at taking the family off on a jaunt to the Cape so what fridge do I buy.
An Engel 80l, a Fridgemate or Evakool. Come on those thst know please help.

Reply By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 20:37

Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 20:37
None of those mate, I know there are some people that swear by the Engel, I buy a fridge ...not a name so I went and got a Waeco and it has served me well for the past 2 years and going strong , will freeze the milk if you don't watch it ,
to see the specs use this link
Site Link

and for the fridges this link Site Link

and clik on Kompressor Fridge / Freezers

AnswerID: 177094

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 21:23

Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 21:23
I'll drink 2 that! But then again I'll drink 2 anything eh but!

WAECO the way 2 go

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 433114

Follow Up By: Sarg - Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 23:19

Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 23:19
So has my Engel for the past 18 years. Will freeze the milk & BEER (& meat & fruit & canned stuff & what ever) if you don't wach it. So what !!!
FollowupID: 433138

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 09:48

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 09:48
Why in every fridge post does someone bring up freezing beer?

I don't drink, but the thought of a beer flavoured icy pole isn't remotely tempting, especially having to remove the aluminium wrapping and it doesn't even have a stick to hold.

Pete
FollowupID: 433170

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 18:29

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 18:29
I prefer milk in its original containers, not those fancy plastic things, however Pamela Anderesons plastic things are milk containers..............ahhhhh it all gets confusing

FollowupID: 433266

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 19:01

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 19:01
Too funny Bonz

made me laff.
FollowupID: 433274

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 19:59

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 19:59
well thats GOT to be a good thing hehehehe

FollowupID: 433293

Reply By: Old Scalyback & denny - Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 21:06

Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 21:06
goodday clarkie
i run an 80 l waeco in the back of the patrol it goes in and out as needed touch wood havent had a problem (its still under warranty ) if you buy new you get a 5 yr warranty if you buy from the fridge shop a repaired or fixed unit you only get 12 months
we alos have a coolmatic(weaco ) in the van and it runs beaut also
AnswerID: 177100

Follow Up By: Old Scalyback & denny - Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 21:08

Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 21:08
PS we had an early evacool and it was a heap of crap it went to the tip maybe somebody used it as a boat anchor
FollowupID: 433111

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 23:02

Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 23:02
"...PS we had an early evacool and it was a heap of crap it went to the tip maybe somebody used it as a boat anchor..."

Damned thing probably floats...........
FollowupID: 433136

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 21:14

Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 21:14
The Engel is the best pick from that bunch, good performance and reliability second to none.
AnswerID: 177101

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 10:04

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 10:04
I second that Ray.

A good reliable fridge that is still within most people's budget and "road tested to exhaustion" over many, many years.

If you can't justify the cost though, you are left with a Waeco, or similar.

From what I have gleaned on this site, there are Waeco's and there are Waeco's.
By that I mean you can buy a brand spanking new one with a decent warranty but the cost is obviously higher than the "seconds" available from the Fridge Shop for less dollars and less warranty. Kind of "pot luck".

Doesn't take Einstein to work it out.
Yep, I have an Engel.

FollowupID: 433176

Reply By: derraux - Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 22:14

Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 22:14
Have a look at explorer or trailblazer excellent units well built good aussie made fridge
AnswerID: 177115

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 22:24

Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 22:24
Trailblaza
AnswerID: 177118

Reply By: awill4x4 - Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 22:31

Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 22:31
We've got a 16 year old Engel 40 litre one still going strong so no complaints from me. If I was in the market for a new one I don't think you could go wrong with either Waeco or Engel in actual performance, they'll both freeze your beer if your not careful. I prefer the steel case and certainly a lot stronger lid of the Engel compared with the Waeco, but I could live with either one.
Regards Andrew.
AnswerID: 177121

Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 22:36

Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 22:36
Our 80 l Waeco is a ripper.
AnswerID: 177122

Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 22:44

Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 22:44
Human nature being what it is, people here will only recommend what they themselves own.
Do a forum search, you will soon see which fridges give the most problems, Waeco being high on that list.
The facts are that you get what you pay for, Waeco & Bushman are cheaper & offer reasonably good value, Engel & EvaKool are mid priced, & bearing that in mind represent excellent value. Then you go up a notch to Trailblazer, which I know little about, & Autofridge, arguably the 'Rolls Royce'.
If you have searched this forum, you will see that the best value for money is Engel.
AnswerID: 177124

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 00:39

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 00:39
Yep I agree. Funny thing is Waecos weren't mentioned in the question but Waeco aficionado's come out in force to push an inferior product, maybe they are trying to keep resale value up.
FollowupID: 433141

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 07:49

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 07:49
Maybe they are just giving their opinion of what they own - just like you are.

And what is wrong with that? :o)

I own a second hand Waeco and an old Chescold I bought new and have had no problems with either. The Waeco is 5 years old and the Chescold is 16. Both are running fine. Which one gets selected for a trip depends on if I'll be travelling or static and what power options I have.

If I had an unlimited budget I would go for a Trailblazer. When I bought the Waeco I was looking at compressor fridges and this one popped up in the Advertiser at a red hot price. If it had been an Engel in the paper that is what my drinks would be in this weekend!

Pete
FollowupID: 433149

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 08:41

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 08:41
Yeah but Clarkie didn't ask about Waecos
An Engel 80l, a Fridgemate or Evakool

the first response he gets is buy a Waeco.....that is just bad advise
FollowupID: 433155

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 09:12

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 09:12
Like a lot of people Ray they probably didnt read the question

FollowupID: 433162

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 09:43

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 09:43
What?

People just post without reading the question fully?

Never!

Pete
FollowupID: 433169

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 10:08

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 10:08
The silly part about the debate is I did not Knock Engels, all I said was that with Engel you pay for a name, No where did I say Engel was not a good fridge, they are a good fridge but over priced, , the original post asked for advice , did he forget Waeco ,, maybe so I mentioned the brand which is just as good as an Engel but for some reason one must not commit the crime of suggesting Waeco over Engel , We are not spending the Dollars , the person who asked a simple question is , get a life you blokes

FollowupID: 433178

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 16:11

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 16:11
OK Pajman Pete, going by the contents of my reply ..... what fridge do I own?

I have read & reread my post & can't see where I said what I have!

....... and Doug T, they are all overpriced! But, more so than with most things, price is an indicator of quality.
FollowupID: 433232

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 16:19

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 16:19
you didnt shaker and ...is it really worth the worry about whether you did or not, I read Pajmans reply and he could have been directing his comments at MadDog

Lets all just worry about our frozen beer eh?

FollowupID: 433233

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 17:42

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 17:42
That's what I thought Geoff.

Frozen beer...nah, Engel temp regulation is too good for that.

Lets just let the Waeco aficionado's dream on. I ask you if both fridges were the same price what sane person would buy the Waeco.

And how come every time I write Waeco it comes out underlined in blue.
FollowupID: 433254

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 17:54

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 17:54
Shaker ,, love your theorem that "as with most things price is an indication of quality " ergo that means every tojo is better than a nissan or a 4x4 porche is beter than a 4x4 mercedes ect ect ,, price is not and more importantly should not be the main criteria of quality ,, and when it comes to fridges for travel and camping price is definitly NOT a true indicator of "quality" .
FollowupID: 433260

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 18:42

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 18:42
I think I said "more so, than with most things........"

Hang on, I'll check. Yes, that's what I said!
FollowupID: 433267

Reply By: Crackles - Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 22:49

Tuesday, Jun 06, 2006 at 22:49
If you are shopping on price go for a Waeco. Want long life go an Engel. If you want something specific most of the Aussie made fridges are very similar. Features to look for are quality of hinges, durability, ability to remove the lid, depth of fridge (can you stand a 2 litre bottle up?), thickness of insulation, ease of cleaning, does it come with baskets, do you require a freezer compartment, can you pack gear up against it (how much ventalation does it need, what is it's physical size & will it fit in your car. Buy a fridge that has the features you require & forget all the responses that say "MINE IS BETTER"
Cheers Craig.......
73 litre Autofridge which I bought for it's efficiency, excellent insulation, easy clean strong fibre glass construction, quality fittings, fits nicely in the car & can maintain it's cool even when turned off for 12 hours. (but that & the price may not suit you)
AnswerID: 177125

Reply By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 07:42

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 07:42
Explorer Fridge Freezer

Can get up to 95 litres in Fridge Freezer
Fridge and Freezer have seperate thermostats.
Built tough like the trailblazer

www.explorerfridgefreezer.aunz.com/
AnswerID: 177149

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 07:43

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 07:43
Waecos draw more power from your battery than an Engel....Keep that in mind....
AnswerID: 177150

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 07:48

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 07:48
Independent tests conclusively disprove your statement.
FollowupID: 433148

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 07:50

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 07:50
Doesn't matter either way - you just set up your power to run what you have and fine tune as you go.
FollowupID: 433150

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 09:23

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 09:23
Pete is correct and there's so little in it that it could swing either way depending on use, weather conditions and each individual installation.
FollowupID: 433163

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 13:42

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 13:42
clarkie63 asked for some REAL advice so i gave it.....

(Jimbo said)
"Independent tests conclusively disprove your statement"

I have completed my own testing of a 40litre waeco and also a 40litre engel..
Same temperature, same amount of cans in them both, same amount of time...

Over 72hrs waeco current draw was 103amps.
Over 72hrs engel current draw was 72amps.

Isnt that worth knowing if you are asking for info on fridges Jimbo?
It doesnt really matter with overnight stays but it might matter if you are trying to manage your charging system over a few days or so..

With different size fridges prob different readings...
I should have said in my first post which size i was referring too..
FollowupID: 433208

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 17:25

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 17:25
The 4WD Monthly laboratory tests also showed Waeco as using more power.
FollowupID: 433252

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 18:58

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 18:58
Voxon ,your dreaming ,,a 40lt Engle using 1amp per hr over a 72hr period ,,?? for how long did you disconnect said fridge and or have it set above "OFF " , even the factory specs state 1.9 amps draw per hr ,,,,dream on !! Even your stated 103amps for72hrs on for a 40lt Waeco works out to be only 1.43amps per hr which is better than ANY factory or independant published "test" for a 40lt Engle ,, methinksyoudribblem bleep tum.
FollowupID: 433273

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 19:48

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 19:48
with the bluddy cold temps around here at the moment I reckon my Engels using under 1 amp per hour
FollowupID: 433288

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 20:37

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 20:37
Voxson,

I reiterate, independent testing done in laboratory, under controlled conditions, conducted by qualified scientists, actually PROVED the Waeco 40L was the most efficient by a small margin.

Whilst I wouldn't put it quite as crudely as Alloy c/t, his general observation is not without merit.

Shaker,

Drag out your copy of the mag and read it again. Your memory is failing.

FollowupID: 433308

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 20:49

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 20:49
Rightio......
FollowupID: 433316

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 21:33

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 21:33
Mad Dog ,,we went to Stanthorpe last w/end ,,had the Engle set at 2/3 deg for the beer ,the Waeco set at -10 in the freezer part ,,ambient temp got to -6 ... who needs a fridge ????!!!!!! now in a perfect world both fridges should have put amps INTO my batteries ,not use them LOL.
FollowupID: 433333

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 23:05

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 23:05
Jimbo, if you are referring to the 4WD Monthly laboratory controlled tests, the Engel was listed as drwaing 1.6 amps & the Waeco 2 amps.
FollowupID: 433390

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 09:29

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 09:29
BTW Jimbo, I had the copy of 4WD Monthly in front of me when I typed the response. I would be more than happy to scan the page & email it to you.
FollowupID: 433448

Reply By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 07:54

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 07:54
All brands other than Engel run the Danfoss compressor, so it really depends which box you like.

I'll offer an objective opinion here. I've owned both Engel and Waeco and they both keep stuff cold.

The box configuration of the Waeco swung me when I moved to a bigger fridge. Had the Engel had a design that suited me, I would have bought it. The 80L Waeco has dividers that allow it to run as all fridge, or a fridge with separate freezer compartment.

I bought the box, not the name.
AnswerID: 177153

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 09:29

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 09:29
There appears to be pipes, wiring and other little bits that make a fridge work Jim. Build quality would be crap if they don't use quality parts and good glue.
FollowupID: 433165

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 20:50

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 20:50
Ray,

You're generally a fairly balanced, even minded bloke. What is your dislike of Waeco? Have you owned one that has let you down? If so I would understand your hatred for the product.

As I've said many times, I've owned both and fully endorse the two of them.

I only recommend people buy the fridge that suits their needs, regardless of the name on the box.

Cheers Mate,

FollowupID: 433317

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 21:52

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 21:52
No never owned one Jim and I have no hatred for the fridge. My belief that Waeco fridges are not suitable for the rigours of harsh outback and bush travel come from numerous Waeco owners who have problems with these fridges. They are probably fine for short easy weekend trips where if it breaks down it's no great pain in the butt but for serious trips where reliability is a concern we can do better than Waeco, I don't think they should be recommended.

I tend to buy electronic gear at the cheap end of the market with a good warranty for use around the home, Magnavox is a favourite of mine, cheap with a great 2yr replacement warranty from kmart, just brought an LCD TV and a couple of set top boxes. It doesn't matter if this stuff breaks down at home, I'll still be comfortable but if my fridge breaks down in the bush when it's bloody hot I'll be rather bleep off if I can't get a cool beer at the end of the day not to mention the food.

Sorry Jim but I can't put my trust with Waeco and it worries me they are recommended by some.
FollowupID: 433347

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 22:10

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 22:10
Ray sounds like u are on some sort of unsubstantiated crusade mate. Just as much in the archives from unhappy engel owners. I'll never bag a product i have never owned, unless its done tongue in cheek and then it always gets a ))) after the post. Why should it worry you that people recommend a bloody good fridge??? Read back your posts on this topic and its reads like a crusade. Anyway I'm off for a beer
FollowupID: 433360

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 22:32

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 22:32
I have a strong opinion and I respond, anything wrong with that ?

enjoy the beer, I'm stuck at work for a while yet.
FollowupID: 433372

Reply By: oldmagpie2 - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 10:06

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 10:06
just a thought , why not hire whichever one tickles your fancy
& see how it goes? cheers
AnswerID: 177174

Reply By: P.G. (Tas) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 11:35

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 11:35
Just a thought, consensus seems to be equally split between Engel and Waeco, so it just come down to dollars and cents.

If you buy the Waeco you can fill it with free beer for a LONG time, and even if it does freeze, it still thaws out ;-)

AnswerID: 177191

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 11:46

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 11:46
WAECO, ALL DAY , EVERY DAY.! ENGEL, SOMETIMES SOME OF THE TIME..! LOL
AnswerID: 177198

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 11:56

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 11:56
BWAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAA.......

Damn!!!.... just p$ssed myself:-(((

'scuse me while ah go change muh daks;-)))
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 433193

Reply By: Sea-Dog - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 12:00

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 12:00
Yep another Engel v Waeco thread but your point is well taken!

At the end of the day I think they are both great fridges. I run an 80 litre Waeco and my mate a 60 litre Engel.. We have both done the cape etc and they are both as good as each other at keeping stuff cold.

I bought mine as was stated earlier for the set up of the fridge as it has seperate compartments for freezer and fridge with the baskets seperate also. There is what they called a dairy section to the side of the fridge which is supposed to be good for cheese etc but I have found that it is not cold enough for cheese and the like and that they go sweaty in that area. I use the dairy section for the eggs and garlic and that stuff.

I found that the 80 is just about perfect for a family as even with a few drinks in there with the food it is still a case of "take one out - put one back in!"

Go with whichever one you like the best and which one fits into your car or slide or whatever the best and enjoy it..

AnswerID: 177202

Follow Up By: clarkie63 - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 22:39

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 22:39
Thank you sea dog, non biased objective advice.
FollowupID: 433375

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 17:17

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 17:17
The never ending which fridge is best advise line ,, Waeco 80lt keeps the wife happy , uses on average 64amps per 24 hrs if used as intended ie: freezer and fridge ,, our baby 15lt Engle keeps me happy ,uses on average 45amps per 24 hrs when used for what we bought it for ie: the beer fridge at camp /traveling ,, brotherinlaw has the 80lt fridge/freezer Engle , no complaints bar one ,, his wife and the 2 girls use up all of it so no room for his beer.,,
AnswerID: 177249

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 17:26

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 17:26
Stay away from Engels............just like bloody tojos ............over priced. get a waeco :))
AnswerID: 177253

Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 19:49

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 19:49
Most people I travel with that buy Toyota's & Engels do so because overall they are a better product...........The people I travel with that have Nissans & Waeco's mostly do so cos that's what they can afford. What next. Trying to justify a $90 air compressor from Supa Cheap auto :-))
Cheers Craig........
FollowupID: 433290

Follow Up By: Gu_Patrol - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 22:40

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 22:40
I brought a $90 air compressor from Supa Cheap auto, whats wrong with that, it's never let me down. -)
FollowupID: 433376

Follow Up By: bigcol - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 22:41

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 22:41
well i drive a Navara and have a 60L Engel Combi so that blows your theory out of the water.
Fridge arguments are just p!ssing contests
FollowupID: 433377

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 06:24

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 06:24
You got ripped off GU lol. I paid $80 from Repco for mine. Had it 3 years. Done all its been asked to do. Quicker than an arb too.
FollowupID: 433423

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 17:30

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 17:30
clarkie,
May I ask why your looking for something other than the Bushman brand? From what you've written above its only flaw in your eyes is size.

For those that wish to know, I do not own a Bushman. My question is quite simply one of curiosity.

Geoff.

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

AnswerID: 177254

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 17:37

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 17:37
I think they only have one size, 35 litre, or 39 litre with the domed lid.
FollowupID: 433253

Follow Up By: clarkie63 - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 22:36

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 22:36
Bushman has been a legend, size only reason for upgrade. 8 & 5 year olds eat ya bloody arms off if not careful.
FollowupID: 433374

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 23:03

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 23:03
clarkie,
I'll let you in on a secret, my 13yo daughter has only one meal a day.
Eye's open to eye's closed.
Feading them doesn't get any better!!

Geoff.

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

FollowupID: 433388

Reply By: djpatrol - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 17:44

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 17:44
Well my Bushman with its high top gives me plenty of coldies whenever I want one, Its now 7 years old hasent missed a beat and is priced ok to the big name brands. It is the lowest drawing current one on the market that I am aware of under 3 amps per hour and holds up good overnight if I turn off the power.Has a fridge cover (a must for all ) fridges.
AnswerID: 177258

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 18:24

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 18:24
Give me a 'Cruiser over a Patrol any day

;>))
AnswerID: 177266

Follow Up By: djpatrol - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 19:55

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 19:55
Steve we are talkin fridges ,Not 4x4 but we all have own preferences You have made the choice of your BUGGER over the more Robust Patrol so now you can go Buy a BUSHMAN fridge to make sure you have a cold beer when you are sittin on the side of the road waitin for Service...
FollowupID: 433291

Follow Up By: Steve - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 20:27

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 20:27
dj: don't get so emotional mate.

Just a little jest (at the expense of those like you, who do get emotional over their, and others' choices) Hence the ;>))

For the record, I do have a LC100, but don't feel like I have to defend it to the death. In fact, given the resources, there are other cars I'd have in preference. Not a Patrol though :-)

FollowupID: 433305

Follow Up By: djpatrol - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 20:47

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 20:47
Steve you totally lost the point pal im not emotional,

We are talkin about Fridges .....BUT

I only own a Patrol and a Bushman Fridge because I look for the best value in life ,

Not what everyone else buys,
But value for the $$$ these days well you paid probelly 10g more than me so what my Patrol dose the same job as the Bugger an hows your rear end an your gearbox standing up. ???Gettin worried now Steve well if I see ya on the side of the road Ill stop an give ya a Tow if its TOWABLE. that is see ya PAL...

dj patrol
FollowupID: 433314

Follow Up By: Steve - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 21:02

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 21:02
Read this s-l-o-w-l-y mate.

I wasn't being too serious. Kapiche?

I don't care what you or anybody else has.

Unlike you, I don't even get too emotional about my own gear. It's just that. A bit of gear. Not your mother, wife or pet dog. Calm down matey and enjoy your Patrol and Bushman. Whilst they last. :-)

FollowupID: 433322

Follow Up By: djpatrol - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 21:11

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 21:11
Well STEVIE..why dont you comment if you have anything to add to some peoples needs like me, I only tell of pure facts an experencies thats what this Forum is about not ??Whits like you who want to disrupt the topic which was asked about a recomended Fridge so go get a life ,Havent you got something else to do at night...
FollowupID: 433325

Follow Up By: Steve - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 21:25

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 21:25
If I say "you win" will you give it a rest?

if not, just get a humour transplant.
FollowupID: 433331

Follow Up By: djpatrol - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 21:57

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 21:57
The only winner,STEVE here is what fridge the man asked about ,what we as a forum would buy, or advise him on well Steve give us your experinces if you have any we know you dont care about gear so ,What is your comments on Price,Value for money,are the top price brands always worth the extra????dont buy on a name brand cause if you look around you will do better on a much cheaper brand that dose the job far less cost ((so a bit more diesel))

djpatrol
FollowupID: 433353

Follow Up By: Steve - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 22:11

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 22:11
Can't make head or tail of that lot. A little punctuation wouldn't go amiss.

If you're asking me why I didn't join in the absurd "mine's better than your's" argument that these things become, it's because it's been done a thousand times already and a little search of the arhives would've thrown up enough info to keep him busy all night. My own opinion, for what it's worth is that there's little, if anything between the proven ones and he can't lose either way. You can argue for Falcon/Commodore, Patrol/Landcruiser, Waeco/Engel all night. It doesn't interest me. I've been on this site for several years and readily give and seek advice but some topics, such as these become tedious when you've seen it for the zillionth time and there's an excellent archive search facility if people will only use it.
FollowupID: 433361

Follow Up By: djpatrol - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 22:48

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 22:48
Shore thing Steve ,
but a newcommer should have be steered to the achives,
And not led to the lions pen, I dont care who buys what, but when I shop I do my homework an I buy accordingly price meets Quality .<an I feel there is a Strong sense of directory by a number of members on forum, who are steering people to to there own products mabey for a (kickback) well its wrong..So all lets be honest on this forum its for our knowledge.

Think Forum ers it could catch you one day...
FollowupID: 433379

Reply By: mowing - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 19:54

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 19:54
clarkie63,
Engel,Trailblaza, Autofridge,Explorer, Waeco, Evakool, are ALL good fridges, check out the pricing and go from there.

AnswerID: 177281

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 20:59

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 20:59
What a sensible response. Unfortunatley not too many share your and my thoughts.

It's a bloody fridge. It keeps things cold. No more no less.
FollowupID: 433319

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 21:20

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 21:20
Final ...the end ... a fridge is a fridge , beer cold ?? you beauty !! beer a little too warm ?? sh-t, should have got a ?? who realy cares as long as it does the job YOU as the owner expects/wants it to do.
FollowupID: 433327

Follow Up By: djpatrol - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 21:24

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 21:24
Absolutly correct Alloyc/t cold beer all the time and some room for the (missus)drink..
FollowupID: 433330

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 16:52

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 16:52
You're right Alloy c/t......a fridge is a fridge when the beer is cold but when it breaks down the fridge just becomes a box that's holding your warm beer. And if you look closely between all the rubbish in these & past responses some break down more often than others. Particually the ones who rave about the great warrenty & after sales service. Wouldn't want to be stuck with one of those in the desert now would we :-)
Cheers Craig............
FollowupID: 433580

Reply By: activechris - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 21:12

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 21:12
As a fridgy heres my two bobs worth. Waeco, Angel they all work on similar technology. A vehicle is no place for a compressor fridge. they are not supposed to work in environments over about 50 degrees C. and anything over 25 degrees eats way at its efficiency. Solution is relatively simple although it has to be performed by a qualified tradesmen, the condensor that's the hot part has to be mounted to the outside of the vehicle where it is kept relatively cool particularly when on the move. The efficiency is improved dramatically.
AnswerID: 177298

Reply By: Gu_Patrol - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 22:41

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 22:41
It seems many people have had engels working for over 18 years , how long do waeco last for.
AnswerID: 177332

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 23:22

Wednesday, Jun 07, 2006 at 23:22
Stick a Futch up it and a couple of Hyclones for good measure, and tell someone that gives a ****

Had a friend that had an Engel that was no end of trouble (3 compressors + 2 electrics fried) over 5 yrs. My point being you get lemons out of any brand, what you should be looking at is what the after sales service is like.
FollowupID: 433400

Reply By: Redback - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 08:23

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 08:23
What a top read, Clarkie63 are you any the wiser cause i'm not.

I'm looking at getting another fridge too, but there's no way i'd ask advice here, i like too watch ;-))

AnswerID: 177379

Follow Up By: Michael B - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 09:29

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 09:29
Ditto Redback,

But has been interesting !!!!!!

Michael B (SA)
FollowupID: 433447

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 08:57

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 08:57
Been reading all of this with great interest.

My problem now is....Was married thirty years, had Engel...life shattering changes...change of partner...now have Waeco. Should I be worried about this new partnership not lasting????? You all seem to say Engels outlast Waeco.

Guess will just have to wait and see

Viv
AnswerID: 177390

Follow Up By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 09:33

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 09:33
Forgot to say that had Pajero now have Prado so maybe that will help.
FollowupID: 433449

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 10:03

Thursday, Jun 08, 2006 at 10:03
Both partners may have seemed a bit 'cold' at times. Just remember to communicate and be yourself

Dr Ruth
FollowupID: 433460